We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Western Hotel

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

789 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 771: English reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

What can I say made to feel very welcome on our arrival. Had a few beers and lunch which were both very good. Seb was an outstanding host hats off to the young man. All the staff were very professional thank you all very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Steam Bar & Restaurant at Great Western Hotel. As you say it is a lovely location to enjoy locally brewed St Austell Brewery beers with a spot of lunch. I am pleased you found our team professional, we all love it when our customers appreciate the service we provide. We hope you stop in...

Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

It was a great hotel for the price. Perfect for me and my partner's anniversary. The view is the most excellent. Staff were very friendly and courteous, gave us all the info and help we needed during our stay in Cornwall. It is very much worth the extra £15 for the premium rooms, and make sure to get a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jay v
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary. Our premium rooms do have lovely views. The team here understand how important good service is, and always do whatever they can to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Stockport
Reviewed 1 April 2016

I can't praise this hotel enough, the staff were friendly and helpful. The coastal views from the restaurant and gardens are fantastic. I choose a coastal view bedroom and didn't want to leave the room as it was lovely just watching the surfers and the sea rolling in. What also appealed to me was the fact that I didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerious
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a complimentary review. We are fortunate to have some outstanding views of the Cornish coastline, from Steam Bar & Restaurant, and our superior and premium rooms. I have been working here for almost 9 years and I never tire of the view, and think it looks totally different at different times of the day and...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We have stayed at the great western a few times this time (March 2016) my partner was taken poorly the staff helped with ambulance, reassurance everything and on our return 1 day later they had upgraded us to a peaceful sea view room so great western staff thanks your all stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We all hope that your partner is feeling better. We are so pleased that you appreciated everyone’s support when you needed it, when someone is a guest in the hotel we firmly believe that we treat them as we would a member of our own family or a...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

The staff were really friendly and location was great, just across the road from the train station which was great after our long journey. The room had a really nice sea view, only downfall was it was so hot in the room and throughout the whole hotel but was nice to have the window open and listen to the sea....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georginacolombo
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We had a really busy Easter as the road to the beach re-opened on Good Friday and it was fantastic for the team to see the restaurant full again. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the terrace, the weather let us down a little, although it was beautiful on the...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Booked in February for a 4 day break on 17 March. Phoned hotel direct as i wanted to book a specific room. Told by receptionist this room was available and wouldn't be a problem. Arrived at hotel to be told i had been given a totally different room on a different floor. Room turned out to be ok but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannyman2015
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dannyman, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry we were unable to give you your requested room, we do try to allocate a requested room wherever possible, but on some occasions due to maintenance issues or a previous guest extending their stay, it is not possible, apologies if you were not advised of...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

First time being at cornwall.. was given a lovely size room, staff was all friendly from check in to check out, really helpful. Bed was really comfy, we did not try food from here as we eat out the two nights we stayed here, amazing view! Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misstflannigan
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, hopefully this will not be your only visit to Cornwall. The beds in our premium and superior rooms are handmade in Plymouth, and many guests comment on how comfortable they are. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Manchester England
Reviewed 14 March 2016

This was our 2nd time at this hotel and we was lucky enough to be given a free upgrade to room 217 which is 'The Honeymoon Suite' The room was quite large with 1 lovely big window which gave the room a great deal of light. Also a side window. The Bathroom was big with a full size bath and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine31
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with again. Room 217 does have an exceptionally good panoramic view, with the harbour, Great Western Beach and the coastline to the east all visible from the windows. Many of our guests in this room choose to have breakfast in their room and sit in the window watching the day unfold below....

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

What a pleasureable experience from check in to check out we had a lovely room, bed was specially comfy, we had 1 evening meal which was lovely and breakfast for 3 days which was very good quality and service from staff was outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly J
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The team here work hard to ensure our guests have great service throughout their stay and it is always lovely to receive a review that shows we have succeeded. I am please you liked the breakfast, we cook it freshly with local ingredients and we believe it does make a...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I will just let the photos do the talking Luckily we recieved a refund But after emailing the management as requested by receptionist we haven't had a direct response from them. Dirty sheets, iron burns in carpet, horrible furniture, dirty kettle, dirty phone Just horrible

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsWilliams1987
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping team work diligently to ensure the highest levels of cleanliness in our rooms and I’m sorry you feel we did not achieve the standard you required. The linen on our beds is freshly laundered and changed during a guests stay, we have arranged to replace the...

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Bridal - Honeymoon Suite (23)
Viewed
Premium Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,277 reviews
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
871 reviews
2.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: €44 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Western Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Great Western Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dine here first”
 of 5 bubbles Monstermunch2017, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Talk to the reception team before you book - they couldn't be more helpful”
 of 5 bubbles davidwenban2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles LynnM2012, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlooking the sea are the best rooms.”
  • A great way to spend Valentine's Day 2017
 of 5 bubbles armchairlfc, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It is worth paying the extra to get a sea view”
  • Wonderful view from our room
 of 5 bubbles RJonesy_78, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$75
Expedia.comUS$75
PricelineUS$75
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates