We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 480: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
 Click to rate
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went here for 5 days with Shearings mid March with my son. In its day I'm sure the hotel was magnificent and still retains a lot of character. We had a fab sea view but the room itself had mould growing up two of the walls. Very dirty skirting boards, coffee up the side of one of the beds, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased “the staff were lovely” and “the food was very nice”. We are also pleased you had a “fab sea view” Unfortunately, we have no record of you making a complaint regarding the cleanliness of you room, while you were staying here. We agree the hotel “still retains a lot of its original character”. Thank you Jennifer H,...

worcestershire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We travelled with shearings to this beautiful old hotel in March,we were late being picked up,not a good start and the driver didn't make the journey a pleasure ,far from it ,she was talking to herself constantly eg: please don't hit the car,tried to go up porlock hill and had to do a three point turn ,took the toll road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathowden
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “the breakfast was very good” and “your bedroom was clean and tidy”. We gave your brother a free upgrade to the family room, so that you could have rooms close together. (The family room has only a partial sea view; as it is obscured by the giant monkey puzzle tree in our garden). Thank you cathowden,...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Difficult to review. I paid a lot of money for a superior room with a sea view. Room was lovely, nice and warm with 3 windows and views to die for. However we noticed lots of little flies in the windows, and when you looked close the frames were black, hadn't been cleaned for years .Reception sent a young lad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerie219
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “the room was lovely, nice and warm with a view to die for” (In our opinion, the views from our sea view superior rooms are the best in Lynton) We are also pleased “the evening entertainment was excellent”. Thank you Valerie219, for taking the time to post your review, we hope you will visit us again...

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lynton and Lynmouth are interesting but with a very steep path between the two, some people will have to use the Cliff Railway to get up and down. The Valley of the Rocks is worth the walk as is the walk to Watersmeet and beyond. The Shearings coach and Driver Dominic were excellent making light of the very narrow roads,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pads0n
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “bar and restaurant staff were very good and the breakfast was very good”. We are also pleased “the included excursions were very good” and that you enjoyed the nightly cabaret. We agree the hotel has many original features including the impressive atrium. We have no record of any complaints being made during your stay, regarding room...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The coach trips and the our driver Domonic were excellent. very informative and making our trips very interesting. Our room was dated and tired but it was a standard room. following a problem we were offered an upgrade by the manager which was outstanding. The breakfast was excellent, self service with plenty of choice. The evening meal was waiter service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip4550
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that your holiday was “value for money, the breakfast was excellent and evening entertainment was very good”. We are also pleased “Dominic was an excellent driver, very informative and made the trips very interesting”. Thank you Philip Hazell; for taking the time to post your review, we look forward to you visiting us again in the near...

united kigdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just Returned From a lovely weekend break from Lynton Staying at the valley the Rocks Hotel sherings. Despite seeing some the reviews some disatisfired custumers,had written,We like to decide for ourselves,But we had a very pleasent weekend here, and enjoyed it very much,Staff lovely very helpful. They could not do enugh for you. the food was small but plenty AND...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cazandraunitedkigdom
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you “had a lovely weekend break” with us in lovely Lynton. We are also pleased “the staff were lovely and very helpful and your room was clean and comfortable with stunning views”. We agree that the hotel is “very grand and elegant”. Thank you cazandraunitedkingdom, for posting your nice review, we look forward to you...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Have travelled with Shearings several times, mainly self drive and a couple of trips to Europe where the hub changeover is in Deal. Ideal for us living in Kent. This 3 day trip for us wasn't good. We got to the Gateway Hub in record time being Friday 30th December there wasn't much traffic on the road early morning. Ours...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Galapagosbird
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that all the “staff were very friendly” and the “singers were good”. We are also pleased that “Tom the Shearings coach driver was excellent” and will ensure he gets a copy of your review. We were a full hotel during New Year, so we put extra tables and chairs in the main lounge for the evening entertainment....

Reviewed 20 December 2016

The food was undercooked and meagre portions. The corridor outside our room stank. We left our towels in the bath to be changed, they were just folded and hung over the towel radiator which didn't work so we had damp towels to shower with. All the entertainment was over by 10pm and the bar closed shortly afterwards. One waitress wore...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glenn S
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are very surprised by your comments regarding your Turkey and Tinsel break, we served mulled wine prior to dinner on arrival; on the Wednesday we served afternoon tea and Christmas cake from the restaurant, and all guests were given a party hat on the last evening. With Christmas dinner; we served a complimentary glass of red or white wine...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Hotel looked ok but once you went to your room it was a different matter.Shower door kept falling off . The sink in the bathroom was faulty you filled the sink with water then when you looked down the water was gone faulty plughole . The wardrobe door kept falling off had to put a chair there to stop us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pscott14344
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are really pleased that Tom the coach driver “made your holiday enjoyable, looked after you when the motorway was closed and Shearing's provided taxis for your journey home”. We are also pleased that “the staff were all marvellous”. We do have in place, a programme of bedroom refurbishment and many have been completed. Thank you pscott14344, for taking the...

Dalyancath
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The shower in my single room had a problem - I was moved to a dbl room with bath - room really nice, double aspect, was really comfortable for my stay. Hotel lovely - not perfect as far as decor goes but I was on holiday and it was a beautiful old building with lots of original finishings. Food wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dalyancath
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “the bedroom was really nice, and the hotel was lovely” We agree “the hotel is a beautiful old building, with lots of original features” Thank you dalyancath, for taking the time to post your 4 star review; we hope you will visit us again in the future.

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
313 reviews
0.3 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
176 reviews
20.3 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
470 reviews
0.3 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
223 reviews
0.3 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Price Range: €52 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
11 months ago
stockport
over a year ago
Newquay, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay to upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles cathowden, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 77 it was superior with lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles valerie219, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade rooms are excellent we will certainly do this for future trips”
 of 5 bubbles philip4550, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room over looking the bay it stunning”
 of 5 bubbles cazandraunitedkigdom, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was on 3rd floor - Room 81 - had 2 windows and lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles dalyancath, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5