We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Continental Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
New Continental Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very poor vegetarian main course. Extremely small portion of Mediterranean vegetables with no accompaniments. A few courgette, aubergine strips with a tomato sauce. Tasty and would have been a nice starter but I left the table hungry. Very disappointing and poor value.

Helpful?
Thank jcb152
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn’t as we would have hoped and that you left the evening feeling unsated. We go through a long process of development with our Christmas menu and the Mille Feuille was a really popular dish... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed as attending a gig at the Pavilion's. The hotel is in an Ideal location as just behind the pavilion's. Friendly staff and very clean room and was very quiet considering it is very near to union street. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank gibletts
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are so thrilled that you had a good stay with us and we can't wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff we came across on reception were all lovely & very helpful! We couldn't fault them in anyway. The room service was also very speedy & satisfactory. But the hotel needs some love putting into it, everything feels very dated, old and a little dusty! Our room had a trouser press!? What's that about. No complimentary toiletries, bin in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicecp123
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate your time and always find it so useful to hear comments that help us make experiences better for our guests in the future. We are so thrilled that you found staff to be lovely and helpful that means so much to all of us. Thank you. You are right, we... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on purpose to support the fact that it is NOT a chain of hotels, and hence independant. Staff were VERY friendly and helpful. Only complaint was the room was very hot, even with the heating turned off. They swapped my room next day and much better and nicer also ! Breakfast is amazing as so much choice, kippers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angus and Carol... S
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you so much. We are so proud of being the largest, independent, family run hotel in a city we are blessed to call home; so having your comments and hearing you chose us because of this means so much. Thank you. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for the one night, 9/11 Rm 507, on a deal, in order to attend the Pavilions. Very comfortable room and bed, heating worked and adequate shower facility. Staff were excellent on check in and at breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was great. Ideal location for; Pavilions, The Hoe, shops. Would use again.

Helpful?
Thank DW516A
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is nice, looks like it recently had a face lift (this doesn't extend to the rooms). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was quiet, as requested, but very hot despite having the radiator off. The room was also very big but the TV was so small it was barely viewable from the bed (not that we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan Q
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in efficient. Very professional staff. Adequate room. Very large bathroom which had full size bath, shower. Some very Minor faults with room, only one bed side lamp, low buzzing noise from plumbing blocked by closing door. Bathroom blind could not be raised. Enjoyed pool and steam room, unfortunately sauna had tripped out and did not comment back up to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike O
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large room with comfy bed. Shower was powerful (we were on the first floor). Location good for Pavilions/ Theatre Royal. No double glazing so room was noisy and cold (stayed November), tried to turn radiator up with no success. Dated decor, no real style throughout the hotel. 'Leisure complex' needs work. Childrens swimming lesson taking place in an already small... More 

Helpful?
Thank dkm21
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent three days of half term at the New Continental. We had a family room. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. Lots of choice. We had the Full English which was good and also tried the haddock which was nice too. The staff were very polite and helpful. We asked to leave a big... More 

Helpful?
Thank zackbo
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean room and bathroom. The decor is a little dated, but it was all very tidy and very well presented. The bed was comfortable, there were plenty of towels, tea and coffee facilities, and comfy pillows. The room was a good size, and although the hotel was in the heart of Plymouth, we didn't have any noise or disturbance from... More 

Helpful?
Thank FeeBee9643346852

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,009 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
542 reviews
5.5 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,668 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: €85 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth
New Continental Hotel Plymouth, England
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Continental Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Walsall, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from New Continental Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you like a COOL room make sure you can adjust the heating to OFF !! Duvet is plenty warm.”
 of 5 bubbles angusandcarolines, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“309wasfineExcept for a low beam but managed to overcome this some might find it a problem”
 of 5 bubbles B5356IJteresac, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room was over reception and on the road these can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles jones955, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“high floor better”
 of 5 bubbles mrnormal, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't have a room overlooking " The Pavilion"”
 of 5 bubbles 138perryr, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay