We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chy-An-Albany

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Chy-An-Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chy-An-Albany
See the most recent reviews
Showing 849: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Beautiful location,very friendly staff,room was kept very clean.the food was excellent could not fault the quality and presentation.would recommend this hotel.only 5 minutes walk to St.Ive.lovely view if the seax

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gillvaughan33
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the experience with us recommendable We aim to offer a warm and friendly atmosphere to all our guests and it is always nice for the staff to get this feedback We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Chose this hotel after looking on tripadvisor. ......not disappointed. Staff friendly , helpful and professional. Room a little small as previous reviews but more than adequate. ......clean, tidy and with all required facilities. Breakfast was to a high standard with no restrictions Would certainly recommend. ......will be back !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chasambiker
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us and that you used the comments and remarks from this site to make the decision to book with us. Yes some of our standard rooms are smaller than others as every room is slightly different in shape and size due to the period style of the building. When booking your next...

Exeter
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Picked this hotel as previously stayed and found is good value. Unfortunately this time we were disappointed with the room we had, it was tired and extremely cold. The staff were very helpful and got a portable heater which did eventually warm the room to a better heat but in all took around 2hrs to sort when we were trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmK5779QD
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

I am very sorry that on this occasion you found the room disappointing and felt it was tired and cold. I have looked into our heating settings and have had the thermostats adjusted so our set back is now 18 and the room adjustment can be put up to 23 for 2 hours. I have spoken to the receptionist who...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

My Partner and I stayed at the Chy An Albany on a Tuesday after visiting the absolutely beautiful town of St Ives. The Hotel is in a wonderful position, perched high on the sea road overlooking Carbis Bay and St Ives with a short 10 minute walk into town. There is parking on site which is important but disabled travellers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review and for choosing the Chy an Albany for your recent stay. Our partial sea view rooms are the same size as our standard rooms but with the advantage of being on the side of the hotel and facing the bay. Our deluxe rooms do offer larger accommodation but this is reflected in the prices....

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

once again another great stay at chy-an-Albany.. this is our 5 visit and still great.. we invited our elderly in laws this time to show them how amazing St ives is and they agreed with us.. lovely buffet breakfast.. everything from self service full English to cereal, toast and fresh fruit.. they will accommodate anything you ask.. they staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mel p
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks We are pleased you enjoyed your 5th visit with us and was able to bring some family members with you. looking forward to welcoming you back for your 6th!

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Staff helpful and friendly, room a bit small but clean bathroom clean Hotel well maintained breakfast room bright and staff helpful. Lounge comfortable and tastefully painted and maintained high standard

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allan P
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed at the Chy-An-Albany for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) in November for my sisters wedding. In total there was over 20 of us staying so it was a real family affair and i had done the original booking for everyone after seeing reviews on Trip Advisors so i felt the 'booking pressure'. However, the hotel did not disappoint....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellen B
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We love coming to St Ives and are regular visitors, but this was our first time at Chy An Albany. 5 minute walk in to town and good parking so that's a plus for a start. The staff were wonderful and although we didn't eat in the restaurant the breakfasts were generous and offered something for everyone. Rooms were a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jo V
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We visited here 2 years ago and enjoyed it so much we made a return booking. We weren't disappointed this visit either. Accommodation excellent, clean and comfortable. Room had great sea views and well worth paying a little extra for. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Always nice to see staff enjoying their job! Breakfast was good too with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen D
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Arrived at front car park had a job to get mum up the steps to reception at 93 it was very bad for her, I also struggled with suitcases anyway book in and they swapped our room 10 to 20 so mum would not have as many steps to climb to her room. Good for mum but unfortunate for us,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walshy2016

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
806 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
132 reviews
1.7 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#3 of 21 in St Ives
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: €73 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Miami
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sea views on 1-3rd floors ,top floor are smaller. First floor s/view have a large sun deck”
 of 5 bubbles globaluser, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms recommended”
 of 5 bubbles melissahW7348JR, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Doubles a must my single bed was to small”
 of 5 bubbles R8651XLandrewb, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Limited no of rooms with sea view, quiet area no noise problems”
 of 5 bubbles alanblake45, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Have one with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles SheilaN877, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay