We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The St Mawes Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St Mawes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St Mawes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We had a superb room overlooking the scenic harbour. The staff were attentive and welcoming. Food was excellent, traditional with a modern twist. Our visit was in late November, and we ate in front of a cosy wood burner. we can would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susiepondplant
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susie, Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us, it was a pleasure to read and I'm so pleased to hear you will be returning. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

devon
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Really lovely atmosphere here with roaring fires and live singing the night we were there. Food and service excellent, with lots of choices from light bites to starter and main course, so suitable for all. Lots of locals here too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleepingbeauty
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sleepingbeauty, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us for dinner, I'm pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that my team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

London
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Having booked the best rooms on the top floor of the hotel with glorious views over the harbour we were delighted to find that they had been recently redecorated to a high standard in calm fashionable shades of grey. The bathroom of our room had a large walk-in shower whilst our travelling companions had a larger en-suite which allowed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffersonLondon
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JeffersonLondon, Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you all had an enjoyable stay. We now offer full cooked breakfast from 8am, so sorry that this was not yet implemented when you visited but it will be available on your return. The reception will also be covered by...

Cirencester
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We like boutique hotels and the SMH was just how we like them to be. The room was very comfortable, sea view, comfy bed, warm, good sized bathroom with a shower like that in its big sister the Idle Rocks, which I could have stood under for an hour. We ate there and the food was great, not too expensive,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGGB
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RGGB, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear how much you enjoyed everything and happy that we could offer the cinema for you to enjoy. I will certainly be looking at the WIFI and we are hoping to upgrade the system over the next year. We...

Fowey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Wow what a wonderful Hotel, having just stayed at The St Mawes Hotel, I booked to go back on departure and it cannot come soon enough. Delightful in every way, super attentive staff that delivered everything beautifully and extremely efficiently, they manage to get that tricky balance just right, nothing was too much trouble ( i am vegan ) and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debwalker2016
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us, I'm delighted you enjoyed everything and that you have booked to stay again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Best wishes Ben and the team

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The hotel is fantastically situated and despite the rooms being small well decorated and furnished. However, it is let down by terrible service by inexperienced unsupervised staff. The hotel staff were all seemingly teenagers who had no clue what they were doing: - they booked us a table only to cancel it 30 minutes before were due to eat leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarinda_Vine
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clarinda_Vine, I am extremely disappointed to read your review following your stay with us in August. A few months have since past and improvements have been made, however I would still appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience with me directly. Can I please ask you to drop me an email on ben@stmawes.com? If you are visiting the area...

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Our first time upstairs to have dinner, usually sat downstairs in the very comfortable bar area. The upstairs is equally as nice with their choice of decor, however, the chairs were the most uncomfortable to use as dining chairs, they are sofa style chairs you use to relax, not dining chairs. We both felt uncomfortable eating good food from these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graeme, Thank you for your review following your visit to us for dinner. Sorry to hear that you found the chairs in the Upper Deck uncomfortable for dining. Please let us know in the future if you would prefer to dine downstairs and we will happily try and accommodate you. We do offer two different dining areas so that...

Helston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

What a change ! I last visited this beautifully located hotel about two years ago with three of my grandchildren .We were served watery coffee and Luke warm , thin bland instant hot chocolate .It was run down and inhospitable and expensive for what was very sub standard fair.i complained to the young inexperienced member of staff with no satisfaction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denises671
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us. I'm delighted to read that you returned after a few years, and were able to appreciate the changes the new owners have made. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon! Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

A good place to sit and have a coffee with tables outside on nice days and a cosy Chesterfield sofa in front of the log burner on chillier days. Welcoming staff and good coffee although the tea was a bit weak even after leaving the teabag in for a while. We would have stayed for lunch but the menu is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diddlum
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diddlum, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us for coffee, I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the ambience and that you were looked after well by my team. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Sorry this is reviewing the food only. We haven't stayed here but there doesn't seem to be any separate entry for the Restaurant and my browser crashes evvery time I try to create one! St Mawes is a very expensive place to visit all round, partly because of its remoteness and partly its carefully cultivate exclusive image compared with Falmouth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank medocain
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear medocain, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us for lunch last week. I'm glad to read the sun was still shining and it was a warm November day for you to enjoy. Its a pleasure to read how much your enjoyed everything and that you were able to use the Upper Deck for dining, it...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.2 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
352 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
581 reviews
0.2 km away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 6 in St Mawes
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
5.1 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
442 reviews
3.3 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the harbour, in the heart of the village, the St Mawes Hotel has a lively and informal feel, without compromising on taste and style. The warmth of the team, beautifully designed rooms, lively bar restaurant and terrace makes the luxury sea view hotel a place that will draw locals and visiting guests back time and time again. The seven bedroom boutique hotel has bright and airy luxurious guestrooms. Decorated by owner Karen Richards, the interiors will capture the nautical views of the village and harbour. Each room echoes Karen's signature style, a marriage between traditional coastal culture and contemporary design. All front facing rooms offer spectacular sea views and look out over the harbour. The bar restaurant at the St Mawes Hotel is a convivial escape to enjoy authentic quality dishes that will showcase the best locally sourced Cornish ingredients. Menu options include both smaller and larger dishes based on the wonderful produce from the sea, alongside stone baked pizzas and daily specials. Alfresco tables provide an idyllic location to make the most of sunny days and enjoy the spectacular views of the water. Guests staying at the St Mawes Hotel will appreciate the comfortable lounge, complete with compact library and log wood fire place for cosy winter days, with nautical inspired interiors and unspoilt views of the harbour. The addition of an events space and an intimate 25-seater cinema last year completes the package of a wonderful place to celebrate and create special memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St Mawes Hotel

Address: Commercial Road, St Mawes TR2 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range: €164 - €276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St Mawes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The St Mawes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Mawes Hotel Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Village rooms are great value for money. The family room is amazing and provides more space.”
 of 5 bubbles rebnash, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“even the smaller rooms are really acceptable,”
 of 5 bubbles Maximillion47, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book early to secure harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles susiepondplant, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with views at the front can be noisy during the High Season.”
  • St Mawes Hotel - View from Room on top floor
 of 5 bubbles JeffersonLondon, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-3 have the sea view. Spoil yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles RGGB, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5