We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Save
Traveller (349)
Room & Suite (219)
Dining (91)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“premium room”(59 reviews)
“steam bar”(24 reviews)
“sea view”(100 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
397
320
123
53
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
397
320
123
53
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
181 - 185 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful and got a great deal on a recent stay. Room wasn't as clean as I expected, a dodgy window that wouldn't close properly and room was too hot. Bathroom lovely and huge bedroom which was alot more than I expectedMore

Thank Purplesmurf2
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. I apologise that you found the cleanliness of the rooms disappointing. All our rooms are serviced before each and every guests to ensure our standards are always maintained. If you would be able...More

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We stopped in just for lunch with the family. They have a good selection of beers and wines and there is a reasonably good lunch menu. The fish and chips was first class, the jacket potatoes excellent, the staff very pleasant and the view is...More

Thank Dorian J
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed at the fantastic Great Western Hotel for a long weekend in February. From the moment we were welcomed warmly by the highly-professional reception staff, through the excellent meals prepared and served by a team for whom nothing was too much trouble to a...More

Thank davidwenban2017
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. The team work really hard to ensure you have an amazing stay and we are so pleased that we achieved this. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon! Emma Head Receptionist

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the great western hotel recently and when we checked in we had some very noisy neighbors. Normally we aren't the type to complain, but as we were headed out for the evening, we asked reception if they had renovations going on above...More

Thank Mailezara
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for writing a wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even booked another night! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Emma Head Receptionist

Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed here over a weekend. The room had fantastic views onto one of the local beaches....in fact, we slept with the sound of the waves! Room was warm, comfortable and a new white, spotlessly clean en-suite. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly...More

Thank LynnM2012
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad that you had a lovely stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future to exploring more of Cornwall with us.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Newquay
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$93 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$93 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (349)
Room & Suite (219)
Dining (91)
Pool & Beach (13)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
manicparrot1979
31 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HobbitHJ | Reviewed this property |
It does have a lift on one side of the hotel which serves quite a few rooms, however alot of the rooms are via stairways. They are very good at accommodating wheel chairs etc so if restricted I'd ring and book or state you... More
1
Vote
nessy1954
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Archy28 | Reviewed this property |
Pub next door associated with the hotel.
1
Vote
Tabs2000
I left a review pointing out the terrible view from our room during our stay and you have pointed out that these are your lowest rooms and they are advertised as such regarding the views of staff quarters or the main road and we were offered a £30 upgrade for a costal view. Now I see you are quick to defend your hotel but could you point me in the direction as to where this is advertised on booking. Also in terms of what we were offered I put that in my review we were offered to upgrade the main issue was the lack of customer service from your front of house, it was basically computer says no with blank stares. My review was honest and I felt you only acknowledged the part where you could make it appear that you had offered a resolution. No your hotel didn't offer a resolution, I would have happily cancelled and had a refund, that wasn't offered and as I pointed out I feel these rooms are booked on a pre paid basis and non refundable because of the poor standard and the room does not reflect any photos that you advertise it as whether it's your lowest room or not.
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mr_ben_83 |
Could have been worse, we paid for an upgrade (£40) only to find an attic room with a small window that overlooked the beach. Admittedly the view was nice but you had to go to the corner of the room to be able to see out... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Always ask for a room with a sea view, it really is worth it."
Read review
"Definitely go for the sea view rooms!!"
Read review
"The Bridal Suite is superb! Room 217"
Read review
"Choose premier room with a sea view. We has 229 but was down the far end of the hotel and fair trek."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing