We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hallmark Inn Chester

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hallmark Inn Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 838: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a double room which we found was 2 single beds pushed together 1 higher than the other by a good inch. The room was very cold on arrival at 3.pm as the radiators were on a time switch we asked for a fan heater to warm it up. Later that night we discovered the room was cold as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillipslesley13
Management response:

Good Afternoon Phillipslesley13, All of our king beds are zip and link beds, unfortunately no one has reported that one bed sits higher than the other, this is currently being resolved by maintenance. In regards to the hole in to the window, this was never brought to our attention until you departed. We have currently placed this room out of...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We got a very good deal with 2 rooms for 2 nights. Paid extra for breakfast which was very good, a bit short of bacon but otherwise, needs some work on the tea and coffee. Bar area very dark and cold and uninviting. Bedrooms very acceptable plenty of hot water and all areas extremely clean. room 103 needs bedside lights....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank izzyw6
Management response:

Good Afternoon izzyw6, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have made a note to pass on to the food and beverage assistants in regards to the tea and coffee service, and relaying to the chef about running low on breakfast items. I have also addressed the bedside light issue with maintenance...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is nice inside but in our room skirting boards a bit chipped, chip in bath bit dated but Ok. Room was clean :) There is no parking at the hotel even though I thought I'd read there was. We paid £10 to park at pub next door for 24 hours. But there was also street parking available free for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyhannah92
Management response:

Good Afternoon happyhannah92, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have made a note to maintenance regarding the chipped skirting boards and chip in the bath. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On all the booking websites the hotel photograph was correct but they all say FREE PARKING and this hotel doesn't even have a car park!!!! So had to pay parking at the pub next door. Also we paid extra for a kingsize room and got a twin room. Changed rooms and went straight out for a meal came back and...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sylvia R
Management response:

Good Afternoon Sylvia R, I have checked on our booking websites and they don't state that we have free parking, I am sorry if you misunderstood. We have never offered free parking. In regards to the heating, we have recently had our boilers and radiators serviced but are still currently ammending any problems to heating. Kind Regards

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i often stay at Hyatt and Marriott properties in larger cities, and i can say without hesitation that the room that i stayed in at this hotel was at least as clean, if not more so, than any i have stayed in at these two chains. the bed was as small as it could be, whilst remaining big enough, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bubbleandsqueak2015
Management response:

Good Afternoon bubbleandsqueak2015, Thank you very much for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks

Jakarta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel with prominent location with only 1 minute walk from Chester train station, even though old building but seems well maintained, good service from frontline staffs, room also is maintained well

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adisubrata L
Management response:

Good Afternoon Adisubrata L, Thank you for your positive review, I will pass these positive comments to the members of staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, it's 12:45 AM and they are blasting music in the ballroom below us. If someone was playing music this loud in the room, the hotel would kick them out. But it's the hotel playing the music, so there's nothing that we can do! Pros: Running water Some of the lights are functional Cons: The floors are extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael H
Management response:

Good Morning Michael H, Thank you for your review, unfortunately the music playing was for a New Years Eve party for all guests, this also ended no later than 01:00 am. Unfortunately it is an old building with wooden floorboards that are prone to creaking, the shower head has been reported to maintenance. We are currently assessing the heating situation...

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of 5 mature male adults attending a Chester horse race meeting. Booked 6 months in advance (5 x single rooms). Of course a single room will not be as spacious as a twin or double but these rooms were barely big enough to be a broom cupboard & in desperate need of refurbishment. Having seen 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jellitotjohn
Management response:

Dear Jellitotjohn Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always strive to exceed our customer expectations throught out the duration of a stay, on this occasion we have failed, and for this please accept my apologises. The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme this year, so feedback like you have provided is very important to...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with friends on a groupon deal. Staff were friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is old it has been well maintained and has an old world charm. Room was comfortable and all of the facilities were fine. No draft beer and the bar was small but the seating area was spacious. Breakfast was excellent, you can help yourself...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dave P
Management response:

Dear Dave P Thank you for your review We are always grateful for any reviews and are extremely please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel will be going through a refurbishment this year, although we will be keeping in line with the feel of the building. We look forward very much to welcoming you back at...

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Check in was fast, friendly staff. Room 218 was really nice, I had paid for a single room for £59 but the bed was bigger than a double...great! The room was clean and looked well maintained. Didn't stay for breakfast as I had a train to catch. All in all it was really a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ajedmb
Management response:

Dear Ajedmb Thank you for your review We are always very grateful for any reviews and are extremely please to have met your expectations on your visit to Chester We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the future Kind Regards

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
562 reviews
1.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,893 reviews
0.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 45 in Chester
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: €54 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
24 days ago
1 month ago
PONTYCLUN
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jellitotjohn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles SnakeLondon, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles dmbakker, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go !!”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewS239, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure your not in a room or on a floor with squeaking floors”
 of 5 bubbles vitara07, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay