We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Edgcumbe Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Edgcumbe Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 343: English reviews
Bulgaria
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Located in a very quiet place. The room was large and spacious, with comfortable and beautiful furniture. There heating. Internet is very fast. Everything was very clean. They offer a rich and delicious breakfast. We are very satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zyzybulgaria
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A really nice Guest house that we would definitely return to again. Carla and her staff were very lovely and helpful. The room was large with all the bathroom essentials and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Within easy walking distance of the City centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davenjan2016
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was elegantly decorated and had everything you needed from a hairdryer to hot chocolate and coffee! The bathroom was modern and a nice size with very hot water! Nice big tv and comfortable bed and pillow with warm duvet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emy880
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Edgcumbe Guest House and for leaving a review. I'm delighted you liked the extra touches that our guests receive and that you were warm and comfortable on a very cold night! I hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Plymouth.

Penzance
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed our one night stay. Lovely room, clean and great breakfast. Would definitely come again in the future! The owner Carla was very friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfy and all up to date facilties.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparki_860997
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, your room and our breakfasts. We strive to offer guests the absolute best of everything and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed one night so cannot be more specific. Guest house located directly onto the hoe. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast. Parking very limited, only three spaces . Warm and friendly, difficult to judge further.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are lucky to be in such a great location and be able to offer guests free use of our limited private parking. This is quite a rarity in this area as most other guest houses are not able to offer this. There is always ample street parking which...

Newent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not recommend staying any more strongly. Not one element failed to be top class. Proprietor friendly and helpful with local knowledge for our business trip. Details already forwarded of the property to both business and personal acquaintances

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank divingandmarine
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and for recommending Edgcumbe Guest House to others. I'm delighted that you found everything to be top class and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a cramped room and toilet was in a cupboard by the bed.The bed was a small double and lumpy.The toilet on the landing had a clear glass door and no blind!! Very strange and unusable.Would not return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietX776GH
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay and wish you had told me while you were here. I assume you chose this room based on tariff alone. This is our smallest, most basic room and is clearly described as being more suited for single occupancy and therefore offered at a bargain price. The bed is a standard...

Biddenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a base from which to visit our son at university and explore the area. We we hoping for a nice room for us and our dog, good internet facilites and pleasant company, a friendly b&b to which we could return in future. Carla and her team provided all this in abundance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie B
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted that you chose to say here and that we ticked all the boxes for you. I'm thrilled that you will be coming back to Edgcumbe Guest House when you next visit your son at Plymouth University and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Our room (4) was very small and the shower and toilet were part of the room - not ensuite as indicated. Location was good for waterfront views. Place was ok if you don't want to spend much time in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate M
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. You booked via my own website so when choosing the room you wanted you would have seen the description for room 4 which states "First floor room has double bed with pocket sprung mattress. The shower cubicle is in a corner of the bedroom and there is a small en...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great value, friendly helpful staff, best breakfast fresh fruit, eggs benedict etc, on the hoe, so great position, on the no 25 bus route which takes to the city centre and then onto barbican and back to the B&b,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona O
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Edgcumbe Guest House. I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Guests rave about our breakfasts as we do offer a great array of choice, some say better than many larger hotels. I hope to see you again if you come back to beautiful Plymouth.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,023 reviews
0.4 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
542 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
5.8 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highly recommended guest house offering superb bed and breakfast accommodation a stone's throw from Plymouth Hoe and the sea front. All rooms en suite, delicious breakfasts freshly cooked to order using top quality produce, warm and friendly welcome, limited private parking, ample roadside parking, free unlimited wi-fi, hairdryers, free tea/coffee/hot chocolate, toiletries, ironing facilities. Newly refurbished to the highest standard. Top quality furnishings and bedding. We value our guests and strive to offer them the best of everything. We are within easy walking distance of the city centre, historic Barbican and Royal William Yard, Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions. Close to University and Brittany Ferries. Check in is available up to midday and from 4-9pm. Please advise preferred arrival time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgcumbe Guest House

Address: 50 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: €73 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcumbe Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Edgcumbe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgcumbe Guest House Plymouth, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgcumbe Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the Four Poster is our choice - every time”
 of 5 bubbles revianb, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in downstairs room, very quiet, no traffic noise or noise from other occupants. Excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles YveA_12, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room can be as double / single or 3 singles.”
 of 5 bubbles iangk148, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“4 poster in room 6!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelcR3531UE, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All good been both sides of b&b”
 of 5 bubbles Cokayne, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay