We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pheasant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 542: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a great meal in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The menu is pretty extensive and I would suggest you book like we did as it does get busy! It was already dark when we got there so unfortunately we could not enjoy the stunning view this time!

Helpful?
Thank Tina K
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Tina, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you enjoyed and wide and varied menu. We do get very busy, as you have mentioned, and we do always advise pre-booking a table to guarantee one. I do... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

This place is a real gem with outstanding Cheshire views and plenty of different areas to sit. It caters fir everyone: couples, families and parties. I advise you book as it gets very busy. The food is fabulous and the service was great. I was celebrating my birthday and it's one of the best places I've eaten in a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Jenny, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. Firstly, many happy returns on your birthday, and it was nice to read about experience and to see that it was one of the best places that you have eaten at for a long time, and hopefully it will remain in your memory... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Excellent appropriately attentive and pleasant service and very good lunch time food. The four of us all enjoyed our filling one courses.Welcoming open fires and warm ambience throughout. it was also good value.

Helpful?
Thank pauline h
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Pauline, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your meal with us, and that it met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once again many thanks for your review. Kind Regards, David More 

uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This has to be one of the best meals we have had, everything was cooked to perfection and wonderfully seasoned and the desserts are amazing. I mentioned on arrival to the waitress, I think her name was Maddie, on how cold it was outside and she immediately took us to a table in front of the fire, she was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank InspireAndExplore
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your meal with us, and that it was one of the best meals you have ever had is also very nice to read. I will also ensure that you kind comments about Maddie are passed onto... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We were walking the sandstone trail over 2 days and so booked in at the pheasant inn because of its location and great reputation for food. E were not disappointed with the food which was exceptional and well priced. Unfortunately the room we stayed in was overpriced and disappointing considering the inn's 5 star rating. We would most certainly eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank welliphant
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay and meal with us. It was pleasing to read your review and to see that you enjoyed your meal with us. I am sorry that you felt that the accommodation was overpriced, however we do operate a flexible rate policy, similar to most other hotels, and the rate fluctuates depending on... More 

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We went here today with family after a trip out, A little stop for some food, Some were just peckish and other's were in need of feeding (these being the children ). The pub was so lovely and the views were outstanding. We sat outside at the front of the pub and didn't spend to much talking to each other... More 

Helpful?
Thank michele h
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Michelle, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to read your review, and see how much you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and that you all found the food from our wide and varied menu to have met your liking, and that everyone enjoyed it.... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Passed this pub so many times and finally got to go for lunch with my husband recently. Lovely setting, scenery etc. Staff took a while to take our order so I went to the bar thinking maybe we were meant to order there and was politely told after some confusion someone would come to our table. We both had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 11Alicat
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, and I will certainly ensure that your comments regarding the BLT sandwich are passed to the kitchen team, as we do get a lot of positive feedback about this dish. I do however hope we can... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My wife and i met up with our two friends for lunch and what a great place,the staff are friendly and welcoming as is the pub with fantastic views thrown in.The food was extremly good and we were all equally impressed. A must to visit.

Helpful?
Thank dennis w
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Dennis, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent lunch with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the staff, food and views all met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once again many thanks for your kind review. Kind... More 

UK. North West
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The Pheasant Inn was highly recommended to us and we were impressed! It is more of a restaurant than a pub. Immaculately laid out and spotless, so too are the staff who are friendly and welcoming. The outdoor seating area overlooks the Cheshire Plains and you can see for miles, worth calling in just to drink in the view! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank RenaultCamper
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. We do indeed have some amazing views, which as you have mentioned are worth the journey alone. I am sorry that on this occasion your meal did not meet your expectations, however it was pleasing to see that your dining companions all enjoyed their meals,... More 

cheshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

It was a bit late for lunch and a bit early for dinner but it was a lovely sunny Sunday and we were at The Pheasant so we thought we'd stay for a meal. As it turned out we had to wait a bit which was fine with us. The service was good and the food lovely. The place was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly C
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Holly, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the team managed to find a table for you, and as you have mentioned we do advise guests to pre-book as table demand is very high. I do hope... More 

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
15.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
15.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,461 reviews
15.1 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
15.1 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#19 of 45 in Chester
1,868 reviews
11.6 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €121 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Narrow country lanes caution needed when driving”
 of 5 bubbles EddieHowarth, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms outside are excellent if travelling with your dog. Have both ground and first floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles PamMM226, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the Carden Room”
 of 5 bubbles skiingbuffy78, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay downstairs if you like a quiet nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Orbine, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The standard double room we had was quite a small room so it might be worth upgrading if they have availability.”
 of 5 bubbles Pete118, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay