We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Slipway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Slipway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 365: English reviews
Start your review of The Slipway
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

To us what makes a place is the people you meet. Here at The Slipway Phil is making constant improvements to make it more comfortable for his guests. The staff he has chosen seem to be happy where they work and consequently give off a happy vibe to the guests and are always so generous with their time in answering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millie507
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Millie507 Thanks for your wonderful review and your email. I agree that the loft suite is great. plenty of space and a grand view. We are always happy to help with early breakfasts, late dinners, etc for guests as we know that travelling can be stressful and sometimes that little extra 1/2 hour can make a huge difference. Theres...

Lingfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very pleasant modernised room overlooking Port Isaac Harbour. Bathroom was small but perfectly adequate with a good shower. Awoke to see from our window filming of a Doc Martin episode in full swing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Alan Thanks for the review. We are slowly getting the old building back to its former glory. My wife and her team, doing each room as quickly as they can :) Im glad you enjoyed the Doc Martin filming, a treat for Doc fans :) Regards Phil Hardwick Owner

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Though this would be a nice place to stay. Wrong. Nice place to visit certainly but to Stay, sorry not for me and not what I thought I might get given images on web site. Just my opinion. The words that comes to mind is poor value for you hard earned buck. I paid over the odds for what I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gizors
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Dear Gizors Sorry that we failed to impress you. I must admit, you are in the minority since we have taken over The Slipway. Unfortunatly since you have neither used your real name or mentioned which room you were in, I cannot address most of your concerns. Most our rooms have had recent upgrades and the photos on our website...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice top floor room overlooking the slipway. On the small side but its an old listed building. Don't expect to swing the cat! Recently redecorated with brand new carpets throughout the residents and eating areas. Good choice of breakfasts and a new evening menu which was excellently created by Ben the chef. Good portions and variety. Could eat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine11_h
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Christine thanks for you lovely review and helpful tips. You are right about the Doc Martin filming, they are filming in Mrs Tischells Chemist today so the lower village is packed :)

Sheffield,Yorkshsire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This 16th century building is a wonderful spot to "feel" old Cornwall with a view out to the fishing boats moored in the harbour. The relatively new owners are welcoming and friendly. Both breakfast and dinner were really good: we were fortunate to be present for the new summer menu -- first class!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunsleeper
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Sunsleeper Thanks for the lovely review. We too, consider the harbour to be enchanting. The new menu is going great, thanks for your views. Regards Phil

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice landlords and great breakfast, unfortunately we booked on a Groupon deal and apparently you can only have a small double and no toiletries if you book via Groupon, room was so small my bag wouldn't even fit on the floor. Apart from that it was great grub, great hospitality and lovely locals, I've always loved Port Isaac so this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Melanie Sorry you wern't happy with what is provided on the groupon discount deal. Our premium rooms are of a larger size with some being a suite. Please contact me directly for an unbeatable premium deal, next time you want to visit. Regards Phil

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Spent two nights in Room 11 - top attic family suite in February. It had just been refurbished with new carpets etc. It is a lovely old hotel and therefore the beams are low so maybe this suite more suited to shorter people ! Lovely view across to the harbour from lounge area - nice rooftop view of Port Isaac...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dee602014
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Dee Thanks for the lovely review. Room 11 is indeed more for the vertically challenged but wow , the view is awesome! we love it when folk enjoy a hearty breakfast before hitting the walks and hills around us :) Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again cheers Phil

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Called in today for lunch. Very good fish and chips and Doom bar. Not a huge menu which is good and staff very friendly. Really worth a visit. It's dog friendly with lots of seating outdoors especially nice when the weather is good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janie Y
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Janie Thanks for the review Dogs are very welcome ( see our canine visitors page on facebook) you must have been here on the last few days of our winter menu. see our website for our new summer menu Cheers Phil

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Been several times now and stayed in all of the sea view rooms. The smugglers room at the top didn't disappoint, cosy with plenty of room. Wifi didn't quite reach but apart from that perfect. Staff are friendly as always and make you feel welcome. Thank you will see you soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thanks for the lovely review we are working in the WIFI but these damm thick slate walls are a nightmare! see you again soon Cheers phil

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Spent two nights in this lovely pub and would recommend to others and will definitely come back, regardless if you like doc martin it is a place of escape and relaxation....obviously busy in peak seasons....but I'm glad to have experienced port Isaac at this time and enjoyed the slipway accommodation and their food, the breakfast set us up for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emma W
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thanks for the lovely review. This time of the year is so relaxing and you are right about the peak summer times! We pride ourselves on the breakfast as we know its needed if you are off to explore the village , the coast and maybe further afield. we hope to see you again Regards Phil

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.3 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
3.2 km away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
212 reviews
0.1 km away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
472 reviews
6.8 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
909 reviews
10.1 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Slipway Cafe
The Slipway Cafe
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving Traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Slipway

Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Price Range: €115 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Slipway staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Slipway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The loft room is spacious, with a harbour view and recently renovated”
  • View from the Loft window!!
millie507, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a harbour view”
872alano, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 overlooks the slipway and is top floor away from the pub.”
christine11_h, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for sea view room . Room 11 (family suite) is lovely but be warned on the very low beams. They add to the quaintness.”
Dee602014, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we had a sea/harbour view”
chrisbabiy, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5