We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Reef Lodge

0.5 km from Newquay centre
    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    10 - 12 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AR, England
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More
    Showing 229: English reviews
    Start your review of Blue Reef Lodge
     Click to rate
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    I don't often leave reviews, but on this occasion I must. I stayed at Blue Reef Lodge last week, my quick 3 day surf break was awesome... The staff were very accommodating. I decided to have a surf lesson with Cesar and Maxus?. I learnt so much in just two hours. I was so impressed with the level of expertise,...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Aaron B
    Cambridge
    Reviewed 11 January 2017

    Great and enjoyable place to stay especially if you manage to have your room empty during out of season period. Friendly and helpful staff. Full breakfast included and coffee and tea available during the day.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Zrinka M
    London, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 10 January 2017

    Great location very clean, recommend for younger visitors not looking for a good nights sleep as we stayed on New Year's Eve was very noisy! We were also given incorrect keys for our room and the shared bathroom the receptionist was helpfull to correct this however the replacement key for the shared bathroom we were given was bent and snapped...

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank VicTravel28
    Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

    Staff were really nice. Looked after my bags in the day for me. There was a dedicated dry room for my wet suit and surfboard. Very cheap and the room was clean and bed was comfy. Really friendly bunch of people, had a good laugh with them. Will deffo be returning again in the future!! Highly recommend.

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Josh H
    Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

    We spent one night here, it looks tatty from the rear where there is very limited parking. When we went inside it was better bright and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful our room was as we would expect for the price we paid, but the bed was made of two single mattresses one of which should have...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Terry H
    Yorkshire
    Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

    We booked, went and paid , to inform us breakfast was to cost an extra £5 each! We had initially booked b&b but was disgusted at the dirty reception area and the the total disinterest by the receptionist. We asked for our money back and left! The outside should have been enough to forewarn us about the inside.

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank daveNkimYorkshire
    Booking N, Receptionsit at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

    Hi Dave, we are sorry that your visit was so disappointing, we do provide a continental breakfast between 8.30am and 10am which is laid out within the cafe, a full english breakfast is an additional charge. i would like to discuss what you found "dirty" further as we make sure that the reception and front of the building is immaculate...

    Waterlooville, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 8 September 2016

    The hostel is completely average and good if you are looking for a cheap bed. The dorm room I was in was a 9 bed (3x3 bunks) and was comfortable. However the bathroom stunk of damp, the fan made loads of noise but didn't seem to do anything. Reception staff were helpful and the breakfast was great. However I have...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank theniallc
    Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

    Hi, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Newquay Surf B&B, we have addressed the issue with the bathroom fan as we had noticed it wasn't working to its full potential. having only just noticed that we have no contact details on trip advisor i will rectify this today. but should you wish to contact us the...

    Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

    Firstly I travelled 4hrs to get to our first hotel which was the escape which was absolutely disgusting! I got my refund from that hotel and walked around for hours to find a suitable place for my family to stay and then I found this place which saved our holiday! Staff was amazing can't fault any of them, especially Barney...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Mohammed K
    Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

    Hi Mohammed, I am so glad we could help you when you walked in, it was lucky we had the available room as we are in high demand. reviews like this are why we do what we do. hope you had a safe journey home. Regards Stephan.

    Swindon, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 21 August 2016

    We booked a family room thinking that this was a family orientated guest house. On the day of our arrival, the B and B was being occupied by a hen party and the room opposite us was being occupied by a transvestite who was being very loud getting ready to party. There was no control on who entered the B...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Iain C
    Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

    Hi Iain, We apologise that your stay with us at Newquay Surf B&B was not pleasant, your booking was made for our busiest week of the year so noise is inevitable although we try to keep this to a minimum but at the time we had three different stag and hen groups staying with us. the transvestite you are speaking...

    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Reviewed 9 August 2016

    Newquay is a great place and found this hidden gem there. We had a group of 9 people and booked 3 triple rooms. They messed up the booking and only 1 out of the 3 rooms were booked. However they were quick to realise their mistake and managed to get us another 2 more rooms. We somewhat got an upgrade...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank frozenamazon
    Booking N, Receptionist at Blue Reef Lodge, responded to this review

    Hi, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Newquay Surf B&B and we look forward to seeing you again hopefully. Regards Stephan

    73 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (28)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (16)
    Viewed
    Other (12)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (45)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (6)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (30)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (7)
    Viewed
    View from Room (1)
    Viewed
    Other (1)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
    0.4 km away
    Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
    Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
    #20 of 38 in Newquay
    357 reviews
    27.6 km away
    Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
    0.2 km away
    Great Western Hotel
    Great Western Hotel
    #14 of 38 in Newquay
    776 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    0.6 km away
    BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
    0.1 km away
    Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
    0.2 km away
    Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Amenities

    Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Family Rooms

    Additional Information about Blue Reef Lodge

    Address: 10 - 12 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AR, England (Formerly Newquay Surf B&B)
    Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
    Amenities:
    Bar / Lounge Restaurant
    Price Range: €26 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Reef Lodge 2*
    Number of rooms: 18
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Reef Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Also Known As:
    Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
    Reef Surf Newquay
    Blue Reef Lodge Newquay, Cornwall
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Reef Lodge staff and other travellers.
    1 question
    Ask a question
    5 months ago

    See all questions (1)

    Questions? Get answers from Blue Reef Lodge staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travellers prefer

    “On-suite is always good”
     of 5 bubbles aaronbV9364XD, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “Clean beds and bathroom.”
     of 5 bubbles 809zrinkam, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “Check the smell of damp from your bathroom”
     of 5 bubbles theniallc, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
    “Bring ear plugs if intended to sleep.”
     of 5 bubbles iainc596, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
    “Find a different hotel”
     of 5 bubbles dankU7591ZY, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
    5 of 5