We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Chester South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Chester South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chester South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 969: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We planned a large family reunion at this hotel and chose this location as sections of the family are scattered all over the country and this was a convenient place for us to meet. The function was over the May bank holiday but when we arrived we found out that a large wedding was also to take place at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay with us. Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced - the shortfalls you describe are not indicative of our usual service delivery, and as such your feedback has been shared with the relevant departmental Managers...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Upon arriving I was greeted in a friendly manner by staff which was much appreciated as it was late and my brain was somewhat fried from the drive from London. My experience from there went somewhat downhill. Exceptionally tired I went to sleep once I had navigated the clunky WiFi process. I woke up numerous times in the night feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina W
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. It's good to read that you had a good arrival experience, but please accept my sincere apologies for the effect caused by the paint fumes in the room you were first allocated, and also for the lack of concern when mentioning it. I have...

Scotland
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We bought an overnight stay with breakfast along with Chester Zoo entry tickets with Holiday Inn Chester South. It was easy to book, convenient and a bargain too! On arrival, we were made to feel very welcome by staff. My son was even given a chocolate bunny as it was Easter Sunday which he was very pleased with. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxtinyangelxx
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. I've shared your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

cheshire
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We stayed here for a stag do,And to be honest was dreading the stay after reading some of the reviews . On arrival I was greeted at reception warmly as with the rest off our party when they arrived. The staff couldn't do enough for us ,bar staff were excellent , food at the bar was also excellent . The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guitarmad
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. I've shared your feedback with all the team and we look forward to your return visit. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

the staff had it in for us from the start! 7 girls on a hen party but as all the other guests commented we were quiet tame for a hen party so we wasnt causing any problems. My mum asked for toilet paper to be put in her room at about 6:30 evening there still wasnt any when we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sammy h
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto this site following your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapses in service you encountered, together with my assurance that your experience is not indicative of our usual standards - as such your feedback has been shared with the team for their information and action. I...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Upon arriving at the hotel, the exterior is so grim, I was nervous entering the hotel but was pleasantly surprised to fined a modern interior. Good things stop here. Huge overcharge for 1 extra person (3 people total) on an already expensive room with only rudimentary amenities. Rudely greeted during check in, the floor plan to the first floor rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiulianaPainter
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us . I regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding the aspects of your stay you mention - as such please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment caused, together with my assurance that your feedback has been shared with the team for...

Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2015

What a lovely welcome we received when we arrived at the Holiday Inn, Chester South with our grandchildren. The staff on reception and the restaurant couldn't have done more for us. The pool was a great way to keep the children entertained until our evening meal and although the rooms are basic with no extra frills such as biscuits there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ang1361
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. It's good to read you had a really enjoyable stay and that the team welcomed you so well. I've shared your feedback with everyone and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

Reviewed 17 April 2015

Visited over the Easter weekend. Easy to find just a 10 min bus ride on the No1 bus to city centre. Exterior is dated but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The shower was great. Food was very good but a bit pricey as were the drinks, but hey it's a hotel. The breakfast was really good. Enjoyed the pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It's good to read that you found the team excellent and food very good, and it's great that you'll definitely stay with us again - we'll look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

GB
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Good location, comfortable beds quiet. Lousy restaurant. I had lasagne and had an upset tummy the following morning Poor internet access. Good breakfast with nicely cooked eggs and good choices Plenty parking spaces

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neemwalla
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for your disappointment in your evening meal. It's good to read you enjoyed your breakfast - I have shared your feedback with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Finding the hotel is a breeze, plenty of parking. Far enough away from the city to be quiet at night. Bar meals are tasty and varied. Love the pool - always lovely and warm. The gym was adequate for our short stay. Check in and check out was speedy and efficient, staff are very nice - especially our waiter in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1907Karen
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback - I've shared your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
8.9 km away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,539 reviews
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
5.2 km away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €68 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Chester South staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
3 months ago
7 days ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Chester South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift to second floor rooms, (only to the restauraunt) so if you struggle walking ask for ground foor”
 of 5 bubbles nickyp595, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms for silence are next door to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles Steviewhitt, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms overlook carpark”
 of 5 bubbles 18cristiano, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at rear as front subject to 24 hour traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Camilla77_77, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request rooms away from the A55 side to avoid traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles g_parry043, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5