We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Belgrave

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Belgrave
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belgrave
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Fawlty towers . Just had a weekend here with partner . No sink plug . Shower not working properly . Iron a health risk . Manager attitude was rude , both to staff and clients . No vegetarian option at breakfast even thou was told there would be . Toilet cracked . Would be better off booking into the public...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Paul S
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

A real life fawlty towers..no plug in the sink which was next to the bed, poor shower, cracked toilet. The iron was a health hazard as the lead had been repaired in three places with gaffer tape. There were no mattress or pillow protectors. The wardrobe had a previous guests dirty jumper in it. But the worst thing was the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Patricia L
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here as a young woman on my own in a single room. I booked it because its so close to the train station and I didn't want to struggle too far with my luggage in the evening. Got there and despite my room being on the second floor with no lift there was no offer of help with all...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Adrienne P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel was disgrace, dirty smell, and looks like it had not been updated since the seventies. The shower in the room did not work and the rooms were smelly, (the smell was making my wife gag, while cleaning her teeth) all the furniture was old and tatty, even in the public bar. While having a drink at the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TerryPotter59
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Belgrave is just yards from the railway station which is so convenient for train travellers like me. It's also just around ten minutes' walk from the glorious Chester city centre and its historic Roman walls. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. I couldn't fault anything during my stay here. Breakfasts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill_2703
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is a disgrace well over priced,wires hanging out in the room,dirty and smells!!me and my friend payed on our cards and used chip and pin we didnt feel to happy about paying for the room as it was not worth the money,the day after we got home we had the same money taken out of our accounts from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leahlou2
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

When you arrived at the hotel both you and your friend paid separately on credit cards for a Twin Room (2 people). Not once during your stay did you complain about your room. In the morning two gentlemen were confronted on reception and gave your friends name and room number and said that she had told them she had paid...

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

arrived teatime, staff was friendly and sorted us a room,and showed us the room before we decided. A double bedroom cost us £65 for the night with breakfast so it wasnt tòo bad. The room was basic, and in need of updating, especially the lamp shade in room 11,but the bedding was clean and the towels were clean,and soap was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna P
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Chester and hope to see you again

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I'm not quick to judge when it comes to reviews on this website and I was not put off by the bad reviews by other members because I have experienced lovely hotels that were scorned by bad press on TripAdvisor. However, I was genuinely disappointed with this hotel, especially for the price we paid. Me and 2 friends stayed over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LizzeeMoo
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

The cost £ 75.00 for a Triple Room, works out to £ 25.00 per person. As to the room being small it is approx 26 sq metres and there are three single beds in the room. Unfortunately a client had burnt the carpet and we had been unable to replace it at short notice.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Where do I start, there are so many things wrong with this hotel. We made our way up to room 29 and when walking through the door I could tell that part of the hotel was really cold compared to the rest. The central heating wasn't on so we complained to who I think was the owner and asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna C
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

When you booked into the hotel you were given a Double Room as requested, however your friends were in a Triple Room which we can use as Double or Twin. When you realised this you asked to swap to a bigger room, however we were full and could not accommodate you elsewhere. The windows are left open when the cleaners...

Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I paid for the room up front at reception before I was handed the keys, this was my second mistake, usually I check this site before I book any accommodation, this was last minute and I failed to do so at my cost, room 23 I stayed in £59 , double room, green bathroom, no shower, room a 70's throw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren Gaynor J
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry that you weren't happy with your room which was a Triple Room when you only paid for a Double Room. The only complaint we received was on your departure, if you had told us you were not happy with a bath we could have accommodated you in another room with a shower. If at any time during...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#43 of 45 in Chester
327 reviews
0.0 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 45 in Chester
851 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
160 reviews
8.5 km away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Belgrave

Address: 61 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €51 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and Travelocity so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belgrave staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Belgrave staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear rooms were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 805christinem805, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wi fi not availabe in rooms only in the public areas”
 of 5 bubbles Satchel08, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take ear plugs and ask in plenty of time for aquiet room you may be lucky”
 of 5 bubbles desperate_9, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“avoid at all costs”
 of 5 bubbles Yanto65, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid single room number 17”
 of 5 bubbles bastek72pl, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay