We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,279: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, this is the best family hotel we have stayed at in the UK. The entertainment and location and price is perfect for a break to the surf capital of the UK. The kids loved every second of the stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheScumfroger
Bideford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing staff, amazing room, amazing children's entertainment facilities, amazing food. What more can I say, it was amazing and we'll definitelybe back to this family friendly hotel. Cannot recommend it enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodyelise
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear woodyelise I guess you found everything amazing then? Thank you for your review and cannot wait to see you again soon. Best Wishes Jason and The Esplanade Team.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So we had a short stay here while on our tour of Cornwall. From the moment we booked the hotel to the moment we left was positive. The day we checked it was my husbands birthday so prior to our arrival I contacted the reception team and spoke to Courtney who helped me to sort a birthday surprise in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Friend (sorry no name attached) What a fabulous review of the entire Hotel all our staff and everything we offer, a special thank you from Courtney too! I am so happy that we made you holiday to Cornwall so enjoyable and memorable. I do hope we will see you again soon, and for longer. Kindest of Regards Jason and...

kings lynn Norfolk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 4day break at the Esplande hotel and it was amazing!!! We were on a coach trip with E A Holidays from King's Lynn and stayed at this hotel. This hotel was first class. It was spotlessly clean. The food was amazing with 4 choices of starter, main and dessert and was beautifully presented. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruby J
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruby Fantastic to read that your family enjoyed their stay with us and that the food and service was top notch. I have passed on your kind words to them all! Hopefully we will see all 9 of you again very soon. Best Wishes and Kind Regards Jason and The Esplanade Team

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful location, excellent hotel. Good food, with lots of choice, helpful and polite staff. The reception staff were particularly helpful with finding me information about the local transport system. Lovely pool with clean warm towels. I will be going back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary S Great to read that our reception team were being their friendly attentive best for you, also that you found our pool so inviting. Hope we see you again very soon Kind Regards Jason and The Esplanade Team

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose the esplanade as we live locally but wanted somewhere with nice views of one of our favourite beaches.We had a lovely stay, our room was perfect, lots finishing touches to make the occasion special. The views were amazing. Food was great, staff very friendly. We will definitely be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuna P
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shuna P I'm very happy to read that you so enjoyed your special Anniversary stay and glad that we made it memorable for you. Looking forward to your return visit! Kind Regards Jason and The Esplanade Team

Devon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at the Esplanade for a local wedding at the end of March. No parking available at the hotel or on the street when we arrived just before noon. We had a coffee and left our bag with reception and went to the wedding. The staff on reception assured us there would be plenty of parking when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LappersDevon
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LappersDevon Thank you for taking the time to write a very informative review of the Esplanade, both good and bad points. My apologies that you could not find a parking space either in our carpark or close to the Hotel on the road, in general the is much quieter at that time of evening with many spaces. Regarding the...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was not very easy trying to find somewhere to go for a spa experience without having to book a treatment but after phoning the esplanade they said that their pool and spa area was open to the public. We were very disappointed. The jacuzzi was green, now we are hoping this could have been a chemical imbalance but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollyleaney15
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hollyleaney I am disappointed to read that our pool did not live up to the 'Spa Experience' you were hoping for. Our pool / jacuzzi and dry Sauna are monitored continually through the day with water testing 3 times a day and cleaners in every hour, more often for towel replenishment if needed. The pool has a brand new...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read the other reviews about this hotel, we were really looking forward to our short stay, and it did not disappoint in any way. The staff were lovely, friendly & efficient . Our food was superb , from the cooked breakfast to the evening meal. A great choice on the menu, the fillet steak ( a small supplement) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer P We're very glad to read that you and your group very much enjoyed your stay. It's always a pleasure to have our hard work acknowledged by our guests. I have passed on your review to all our staff. We all very much hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards and best wishes Jason and the...

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a A and P inclusive holiday from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff could not do enough for us meals were of a high standard and excellent choice. Would thoroughly recommend it and will come back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank c_fitzwalter
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear c_fitzwalter Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. It's always great to receive such warm feedback. Hope to see you again soon Best regards Jason and the Esplanade Team

497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (298)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Best Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Seaview Family Room (Sleeps Five) (28)
Viewed
Seaview Family Room With Sofa (27)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (Sleeps Four) (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.1 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
974 reviews
0.5 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
880 reviews
2.0 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: €87 - €179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It would be worth paying extra to have a view across Fistral beach.”
kalamiqueen, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room with a view is to die for.”
tonyhawkins62, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms a lot more attractive than the back ones. Room doors need closing with care.”
StephenJ62, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are breathtaking at this hotel.”
a2jmockler, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view as some of the rooms overlooked buildings on the back of the hotel”
X6352NBjenniferp, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5