We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hallmark Inn Chester

Hotels.comUS$63
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$63*
US$69*
US$127*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 920: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night the hotel has seen better days. Rooms very tired with grey net curtains, lights not working, showers failing apart. The staff were lovely. We asked to move rooms because we were next to a hen party and this was no problem for them. Breakfast was very tasty, with all the usual food. Hotel well situated with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BellaPeterborough
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear BellaPeterborough Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we were glad we were able to move your room so that it was quieter - Chester is a busy city especially at the weekends and we do get lots of group bookings so were pleased you were accommodated by the reception team. We hope you will...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Booked this place just for one night as going to Chaz and Dave concert around the corner at the Live Rooms on Friday 22 April. We were allocated room 203 which I can honestly say ranks one of the poorest rooms we've ever had. Wallpaper falling off the wall as well as curtains ready to fall off the pole. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m0untaindwellers
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Took my husband for his birthday Stayed in room 10 terrible and outdated.Breakfast not enough tables and had to wait a while to request tea and coffee.Stayed in a few best western hotels and have been happy. This hotel was dissapointing a lot nicer hotels in area a similar price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hels440
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Hels440 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and on behalf of the whole team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations, your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests...

wales
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived late unpacked went out didn't take much notice except to see the shower head about 7ft up in the air stuck to the wall my pet hate with a shower when you can't adjust it .came back got ready for bed brushed my teeth finished when I noticed a blk slimy thing hanging off the tap see photos when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank honeybee41
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Honeybee41 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the hotel and I can only apologise we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope that you will visit us again so we can provide you with a superior experience and the housekeeping team are using your information to re access their...

Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived here for a stay over the weekend with my girlfriend. Entered the hotel and was greeted instantly by the lad on reception and was given clear instructions how to get to our First room. ( room 112). The corridors are quite dark.. But doesn't affect your stay in any way. When we first entered the room the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte P Thank you for your review and I will pass your comments on the the team including housekeeping who I will also get to investigate the smell, we have not had other complaints about this so can only apologise. I am sorry that you were woken and have spoke to my receptionist who confirmed it was incredibly windy...

Reviewed 14 April 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights to for the Grand National. Obviously they had inflated their prices because £104 per night was very expensive. After reading the reviews I was very worried about what we were going to walk into. However it wasn't quite as bad as I expected, although it wasn't great. The hotel itself is in desperate need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliwoo03
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Aliwoo03 Thank you for your comments following your recent stay and we are sorry we didn't meet your requirements, we are shortly implementing a large refurbishment programme to modernize as part of Hallmark Hotels and hopefully you will return to see this when we have completed. Kind Regards

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Mixed reviews on booking.com but we always try to give benefit of the doubt. Wish I'd of looked on trip advisor first! We booked the Kings room. paid for 2 nights checked in on Monday around 6:30pm. Paid and got our key! Room 105. First floor. Well... Firstly the corridor was so narrow and smelt of damp. Was optimistic till...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacie O
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Stacie O Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Guest satisfaction is of paramount important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements immediately, I have personally inspected the room today and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Having tried to book a single room , only a double was available. For a double it was definitely very small and would have been a bit crowded with 2 occupants. However it had some very positive points. It had a very unusual internal balcony and a magnificent window. I suspect this was a protected structure. Breakfast was very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IFM_11
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear IFM_11 Thank you for taking the time to respond and review following your stay we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the WI FI is currently being upgraded to a superfast connection so hopefully this will be completed next time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed in room 307 this weekend. Absolutely freezing in there. The situation of no heating in some of the rooms is incredible in this day & age. Must be quite stressful for the staff to send you off to your room knowing full well you will be back soon to say it is freezing. The solution? Put a noisy electric...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
General M, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thorough review of your recent stay. We take all of our reviews very seriously and have thoroughly investigated everything following your comments. I have instructed our maintenance team to order and replace the radiator in the room so hopefully that should stop any other issues with the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Room was dirty, the windows had deep mold all around, electricity plugs unsafe, lead brackets falling off walls could not close window as the handle was broken, unable to sleep because of the cold and noise from the pubs.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dontgothere106
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I have immediately had my maintenance manager check the room...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
665 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,595 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €55 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Leyland, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 227 and this was a good room”
m10lps, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Yes,Stay across the rd.”
trydan, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on 2nd floor, very quiet”
Goanites, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check ALL other opportunities First”
N6270UJpeters, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 101 was quiet”
crystalle2017, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
HallmarkUS$69
Expedia.comUS$63
TripAdvisorUS$63
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates