We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Port William Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Port William Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 525: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have visited here for over 30 years but unfortunately we won't be back. We came down to beautiful Trebarwith on the 18th of November to have a snack and book a table for later. When we arrived in the pouring rain and wind we parked in the car park only to see a sign saying no parking except residents.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parko79
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Hi Parko, many thanks for taking the time for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you left disappointed. Due to the cliff collapsing we have had to close the Car Park which was past the pub, we have to keep the Car Park available next to the pub for our letting rooms, we have very limited spaces... More 

aston clinton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came down here with friends for the weekend as we loved the location and the pub when we came down in the summer. We were given a great welcome when we arrived by a lady who showed us to our room. We then had a great evening eating and drinking by the fire. Fabulous service and I can highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizastonclinton
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Hi lizastonclinton, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Great to hear that overall you had a good weekend and that your stay was positive and all aspects of service was good. We happily stay open until 11pm every night and apologies if you felt unwelcome, I assure you that it wasn't the manageress on dutys intention... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Port William is wonderfully situated, benefiting from incredible views from most areas of the Inn including the bedrooms. It really is very special and we consider ourselves fortunate to have stayed overnight, waking up in the morning with the waves crashing over the rocks just below us was something to behold. The rooms are bright and well appointed albeit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren B
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Hi Darren, Many thanks for the review - very glad to hear that you enjoyed the stunning scenery during your stay. Rooms and bathrooms are due for a refurbishment in January 17. More 

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just spent a lovely four nights at the Port William. What a stunning setting. Checked in easily and had a great view of the incoming tide and waves crashing in over rocks, dramatic scenery. The room without although not large was fine just for the two of us and was spotless. The only problem we had was that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
StAustellManagement, Reservations at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff were friendly and efficient. We regret that there was not enough choice on the menu and the room was too warm. We will do our best to improve on this and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future... More 

Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked to the Port William from Tintagle for lunch. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and made us feel welcome with a small child and dog. There is plenty of space and a good choice of food. The food was good quality and good portion size. The only downside was I asked for ice cream for a 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for the 5* feedback provided following your recent stay with us! We are always pleased to receive positive comments regarding the customer service we provide. It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the cuisine and the surroundings. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used to visit the Port William quite frequently but haven't been back there for a couple of years or so and its fair to say that it isn't quite up to how it was before. I understand that since our last visit the Port has had at least nine managers with another starting on Monday. The pub is currently... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Many thanks for the review. It was very helpful for me as I have just taken over The Port William. Cyd has done a wonderful job since the previous managers have left and is very good with the customers of all ages. I'm here to stay ! I hope on your next visit that all issues are addressed,... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to port William for a couple of days and there was some good things , the good things the view from the patio was lovely and to sit and watch the waves all wrapped up but to be honest the sun did shine for the two days we were there , and there was some amazing walks just breezy... More 

Helpful?
Thank kizzyframes
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us a team and acted upon accordingly. We do hope to see you back here very soon! More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay at the Port William Hotel this week and it was the perfect base for us to explore the Cornish coast. The hotel was perfectly situated with the ocean view breathtaking both from our bedroom as well as from the outside eating area where we sipped on wine and beer. The hotel had a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven O
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We do have a fantastic view here and it is something we all treasure, so we are glad that you have enjoyed it too! I will look to pass your comments on to the rest of the team! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Blackburn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and our dog. Our room was lovely with a view to die for. The position of this hotel is amazing, when we booked I had no idea just how close to the coast it was and we were amazed this wasn't made more of in the advertisement. The beach here is great;... More 

Helpful?
Thank SallyC_61
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are certainly very lucky to be able to work here with such a view and amazing surroundings! Sorry to hear you were unhappy with the meal choices though - all feedback is valuable and this is something we will look to pass on for you! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Pontypool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We found this by accident: arrived at dusk and the setting was beautiful. We had a lovely meal (Huntsman's Chicken especially good). Friendly staff and quick, efficient service in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Visit spoiled when we got back to the car to find a ticket on the windscreen for parking marginally over a partially obscured white line of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bernie, Many thanks for the review, great to hear that you enjoyed the Port William and the team were friendly. Really disappointed that you got a ticket for that reason, drives tourists away which is not what Cornwall wants. If we can help contest the ticket please let me know. Andy More 

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
2.7 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tintagel
1,087 reviews
0.9 km away
The Mill House Inn
The Mill House Inn
#1 of 1 in Trebarwith
289 reviews
2.2 km away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#5 of 7 in Tintagel
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#1 of 3 in Boscastle
495 reviews
1.0 km away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tintagel
109 reviews
14.0 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Price Range: €81 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Port William Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Port William Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have stayed in most of the rooms and they are all finished to a good quaility, or were, so just take your pick.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeN765, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles stevenoconnell70, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have great sea views”
  • View from the rooms & outside seating area
 of 5 bubbles penelopen93, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“pay the extra for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles modernanxiety, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Number three is my personal favourite.”
 of 5 bubbles 1521961, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay