We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Show Prices
#14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 484: English reviews
Start your review of Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went to this hotel with shearings. Staff very friendly, food only average and not very hot. We upgraded to a superior room sea view, was not worth the money. If I upgrade I expect dressing gown, slippers, lovely bath sheets and king size bed, although bed did seem slightly bigger than a double. Room was clean, bath extremely small, shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda2360
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry to hear that the room and food was not up to your expectations. I shall pass your comments on to the chef. I am not sure what gave you the initial impression that we had a pool and spa, possibly you had us mixed up with the...

Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just returned from a four day break at this hotel. I was unhappy with the first room allocated as it was very noisy. I was told it was because of the kitchen fan. The lady on reception came to see us immediately with the keys to another, less noisy room. The evening meal on the day of arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley642015
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am glad to hear that your issue with the room was resolved efficiently. Being late should not be an excuse for cold food so I shall mention this to the chef and investigate. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It is not too often that I engage with a review of my holiday and the hotel, but in this case I feel compelled to do so. Aside from what I will mention further on which I believe to be constructive, primarily it relates to for what I believe to be some terrible comments made by somebody from Plymouth which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I also thank you for your constructive criticism. I will look in to the departure times for breakfast and action if necessary. I have also passed your comments on to the Head Chef in regards to food temperatures. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a short stay at this Hotel. Convenient position, good size room with lovely views over The Bay. However, it was obvious on arrival that this hotel is popular with the elderley. I was asked to help a lady with a Zimmer frame-which is OK- and on my going out for the night, paramedics were attending a senior gentleman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidfF9412QQ
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We like to use Trip Advisor as a tool to help us improve on standards and customer satisfaction. I am sorry that you had an issue with your bathroom however your comments regarding my clientele is just uncalled for. If you had any comments regarding this or indeed your bathroom you should have come and...

worthing
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a 5 day break at this hotel. Chose it because of its location and we had seen that they had updated the restaurant and lounge areas. We were not disappointed. We were given a wonderful room on the ground floor (no.3) which was a big bright room overlooking the sea. The food was especially good for Shearings. Always HOT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patandjohnWestSussex
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I shall pass your kind words on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Carl Sunley General Manager

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was cold when we arrived on the Monday as the heating had been off over the weekend. By the next day it was fine. The food was very good, the staff were excellent. We paid extra for a sea view and were very pleased with our rooms. We were very happy with our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Footloose943
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were closed for the weekend before your arrival but I am glad to say we are now open permanently till the end of the year. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the food was to your liking. Once again thank you for your review, and we hope to see...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a Shearings weekend to the Bay hotel in St. Ives. Great value for money, staff were fantastic, I include our driver Rob in that. Yummy food and only 5 minutes leasurly walk into the town. But the view is to die for. Loved it will definitely return in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zak S
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed the views on offer. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Carl Sunley general Manager

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Bay Hotel. St. Ives, Cornwall Excellent weekend. Real value for money. Room was good. Food very good. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Shearings coach trips are amazing value. I don't know how they do it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again at The St Ives Bay Hotel. Warm Regards Carl Sunley General Manager

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The day before my wife and I were due to travel to the Hotel, I phoned the Hotel asking if our rooms had been allocated for our stay in the hope that we had a low floor room as absentmindedly I had not included this special request at the time of booking. Unfortunately I was told we had been allocated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronaldreed
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review, I am thrilled to hear that we were able to meet your requests which in turn made your stay enjoyable. We do our utmost to meet the requirements of all guests and if you contact us before hand if you have any requirements this is a lot more easier to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a mid week break very lucky with the weather, food good well cooked and good choice, drinks are a little expensive but on a average about the same for all pubs and hotels in St Ives except for Witherspoon who are very cheap and only a five minute walk from the hotel. Staff brilliant always smiling even...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joe875
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We did have a large group in that week which is rare for us however we do recommend that if anyone ever hears a fire alarm, not just here but anywhere in the world that they evacuate immediately....

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
893 reviews
1.5 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 km away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: €69 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
London, England
over a year ago
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 month ago
London, United Kingdom
4 months ago
bury
6 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest an upper floor not over the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles Lesley642015, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor room to get a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles davidfF9412QQ, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were ground floor but there is a lift to service higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles patandjohnWestSussex, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 106 is a good size twin room would stay I that room again (not a sea view room)”
 of 5 bubbles paullK3931UN, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view well worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles Joe875, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5