We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rock House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rock House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Bristol, uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on Friday night at about 7.30 ish and after unloading the bags from the car a man in a suit and a crazy mushtash ran in before us . we told reception who we were and the man with the mushtash who by now was clearly very drunk and smelt of alcohol said he would show us to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolian_Traveller
East Midlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in room 9 - great views of the sea, large room, really comfortable bed and nice big shower room. Great to have free parking too. We found the staff to be really friendly, the breakfast was great and the location of the hotel can't be faulted. There are great walks starting straight from the hotel,... More 

Helpful?
Thank chariot
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived Tuesday afternoon, October 25th for our 6th or 7th stay - friendly welcome, shown to our room No. 4 which was well appointed. Then we had issues with: Insufficient staff Rude Waitress/Housekeeper The hotel's large smelly dog that spent most of its time sniffing round the tables in the Lounge/Bar, laying dangerously at the foot of the stairs or... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank AlanFS395
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel it's self looks very nice on the outside, this is not to be said on the inside, the management were rude, cheeky and when we left some might say violent! violent because after looking at our room we quickly decided it was not worth the stay as the bed was very uncomfortable with hair all over it, not to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Thefoodgu
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

I do not find any of the above funny. This never happened and we will be speaking with trip adviser about this review and those who wrote it.they claim to be the food gu. More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel, we got absolutely beautiful room with sea view, very dog friendly, even during the dinner or breakfast they found for us dog friendly table Food very good, room spacious, very friendly staff

Helpful?
1 Thank kattyforest
Luton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Welcoming hotel on the beach in Lynmouth, this small hotel is excellent for families and dogs. The staff are helpful, the decor attractive, although there are occasional Fawlty Towers undertones! Hearty breakfast, basic dinner menu, comfy bar, plus garden leading direct to the beach.

Helpful?
Thank BertLuton
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay Please come again. Colin Stapleton General Manager More 

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Just went for a family roast! I loved my brisket of beef it was very rich! Large homemade Yorkshire and veg! Was nice! Although the little one wasn't keen on her chicken it was small and it was little to posh for her she prefer the common style roast at a carvery! I couldnt fault it though! My husband had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angiemays
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Exmoor roast, i am happy you enjoyed it, please come again. Colin Stapleton General Manager More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This is a BB/guest house in a stunning location. With a good quality restaurant serving local fresh products. I have read many reports on the rock house ,so to set things straight this is not a Hotel as one would expect,, its a BB with clean rooms fantastic setting and a restaurant/bar open to no residents "nothing wrong with that"... More 

Helpful?
Thank pjbdrive
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It is nice to receive and honest appraisal and we are glade you enjoyed your Visit. Colin Stapleton General Manager More 

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is a beautifully located hotel - right on the beachfront in Lynmouth (well worth paying extra for a harbour or sea view). Staff are welcoming, the rooms are good and the breakfasts are excellent. The dinner menu is good but a bit "fussy" and the bar doesn't have the most welcoming ambience - but it is a short walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for posting your review i am glad you liked your room and found my staff welcoming. Our bar like many hotel bars is just that a hotel bar would agree lacks the atmosphere of a public house. but we hope that all visitors can have a relaxing drink and a peaceful evening. Colin Stapleton General Manager More 

Algarve
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I have been going to beautiful Lynmouth with my Niece and Sister twice a year for the past 6 years. Each time we have stopped off in the Rock House for cream tea which has always been delicious. Today we were more than disappointed when, after ordering, and getting our cups of tea, we were told there was no cream... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mumsqual
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed on your last visit and that we had run out of cream so was unable to serve the Devon cream teas as advertised. Some times it is difficult to estimate demand and on this occasion demand outstripped supple Once again sorry. Colin Stapleton General Manager More 

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
210 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
417 reviews
0.4 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
595 reviews
0.3 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
465 reviews
11.6 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Price Range: €127 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rock House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
england
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rock House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 1 is probally the best for views”
 of 5 bubbles Bristolian_Traveller, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea view rooms a must!!”
 of 5 bubbles pjbdrive, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a sea or harbour view, otherwise you're not making the best of the great location”
 of 5 bubbles 29nigelc, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice to have a see view”
 of 5 bubbles rhartland, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not room 8.....”
 of 5 bubbles fannyb53, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay