We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 943: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my girlfriend for NYE and for her birthday! We went out for the evening after having a few bottles of bubbles in the bar down stairs. The room was very tidy and spacious. The staff at breakfast were very helpful and cheery considering it was NYD.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely period hotel in good location to all amenities but need of updating. Room far too small with very little places to put your things. Wardrobe sufficient but no draws and very little table top area. Pillows uncomfortable but bed OK. Bathroom clean and efficient. Pleasant receptionist but 2 for 1 afternoon tea a bitter disappointment so did not fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth H Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. We have actually just had a full refurbishment of our bedrooms, so the room you would have stayed in would be only a few months old. I will pass your comments onto the designers so that they are aware. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a very expensive coat that i gave into the hotel staff while on a business conference, the evening went onto other places and I did not return that evening to collect my coat thinking it would be safe at a hotel like this. I went back a couple of days later to collect my jacket to find the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sam O I am really sorry to hear about your coat - if you could possibly email me on HA0H6-GM@accor.com with your details and when your business conference was, I can then look into this for you. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary_hatcher
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Norfolk England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had originally booked to stay at the Royal Clarence for Christmas but as it burnt down in October the booking was changed to the Rougemont. I have to admit to being a bit concerned having seen some of the reviews here regarding the rooms but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking a side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candice-7
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Candice-7 Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay and we will definately discuss your comments with the team to ensure your thoughts are passed on. We are currently in the process of replacing our windows at the moment which will make the rooms even more warmer and also quieter! I hope we can welcome you back...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel just a shame the lift wasn't working on the evening we arrived and we was on the third floor . Friendly reception staff both day and night but unfortunately can't say the same about the bar staff. Room and areas all very clean .

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardmZ4496BE
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear richardmZ4496BE Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and also the service from Reception - I am sorry that it appeared not to be the case with the bar and will discuss with the F&B Manager as that should not be the case. I...

Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i have stayed here before and had a pleasant stay, but this time the room was in the rafters, with the lift stopping two floors below and was accessible by small pokey stairs, (i had a big suitcase). the sink was blocked, (reported, nothing done), the shower drain was rusty. no light above the bed for reading. the room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigel t
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nigel T Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the room on the fourth floor - I understand that the Receptionist had tried to give you a room away from all the parties so you would not be disturbed. I am sorry the issue with the sink was not rectified quickly -...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have passed this hotel many times when leaving central station and always said we would choose this hotel if ever staying in Exeter. It's in a fabulous location so close to bars, restaurants and all of the shops. We had a great deal with it being New Year's day so I really didn't know what to expect of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dcaddy309
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dcaddy309 Thank you for your great feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel - it is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay and loved our newly refurbished bedrooms. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Plymouth,UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The break was very good except for Xmas lunch which was a huge disappointment. The turkey was not sliced from a bird but was what could only be described as a turkey roll from a well known frozen food supermarket. The sprouts were hard and the carrot and swede were in quarter inch dice, definitely all frozen vegetables and brought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosecrystal
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosecrystal Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. Thank you for the 4 star rating. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your Christmas meal and will discuss your comments with the team during our Christmas feedback session. It is great to see that you liked our new bedrooms and also found...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely time here for Christmas. We arrived Christmas Eve and check in was smooth. We were asked to make our selection for our Christmas Day meal, which we'd already done. The main course my husband had chosen wasn't on the menu we were given and we spoke to the manager Manesh who assured us he could have his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DreamCatcher103
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DreamCatcher103 We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas with us - and I am really delighted to see that the staff looked after you well. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,123 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
767 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: €83 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel Devon
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front of hotel 2nd floor was OK in terms of access and noise but was rather small”
 of 5 bubbles 745ruthh, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room on the first 2 floors”
 of 5 bubbles 86nigelt, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 103 - it looks out onto a brick wall.”
  • Bedroom
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles rosecrystal, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 204 and didn't have any problems. Drawers for storage, even bedside cabinets rather than tables would be useful”
 of 5 bubbles DreamCatcher103, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay clear of the twin rooms above”
 of 5 bubbles JAPCornwallUK, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay