We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caledonia Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Caledonia Guest House
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Caledonia Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We spent 3 night.here with David and Karen the very friendly helpful owner. They have done very well with a listed building and we had a spotlessly clean and well presented ground floor room (I have mobility problems). The bathroom a little small but could not be avoided due to listing but was well presented and we managed well. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the ground floor room was suitable for your needs.

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Very good location for Plymouth being within walking distance of The Hoe, Barbican and town centre. Proprietors, Dave and Karen have been there for long time and are happy to recommend eateries, places to visit etc.. Good choice at breakfast all cooked to order...Only issue was size of shower which was difficult to move within.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodders104
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt the shower was too small but our showers are normal standard size due to the size of the room.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Great location.. Easy walking distance to the hoe and barbican, Dave and Karen are very friendly and helpful, plenty of information available about local places to eat, things to do in the area etc.. Our room was lovely and very clean, breakfast was great, perfectly cooked and plenty of choice, couldn't ask for more from a b&b, would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1300LowRider
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting we are central to many places to eat and visit. Also many thanks for mentioning your cooked breakfast and clean room.

Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Great little hotel ,spotlessly clean, friendly. helpful owners., Good breakfast selection and well cooked. Very convenient for theatre, restaurants and shops. Free car parking on premises . Would recommend to anybody

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taddyman
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting our cooked breakfast and convenience to the Theatre Royal and restaurants. Mentioning clean and spotless makes it all worthwhile for us.

Reviewed 28 April 2016

Very good location for The Hoe, Theatre Royal etc. Room and ensuite very clean; however the bed was not very comfortable and from our room (No 5) there was some traffic noise. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Good value for what it was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you thought the bed was uncomfortable. This is the first mention of this .We will investigate. Unfortunately we are a Listed building and the traffic noise is beyond our control and the Council will not allow us to change our windows.

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Nice b&b that is in a really great location. Seemed to be plenty of parking. Walking distance to the Barbican Centre and pubs / restuarants. Breakfast was spot on, rooms clean and tidy. Couldn't ask for any more from a b&b

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased we ticked all the boxes for your visit.

Bideford
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Wonderful hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms with adequate selection of beverages. Nice breakfast selection and the English cooked breakfast was one of the best I have had. The guest house is ideally situated for city centre shopping, theatre Royal and the Hoe. Fantastic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dewekp
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and many thanks for saying the cooked breakfast was the best that you have ever had. It means a lot to us to have such favourable comments. Also our central location and parking adds to guests benefits.

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Really nice little hotel with nice staff. Great price for the location, within walking distance of pretty much everything you could want to do. Really nice breakfast selection as well and good tea/coffee facilities in room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whenitsajar
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about our guest house and the comment of value for money in a central location and a nice breakfast.

London
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We had tickets for the Pavilions in Plymouth so decided to stay overnight. The Caledonian was a very pleasant place, very well placed for the Hoe and the theatre. The weather was dreadful but the guesthouse was cosy. Rooms simple but clean and with every facility including free wifi. Nice breakfast in a bright room. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonHadders
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are ideally situated to visit the Pavilions or Theatre Royal.It means a lot to us when your review states you will definitely return.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Just back from our 3 nights at the Caledonian guest house , we like so many looked on trip advisor and gambled on the Caledonian . I'm glad to say for me all was good , clean , good breakfast ,friendly and worth the stay , on the down side the shower was poor (low pressure,) and the Windows are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaell8703
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were worth the gamble. We will investigate the shower pressure problem as we were not aware as you did not mention during your stay. Due to us being a listed building there is not a lot we can do about the windows and outside noise is beyond our control. We hope to see...

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,175 reviews
0.1 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
730 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,772 reviews
0.0 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
267 reviews
0.4 km away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a 'home from home' stay in our listed Victorian guest house. Just park your car and stroll to the newly refurbished shopping mall in the City Centre. Then go and relax on the historic Barbican with the many restaurants and public houses. Also experience the superb views of Plymouth Hoe. Our comfy beds and an excellent breakfast will prepare your day for another Plymouth experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caledonia Guest House

Address: 27 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: €45 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caledonia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonia Guest House Plymouth, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caledonia Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had ground floor due to mobility problems so unable to comment on upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles JudithG346, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ideal location”
 of 5 bubbles 1300LowRider, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“It was situated in a quiet and elegant Georgian street which was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles LondonHadders, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room on the ground floor. Small bathroom not suitable for wheelchair ok for those with walking issue has extra bed.”
 of 5 bubbles BUNNETT1976, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Clean guest house with friendly staff.”
 of 5 bubbles 669jordanw, 27 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5