We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pied Bull Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pied Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pied Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 525: English reviews
Whitworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Came away mid week to Chester, The pied Bull is a delightful place, clean, staff very friendly, food to die for and our room absolutely stunning. It is situated slap bang in the middle of Chester, no car park but a car park round the corner for only. £6 for24 hour ticket. Loved the decor, and the "home brew "...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. I would first like to apologize on the negative side of you view point. We are at the present stage towards the end of our developments which is creating a beer garden and more accommodation for the building. However that being said it does not make what you experienced acceptable and i thank you...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 2nights at the pied bull inn and found our stay very pleasant. We were very lucky to stay in an immaculate luxury 4poster suite with roll top bath! My wife was delighted when entering the room! The room and bathroom were extremely clean and spacious and the facilities were of a good standard. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhilM23
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review about us. I am very happy that yourself and your wife enjoyed your visit with us. We do provide fans for the bedrooms upon request so if you do stay with us again please let a member of staff know and we can provide you with one no problem. We hope to see you...

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Popped into the Pied Bull quite by chance for a Sunday lunch. I'd never eaten there before but I will definitely go again. Great tasting food, lovely setting, plenty of choice and a good price too. I have nothing negative to say about the visit at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen H
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed Sunday lunch with us at the Pied Bull. Our 'roast with the most' Sunday Lunch deal proves to be a popular choice and we do hope that we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a 1 nite romantic/birthday getaway with my husband. I'd emailed the hotel and informed them it was my husbands birthday and on arrival they informed us we had been upgraded to the King executive suite. How lovely I thought ..... WRONG. There's nothing executive about this room, tacky furniture, no bath and a bathroom in a cupboard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

As group of 5 family, and friends, we booked a table here, earlier in the day, for 8.30pm on Friday 17th June 2016. We arrived on time and were immediately surprised about the lack of customer care. We were then told that the majority of the menu was not available so none of us were able to get our preferred...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9Tiger
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your experience with us. My deepest apologies on your dining. We are proud to say that we have a new Head Chef here who has completely changed the service. We would be extremely happy if you would re consider your opinion and allow us to provide that 'WOW' factor experience that you quite rightly...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure of a Sunday night stay with them. The pub it's self is quaint and quirky very popular but keeps a nice homely feel to it. Rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean (lovely big bathroom). The pub couldn't be more central with the cathedral opposite and it's inside the roman walls. All staff were friendly. I'm currently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zena B
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such lovely comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed you time spent here with us at the Pied Bull and we do hope that you manage to find that excuse to visit Chester again and come to visit us again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Great location in centre of Chester. Me and my boyfriend stayed for one night unfortunately the room we had been put in number 2 was like a sauna even at 11pm so we asked to change rooms they where very accommodating and we moved to room number 4 which was a massive improvement! Only problem then was the awful nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten457
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, We are happy that we were able to accommodate the room change for you both. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Pied Bull and hope to you again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the four poster bedroom for one night. It was really lovely and looks exactly the same as the pictures show. A very comfortable room but the wifi connection was poor. When we booked it we didn't realise how close it was to the centre which was a nice surprise. Didn't enjoy the full English in the morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahhh88
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We at the Pied Bull take feedback very serious and try our up-most to correct any negatives which we are notified about. I am happy to inform you that now with our new developments we have boosted the whole hotel and new beer garden and bed rooms with wi-fi. Our Front of House...

Southampton
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Decent pub in the centre of Chester, good selection of well kept ales. They had about six real ales on when I was on there, I tried 3 and all were in great condition. Very knowledgeable staff. I would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we take great pride in our real ales as we are the only micro brewery in Chester so we are very happy with your feedback thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

The Pied Bull has character and is haunted by two ghosts. There is a brewery in the cellar so real ale aficionados are well catered for and a 10% discount is available for CAMRA members. The food was good, the hot element of breakfasts were cooked to order, evening meals were very tasty. The staff were very helpful and friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We at the Pied Bull are very happy with your positive feedback.

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,943 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,528 reviews
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
1,014 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#4 of 45 in Chester
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €74 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
uk
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask before booking!”
 of 5 bubbles TonyR438, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can only speak of rooms down side street. 20 rooms in total, some are in the actual pub.”
 of 5 bubbles 114DebbieG, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get rooms at the rear as the main street can be noisy at night with revellers”
 of 5 bubbles FionaS612, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quite room if they have one.”
 of 5 bubbles Casino8uk, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms in annexe. Best rooms in upstairs of pub.”
 of 5 bubbles riff2309, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5