We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Belgrave

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Belgrave
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belgrave
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel was disgrace, dirty smell, and looks like it had not been updated since the seventies. The shower in the room did not work and the rooms were smelly, (the smell was making my wife gag, while cleaning her teeth) all the furniture was old and tatty, even in the public bar. While having a drink at the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TerryPotter59
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Belgrave is just yards from the railway station which is so convenient for train travellers like me. It's also just around ten minutes' walk from the glorious Chester city centre and its historic Roman walls. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. I couldn't fault anything during my stay here. Breakfasts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill_2703
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is a disgrace well over priced,wires hanging out in the room,dirty and smells!!me and my friend payed on our cards and used chip and pin we didnt feel to happy about paying for the room as it was not worth the money,the day after we got home we had the same money taken out of our accounts from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leahlou2
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

When you arrived at the hotel both you and your friend paid separately on credit cards for a Twin Room (2 people). Not once during your stay did you complain about your room. In the morning two gentlemen were confronted on reception and gave your friends name and room number and said that she had told them she had paid...

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

arrived teatime, staff was friendly and sorted us a room,and showed us the room before we decided. A double bedroom cost us £65 for the night with breakfast so it wasnt tòo bad. The room was basic, and in need of updating, especially the lamp shade in room 11,but the bedding was clean and the towels were clean,and soap was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna P
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Chester and hope to see you again

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I'm not quick to judge when it comes to reviews on this website and I was not put off by the bad reviews by other members because I have experienced lovely hotels that were scorned by bad press on TripAdvisor. However, I was genuinely disappointed with this hotel, especially for the price we paid. Me and 2 friends stayed over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LizzeeMoo
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

The cost £ 75.00 for a Triple Room, works out to £ 25.00 per person. As to the room being small it is approx 26 sq metres and there are three single beds in the room. Unfortunately a client had burnt the carpet and we had been unable to replace it at short notice.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Where do I start, there are so many things wrong with this hotel. We made our way up to room 29 and when walking through the door I could tell that part of the hotel was really cold compared to the rest. The central heating wasn't on so we complained to who I think was the owner and asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna C
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

When you booked into the hotel you were given a Double Room as requested, however your friends were in a Triple Room which we can use as Double or Twin. When you realised this you asked to swap to a bigger room, however we were full and could not accommodate you elsewhere. The windows are left open when the cleaners...

Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I paid for the room up front at reception before I was handed the keys, this was my second mistake, usually I check this site before I book any accommodation, this was last minute and I failed to do so at my cost, room 23 I stayed in £59 , double room, green bathroom, no shower, room a 70's throw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren Gaynor J
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry that you weren't happy with your room which was a Triple Room when you only paid for a Double Room. The only complaint we received was on your departure, if you had told us you were not happy with a bath we could have accommodated you in another room with a shower. If at any time during...

Cheshire
Reviewed 22 January 2014

On arrival the staff seem friendly enough. Bedroom was ok but smelt damp, but the most surprising thing and uncomfortable thing was the men/man drinking in the bar, he seems to be a residence of the hotel, he was very loud and quiet disrespectful of his family and staff. At this point I wanted to leave the hotel, but as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe P
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel was pretty much as expected given how little I paid! Having worked in Chester I used to walk past this hotel daily so I knew it wasn't going to be anything special, however I just wanted a cheap bed after a night out which I would barely be spending any time there so this fitted the bill. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loubird123
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here New Year's Eve. The staff were lovely but as for our room its was terrible. The room was outdated and had a musky smell. The room was so cold we was shivering. I asked the staff when the heating would come on and was told it would be on later. The Heating then came on for one hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade1390
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, however your friend has been here on several occasions and she has never complained before, and didn't make any complaint over the New Year period. The price you paid was for a double room with two people sharing. The hotel was full on New Years Eve and we had no other...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#42 of 45 in Chester
325 reviews
0.0 km away
Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster
9.7 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
8.5 km away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
0.1 km away
BW Premier Hallmark Chester The Queen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Belgrave

Address: 61 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €52 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belgrave staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Belgrave staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear rooms were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 805christinem805, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wi fi not availabe in rooms only in the public areas”
 of 5 bubbles Satchel08, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take ear plugs and ask in plenty of time for aquiet room you may be lucky”
 of 5 bubbles desperate_9, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“avoid at all costs”
 of 5 bubbles Yanto65, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid single room number 17”
 of 5 bubbles bastek72pl, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay