We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Save
Share
St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$165
US$108
View deal
SAVE US$57
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
StayForLongUS$165
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (283)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#33 of 48 hotels in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Lithuanian, Polish
2280Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 701
  • 662
  • 463
  • 251
  • 203
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ToffeeDog wrote a review Jan 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom29 contributions33 helpful votes
We stayed here to do some Christmas shopping in Chester. Great location for the shops and restaurants. There is a car park in the nearby shopping centre which cost £10 for a 24 hour stay. The room was lovely and clean. The staff were very helpful especially Steve. My wife had forgotten to bring hair conditioner with her for the stay. She rang the reception and Steve went out and bought some. He refused to take any money for it. What a great guy. Thanks Steve.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Pinkymontieth wrote a review Dec 2020
Wirral, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The staff were great however the room was really old and tired. When we arrived the room was sealed stating that it was covid clean but the toilet had been used and not flushed or clean, paint was stained and flaking, carpet was used and stained bathroom was completely tired, we had to request hand soap and body wash and lean towels, bath or basin would not empty, very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Burley, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear Pinkymontieth, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay at Macdonald New Blossoms. As a historic building no two rooms are the same with each offering its own character and charm. If you had informed us of your disappointment with the room we may have been able to offer a different room and resolved this for your during your stay. I really do appreciate the feedback and will ensure the relevant improvements are made. I hope you do choose to stay with us in the future as I would love for you to receive the true experience we have to offer Kind regards, Reception
Read more
CMM wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed a night to shop for Christmas presents and had a great room. Wonderful staff in particular Steven who went over and above to make our stay comfortable. Great staff,great hotel and perfect location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Burley, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Dear Cxmx, Thank you for these kind words, I will be sure to pass your comments onto Stephen and the team, we hope you have a wonderful Christmas and welcome you back soon. Kind regards Reception
Read more
Katie henshaw wrote a review Nov 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked a 2 night stay at the hotel - land were informed it was a late check-in due to increased cleaning for Covid! Arrived in the room & went to make a coffee on arrival & horrified that the cup had a big lipstick smudge on it -and coffee still in the cup with the fresh sachets & sugar in the cup !! I felt as if the rest of the room might not be adequately cleaned so santisied the whole of the room as how could I trust it had been cleaned properly. Breakfast was served in the room in cardboard boxes because of Covid ?? why It was cold and the order was incorrect. Had to search for the cleaner & ask for toilet roll because the rooms were not serviced inbetween days and we were only provided with 1 loo roll for a 2 night stay!! Whlst we know it is beyond the hotels control - it would have been relevant to have been informed that there was a major construction going on outside the hotel with drilling and contruction noise starting at 8am in the morning, when we were making the booking. The Pillows on the beds were duck feather (not stated) & my daughter has an allergy so we asked for replacement pillows the next morning - still waiting at 8pm so opted to check out rather than spend another uncomfortable night at Blossoms - so disappointing and would NOT recommend particularly regarding standards of hygiene.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen McCready , General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear LoedaRoast, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us. I really do appreciate the feedback and will ensure the relevant improvements are made. Please contact our General Manager on the below email to discuss this further; gm.blossoms@macdonald-hotels.co.uk Kind regards Reception
Read more
Yvonne B wrote a review Oct 2020
Wigan, United Kingdom65 contributions9 helpful votes
Called in advance to make sure we were not breaking any rules (Covid). Receptionist was ready helpful in answering all our questions. Very quiet, which was expected at the moment. Clean and tidy rooms with minimal tea and coffee making facilities. There was a speaker in the bathroom (no volume control) which was really loud so could not really have the TV on in the morning. Don’t really understand why that is there. Towels for 1 person only. Didn’t expect much more really due to the current restrictions. Just wanted a night away from being at home all the time. Served its purpose, I suppose.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Burley, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear YvonnebT9948QN, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us. I really do appreciate the feedback and will ensure the relevant improvements are made. I hope you do choose to stay with us in the future as I would love for you to receive the true experience we have to offer. Once again please accept my sincere apologies. Kind regards Reception
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald new blossoms chester, hotel macdonald new blossoms
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Breakout Chester (0.3 km), Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre (0.3 km), and Chester Cathedral (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bean and Cole, Atina Kitchen, and Marmalade.
Is Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Chester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (0.2 km), Chester City Walls (0.8 km), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (0.07 km).