We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 886: English reviews
Weston-super-mare
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

We are almost locals at the castle..its a great place..Good at everything they do...The castle bar is the epitome of what a top class hotel should be..polished brass..gleaming mirrors. . If you visit dartmourh. .The castle is a must visit..For food..A drink..or a stay..go.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher J
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are very happy that you had a great time with us and that is what The Royal Castle is about, making people happy and remembering us for the future to come back and stay again. We are looking forward to have you...

Wirral, UK
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This was a perfect getaway. The receptionist on arrival could not have been more welcoming and friendly who showed us up the quirky staircase past all sorts of interesting artefacts to our room on the second floor overlooking the harbour. The room was suitably large with two easy chairs by the window and perfect to relax and watch the world...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappyWirral_UK
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HappyChappyWirrall_UK, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Castle Hotel. It is so nice to hear your lovely words and we always try to make every effort for our guest in order for them to have a memorable experience and the little touches that add the difference. We are glad you had a...

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights in late October 2015. Parking looked like a probable nightmare but once the car was unloaded the hotel staff whisked the car away to a private car park and from that moment all our worries evaporated. Our room, one of the biggest we've ever had in a country inn, faced the inner harbour, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betty&TC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Betty & TC, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are very happy to know that you have had a great experience with us; we are very proud of our Grill Room which has just been awarded with our first AA Rosette, so it is our aim to make...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Arrived without a booking on Thursday last, 29 Oct 7pm approx. Michael, the receptionist introduced himself and immediately offered us a room. He offered to take our luggage to our room and also rang for someone to park our car in the hotel's private, secure car park. Michael then advised us that he would upgrade us to a river view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maureen L
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen L, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are very happy that you had a nice stay with us and you will tell your friends too! Michael is one key members and certainly you couldn't have any better person to greet you into the hotel. I do apology again...

Devonshire
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

I was in Dartmouth on my own and was looking for a place to have some lunch and so went in to the Royal Castle Hotel. I have not been in here for years and it is still the same which is reassuring. It was quite crowded and I managed to find a small table in the bar. Extensive menu...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TimboBoy
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TimboBoy, Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal Castle Hotel. We are happy that you decided to come back to see us again and we are extremely happy that you have had such an enjoyable lunch. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you Millie

London
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Stopped in very recently for a pub lunch as the Castle's location in Dartmouth is pretty good and very central. Really expernsive for what they deliver. One of our party had the Rib Eye steak at over £20, and I'm afraid to say it was a poor example of a Rib Eye, so much so that we went afterwards via...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoderickSpode
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Very busy bar unfortunately staffed with one person whom was trying to serve and also clear tables debris etc. Ok basic food this is spoilt with dirty sticky tables and dirty plates(surely the staff whom deliver the food should take dirty plates back to the kitchen?)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom29bobby
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom29bobby, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn’t as good as it could have been. As you say during the food festival it was extremely busy, but this doesn’t mean that we don’t need to take care of our...

Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

We were looking for a place to stay and called from the car about an hour before arrival, there was no problem, best room, no problem Sir. We had a lovely homely room with a grand bathroom overlooking the Dart with free wifi that worked without a problem at good speed. Also we were booked into the restaurant without fuss...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BaddyPurt
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BaddyPurt, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Royal Castle Hotel and we are glad that you had a great stay with us. We are looking forward to have you back here at The Royal Castle Hotel again soon. Thank you Carlo

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

The Castle has very traditional decor as the building is very old. There are a few rooms to find a table. There is a carvery restaurant upstairs however we ate from the menu downstairs. We all had beef Sunday lunch. The beef was superb, thickly cut and cooked to perfection. My friend wanted a pudding, unfortunately the choice wasn't what...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen R
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Didn't stay here, but ate in the Galleon bar as we have done for over 30 years, difficult to fault, as long as the price of drinks doesn't scare you too much. Two nights running, food was excellent (perhaps not enough salt but you can always add but not take away). Brilliant atmosphere, aways makes our trip to Dartmouth a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John S

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Double (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Deluxe (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Seaview (26)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.6 km away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
282 reviews
6.1 km away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
22.1 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
717 reviews
1.1 km away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel
The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Price Range: €143 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are at the front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles CliveV433, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only had lunch so cannot comment on the rooms. if they are like the downstairs pub area i would imagine they are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles dav3com, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are obviously nice to have and cost more, but all the rooms are of the highest standard you'll find anywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles johns12014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great river Viuw in the town great fun”
 of 5 bubbles patrickkF4332LE, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Worth extra for river view.”
 of 5 bubbles UkYoungretired, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5