We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Chester

Show Prices
#11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,439: English reviews
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

What a great trip. My wife and I chose to take a few days mid-week break following the marriage of our youngest son and to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. We booked our two night stay at the last minute and secured a fantastic room rate that was cheaper than some budget priced hotels. We arrived at the Crown Plaza...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin W
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am so glad that we were able to make your special occasion a bit more special. My team will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you next time you visit. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

camberley
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Crowne plaza was everything I expected. Had lovely stay in reasonably priced hotel in an excellent location. I agree with earlier reviews that reception set up a bit bizarre but otherwise decently sized room, nice bar, very friendly staff. We used pool, jacuzzi etc a few times, most of the time there were very few people in pool which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waggers999
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester. It is great to hear that you had a good time while you were staying with us. I hope that come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations manager

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Loved my stay here, really nice hotel with everything you need and more. Worth every penny paying the extra for the executive rooms they come with sky TV including sports plus access to the club lounge between 5 and 8 you get complimentary drinks and nibbles. Breakfast was amazing with a hot buffet and also an a la carte menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie E
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza in Chester. We really appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had an excellent stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We arrived on the 31 August, for 1 night. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised, really helpful and friendly service at reception, Got to our room, with a lovely view of the mountains. Nice little extras in the room. The bed was huge and very comfy 😀. After getting ready for a night out in Chester, we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angleseylady2014
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to seeing you next time you visit Chester. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We stayed here two nights for the races in August. I must admit that the front of the hotel backs onto a horrible street/car park however once you get past this the hotel is lovely. The beds are amazing so comfy. We had a standard room but were very lucky to get a view overlooking the hills in the distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandCatriona
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester. We value our guests opinions on how the hotel could be improved and we will use your comments to try and improve our guests experience in the future. We do hope that you will visit us again Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015

A welcoming receptionist gave us a good idea how friendly and helpful the staff are at this hotel. We were given a map and mini guide to Chester as it's been a long time since we visited Chester. He also recommended a few restaurants. We had booked a regular King bed room and were not disappointed. With views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne C
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza hotel in Chester. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and my team will be very pleased that they had positve affect on you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Chester. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

We had high hopes of our overnight stay at the Plaza and it unfortunately fell short. I had booked our rooms on line and specifically requested adjacent rooms for our children but these notes had not been read the night before (as they should have been) and so when we came to check in they couldn't find adjacent rooms. It...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sophie h
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback about your stay. Also, many thanks about highlighting all the positive aspects of your visit as well despite having had an obviously horrible night's sleep due to the unacceptable behaviour of other hotel guests. Whils we do not tolerate this behaviour, it appears that the way we have dealt with...

Harrogate
Reviewed 5 August 2015

A big smile from the receptionist greeted us as we entered the lobby. Always a good start, we asked for and got an upgrade to an executive suite which was spacious and had a decent bathroom with bath robes and slippers provided. The kettle didn't work, but a call to reception had a replacement delivered in minutes. We had taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatbuoy
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We always strive towards providing the best possible customer service and I am happy to see we did not disappoint. Thank you for your positive review and please be assured I will discuss your constructive comments about breakfast with our food and beverage team. I hope you'll be back soon, Kind regards, Peter...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Family day out,travelled with 2 kids under 3 year old. Hotel have a good location, close to a town centre, check in was really fast, family room was big enough, 2 beds for kids were ready, so little one could take a nap straight away.Hotel have a small swimming pool, but didnt have a chance to try it.Breakfast was perfect,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaDO007
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Chester and sharing your review here. It's always a pleasure to see such nice comments and I will be glad to welcome you back again when you're in Chester for another family getaway. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Norwich
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Whilst not cheap you certainly get what you pay for at this hotel. Situated in the centre of Chester but easy to find and with ample private parking. Special mention to Thomas (maybe George) on reception and Alan in the bar and breakfast. This hotel is idealy situated for business or tourist, smack in the centre of Chester. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roalnd
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I'm delighted that you've had a great time with us and had the chance to take advantage of all our facilities. Tom and Alan are going to be glad to see they have made such a difference to your stay that you were kind enough to mention them. Looking...

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (152)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,873 reviews
1.2 km away
BW Premier Hallmark Chester The Queen
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#19 of 45 in Chester
1,862 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €108 - €267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor has a good view”
 of 5 bubbles milo55, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room if that is what you require.”
 of 5 bubbles June1958, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room I got had a slanted roof, choose one on the 1st or the 2nd floot”
 of 5 bubbles 34shehzadk, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Haggle on the price. Our room was worth no more than £100-£120/night”
 of 5 bubbles alt981, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive Lounge Access!”
 of 5 bubbles Sarahwgrack, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay