We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliffdene Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cliffdene Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliffdene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

An overnight stay at this hotel, sited on sea front at Newquay. Hotel is clean and the staff are friendly, the food is also very good. This was our second visit, last time we stayed the weekend for the price its really fine. It could do with updating but then the price would go up!! We really enjoy our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue H
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

cornwall
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Cannot praise Hotel highly enough, staff were great and went out of their way to ensure we were well catered for. Have used this hotel for past three years due to escalating costs by other hotels in the area, accommodation is great for the price, clean and comfy, found no faults so not sure what others complain about, thirty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sailorbeware
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The room was comfortable and clean, the bed was hard and springs were prominent which lead to poor sleep each night. The Breakfasts each morning were badly organised and the service was slow and we waited up to 35 minutes each morning to order our breakfast. When it arrived it had, uncooked sausages, badly cooked eggs, bacon just cooked or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan D
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel as I needed somewhere inexpensive yet nice. I booked a single room with single bed for £20 for a night. I wasn't expecting much for the price but was greeted with a friendly and attentive welcome. The room I stayed in was very well maintained, for the price I expected it to be a bit shabby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank starkeyl
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 4 November 2016

Location by gorgeous beaches and Newquay is not far from airport - Opposite bus stop to Padstow, Airport, Truro, St Austell. Newquay town centre and walks - friendly helpful local staff who directed me on the best pasty in town (yum) - clean - excellent value for money - lovely view from lounge - breakfast £6.50 - good wi-fi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flossy N
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

The place looks 100 times better than what it really is in the pics, dirty, damp, overpriced unwelcoming hotel, the whole hotel inside to out looks like it hasn't been decorated in over 25 years, the bass are rock hard and the rooms stink of damp, terrible stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cannonball1998
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Could not ask for better brilliant location Great staff we had room with balcony with view that was unrivaled we definitely be returning people so friendly and plenty to do or just relax down on the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wullie W
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Avoid avoid avoid Some friendly staff, some very unfriendly staff, breakfast selection is poor for a vegetarian, bedroom deco very very dated needs a full renovation OMG the WiFi connection is a absolute shambles, sorry cliffdene my honest opinion cmon guys u got a lovely location Just sort your deco out and invest in a better Internet provider

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dobzy
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Very clean and great value for money! Fantastic Sea view from our room and everyone was very friendly. 10 minutes walk from railway station and busses but still quite location. If you are a surfer you just walk 100 metres and you are in the sea. I will definitely go again and recommend to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DandB1971
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Costa del Silencio, Spain
Reviewed 27 September 2016

OK for the one night we stayed there. The room was very very dated. They supply tea,coffee, sugar and milk in the room BUT the coffee was awful. The breakfast was ok although the sausage was cold was told we could have mushrooms on the particular day we were there WOW. Cereals are all in large bowls individual boxes would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janetb82_13
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
773 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.6 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
854 reviews
0.9 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 38 in Newquay
189 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#21 of 38 in Newquay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: €44 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 210elainet, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea and road at front, quiet but with no outlook at back”
 of 5 bubbles RDH1, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view, we did and it was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles slartybartfast_1, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front of hotel overlooks the beaches, views great.”
 of 5 bubbles sailorbeware, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont Go There”
 of 5 bubbles jonathandV7788AX, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5