We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

579 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 578: English reviews
Start your review of The Pheasant Inn
 Click to rate
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited today for Mothering Sunday (26th March 2017) arrived in time and taken to our table promptly Our table was situated by the door to outside garden area which is disruptive and quite frankly a pain in the neck with the traffic of people in and out on a nice day! Whilst at the table we waited for 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went to the Pheasant yesterday on a bright and sunny Saturday afternoon. It was midday and the place was absolutely rammed! It seems like the place is a victim of its own success as there were no tables available unless you had a booking, so we sat outside in the very pleasant beer garden area. There was a 15min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbbie007
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for my wives birthday as a stopover travelling up the country back home. What a fantastic place. Stayed in the Beeston room, very clean and the interior design was gorgeous especially the bathroom. Eating in the bar was no problem with the dog and the staff where really friendly. Will be coming back again to do a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank huskyboy2012
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us to help celebrate your wife's birthday. It was really pleasing to read your review and too see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was pleasing to see that you enjoyed the Beeston room, which has recently been redesigned, and it was good to see...

Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stumbled across this lovely place driving in the country and decided to pop in for lunch! We ordered the butchers sharing board for 2 and we're not disappointed! And then the waitress came out with a dish of honey glazed sausages which were accidently forgotten but rectified before we even noticed... it was a feast and we couldn't quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emaward
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent lunch with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was good to see that your enjoyed your chance encounter with us, and how the food met your expectations and that you enjoyed it all. Now that you know where we are, then I do hope we can see you again when you...

Vologda, Russia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely cosy pub with beautiful views around. A bit hard to find but location is very nice. Quite busy and crowded. There are places outside and inside the pub. Traditional pie was fantastic!Truly recommend! .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Victoria, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent visit to The Pheasant Inn. It was lovely to read your review and too see how much you enjoyed your time with us, as you have mentioned we are in a very rural location, however once you are here then the views alone are worth the journey. I do hope...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our second visit to the pheasant and just as good- food excellent , staff very friendly and helpful. Only complaint we have is this time we stayed over. We were given the Beeston room, newly refurbished and although only small and basic it was a pleasant room. However when shown to our room I noticed it was very cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesspete3456
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see how most things met your expectations. I am sorry for the issue that you had regarding the heating and TV in your bedroom. We have, as you have mentioned had 50% of our bedrooms refurbished...

Huxley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let's start with the good points, lovely pub in a fantastic setting, with very helpful and polite staff, so no problem on that side. Both my wife and I decided on the Scampi with "Chunky Chips" which at £14.95 we thought to be a bit expensive but it was what we fancied. When the food arrived, I counted 8 pieces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Dave, many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. I was disappointed to read your review, and to see that certain aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations. I am sorry that you felt that your chosen dishes did not offer value for money, because as a business we do regularly price check our offering...

wrexham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we checked in we was allocated the Delemere room which looked rather tired it had scuff marks on the walls mould on the bottom row of tiles in the shower and cracked floor tiles in the shower room also it looked like the wash hand basin was also cracked. We had pre booked a table in the restaurant for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathan w
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Jonathan, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. I was slightly disappointed to read your review, as your experience is certainly not the norm and I would like to say sorry for this. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme, which has seen 6 rooms completed and the remaining 6 will be done during the remainder...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On the advice of the friends we were with we booked a table for 4 people at 2.00 for lunch. Our walk from Beeston was much quicker than anticipated so arrived at 12.50. We explained this and asked if it was possible for an earlier table and we were told this would be ok. We had some drinks at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us, and that it met your expectations. I will certainly ensure that your comments regarding the iron skillet that we served the steak on are relayed to the kitchen team, so that they...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived bang on time for our booked table for 5 which had only been set for 4. Soon sorted. Nice service and attentive staff for regular drinks. Variety of choice on the menu is brilliant with much to appeal for everyone from guinea fowl to pub grub. Everyone enjoyed their food / try the air dried ham with figs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peche05
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see how much you enjoyed your time with us. As you have mentioned we do have a wide and varied menu that really does have something for everyone, and I do hope we can welcome you...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
15.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,983 reviews
15.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
613 reviews
15.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,556 reviews
14.7 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €129 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay in a room only had lunch. Don't visit on a Sunday”
 of 5 bubbles 207rosiea, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms in the annexe were very nice large and comfortable,ideal for dog owners as the appear to be the biggest rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hawksmore, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance,the hotel is very popular”
 of 5 bubbles 15nevilles, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As for room with a view when booking”
 of 5 bubbles littlechops2016, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Detached bedroom block for views.”
 of 5 bubbles RobbieBStockport, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5