We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ye Olde King's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ye Olde King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 385: English reviews
Start your review of Ye Olde King's Head
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just spent a night at ye olde kings head to celebrate my partners birthday.wow could not fault it. Our room was spotless (room6) and the lovely four poster bed so comfortable.The food was second to none,we has dinner and breakfast. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble.location great.we only live about 1hour drive away and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christineV4115XC
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went for a meal for Mothers Day. Excellent food and value for money. Well done to chef Sam. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will go again. Sister pub to the Handbridge. I had the liver, it was excellent. The vegetables very plentiful and cooked perfectly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came into the pub on two separate occasions during our visit to Chester. The beer is well priced and is cheaper than many places in Chester. We visited again in an evening and were greeted by friendly staff and fabulous acoustic music. The pub is friendly and homely. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here but would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived in Chester for a few days and found this place while out looking for somewhere to eat. The place was very warm (literally) and welcoming. There was a large open fire and plenty of tables available as it was early evening. The staff were friendly and helpful and the meal was very tasty and well cooked. Would recommend to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swandaw
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night here and would definitely recommend it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. The room was clean and we managed to avoid banging our heads on the low doorways and beams! We had a couple of drinks in the pub and enjoyed the honey porter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
OldeKingsHeadChester, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte Thank you for leaving a review, its great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and te managed to dodge those beams! we hope to see you again in the future thanks again warm regards J.P

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything about this place went above and beyond expectations. Staff were exceptionally friendly from the moment we walked through the door. We ended up spending most of the evening in the bar listening and dancing to great live music and with a fantastic atmosphere. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
OldeKingsHeadChester, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Lydia S Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We pride ourselves on our live music and the atmosphere that and our wonderful staff create. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the team. We look forward to you staying with us again Warm Regards J.P

Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a few drinks whilst on a trip to Chester. Very friendly staff, once they knew my daughter was interested in ghosts ect they brought over a file of photo's and letters from guests who had stayed and experienced ghostly goings on, very interesting. It was very cold outside but the log fire kept us warm. We all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo j
OldeKingsHeadChester, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hi there jo j Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for your lovely comments on our staff and the warm atmosphere in the bar. we look forward to seeing you again, perhaps on a Wednesday for our weekly paranormal evening warm regards J.P

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited this pub a few months ago and, as a bitter drinker, was disappointed to see a selection of cask ales that I'd never heard of. I chose one anyway and what a mistake that was. It was served as flat as a fluke with no head at all and when I tasted it, it tasted nasty. They probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankjones2015
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello frank, I'm very sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed the time you have spent with us at Ye Olde King's Head. As our trip advisor shows it is rare that we receive reviews such as this so I can guarantee that it is being viewed with the upmost earnestness. One of the beers that you have mentioned, Black...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 night break. Lots of character,but rooms are a bit tired. Our 4 poster bedroom had a thread bare carpet,poor lighting,nowhere comfortable to sit and some of the side lights not working. The bathroom,although clean and modern, had the worse shower ever...no pressure and not hot enough. In the centre of town,so ideal to walk everywhere. The bar area had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penny19542015
OldeKingsHeadChester, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hi Penny Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we take all feedback seriously and I will be having a look at the room in question to see how we can improve it for the future, in regards to the shower pressure, this is a long standing problem which affects a lot of buildings on the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is really friendly place, with nice food and a very comfortable ambience. I arrived at 9.00 on a Sunday evening, and there was a log fire going. I had a whisky or two, read my book, and went up to bed. As far from a chain hotel as it is possible to be. Sometimes you want slick and modern,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
OldeKingsHeadChester, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hi there Simon L Music to my ears! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Its just great to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay with us so much we hope you will come and stay again in the future thanks again J.P

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,988 reviews
0.1 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
1,034 reviews
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
614 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €77 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde King's Head staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Herts
Wigan, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde King's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even though we had a road-facing room there was little noise at night.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenV97, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a front room and were not bothered by noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles _b_durbar48, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“this is a civil war aged inn, all the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles mick8620uk, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be careful if above average height, low beams!”
 of 5 bubbles r0bb029, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't have a front room which overlooks the road.”
 of 5 bubbles anitad168, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5