We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

536 reviews
Save
Traveller (228)
Room & Suite (61)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good35%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“self drive”(34 reviews)
“coach holiday”(12 reviews)
Free Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Accessible rooms
Free Parking
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (536)Write a Review
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
91
178
125
83
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
91
178
125
83
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivecoach holidaylovely old hotelsuperior roomvictorian hoteltv receptionweekend breakshower attachmentpublic roomsexcellent value for moneyold victorianlovely weekendplenty of choiceporridgelounge areastunning viewsmany thanks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First Christmas away in this Hotel .Enjoyed every moment . Food was good Staff were good Geoff the Entertainer was brilliant ,Kept everything going ,on a rainy day Definetly going again next Christmas ,loved it

Thank Marlene M
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

We are really pleased “you enjoyed every moment, the food was good, the staff were good and Geoff the entertainer was brilliant”. Thank you Marlene M; for posting you brilliant 5 star review, we look forward to you visiting us again next Christmas.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a shearings hotel, and first time visit for Christmas. First impresions where good, friendly welcome. Interior was good. The food was good, but the dining room staff where apologising for the delay in service. This gave me the impression that they where short...More

Thank remmingtonLeeds
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

We are pleased “first impressions were good, you had a friendly welcome, the interior was good and the food was good. We are also pleased “the dining room staff were good, as was all the staff including the night porter”. Geoff our entertainment had brilliant...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

This is a Shearings hotel. Very good. We travelled from Stevenage in hertfordshire(With shearings by coach.) Long way for a weekend , but worth it. We were lucky with the weather. We roamed around the town and although most attractions were shut, (ie. The lift...More

Thank BPSHoliday
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 12 December 2017

We are pleased your recent weekend break was “very good” and our hotel was “well maintained”. We agree the “the hotel is very interesting” the amazing atrium in our main lounge, is a photographers delight. Thank you BPSHoliday, for taking the time to post your...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Last visited sept 2016 which was good but this visit in Nov 2017 for tinsel & turkey was very disappointing , rooms need checking, not enough room to get suitcase at end of bed to put on case shelf, and also tv on wall so...More

1  Thank mooch10
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 12 December 2017

We are sorry to hear you were not fully happy, with your recent stay with us. We allocated you one of our most recently refurbished rooms which has a flat screen TV fixed to the wall, you were not happy with this so we offered...More

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and and my mom have just returned from a lovely 4 day stay. The hotel has real charm, we had a large twin room that was beautiful decorated and lovely and warm. The bathroom did need updating (no shower only a bath) but other...More

Thank Rachel F
Response from JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks HotelResponded 24 November 2017

We are pleased your bedroom “was beautifully decorated and lovely and warm”. We are also pleased “the food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful”. Thank you Rachel F, for taking the time to post your 5 star review; we look...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456108
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$121 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$121 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (228)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (3)
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Bathroom (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Deb196750
22 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from jackygray030546 | Reviewed this property |
hy ya deb, did not see any for hire, people brought there own on the coach.
1
Vote
lenty58
28 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from JulianPercival | Property representative |
Hello lenty58, There are 4 steps into the hotel with a handrail, then an additional 4 steps once inside the hotel. There is level access via the fire escape at the side of building. The door is left open during the summer... More
0
Votes
Clare01061966
1 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JulianPercival | Property representative |
Hello Clare, Our breakfast times vary depending on when you are coming to stay. We serve breakfast Monday - Thursday, between 8.00am - 9.00am. Friday between 7.30am - 8.30am, Saturday and Sunday between 8.30am - 9.30am... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Have a sea view .lovely"
Read review
"as for a sea view or upgrade"
Read review
"Book a seaview room well worth it. Single rooms quite small"
Read review
"Check to see if refurbished. Ask if upgraded rooms available with showers."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite