We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oddfellows Chester

Save
Share
20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (818)
Room & Suite (139)
Dining (89)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Oddfellows Chester
Updated 02/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 48 hotels in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with Cultivated by Elliot Hill - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape...
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
BBQ facilities
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
1661Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,020
  • 369
  • 142
  • 73
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heather1289 wrote a review Dec 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed a night here in a gorgeous duplex suite, which had an amazing bathtub and huge double bed. Check in was really quick and easy and staff were friendly. We didn’t eat at the hotel but the outdoor area looked lovely. Location is great, and you can get a voucher when you check out which brings the local car park down from 20 pounds to £9.80. We will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ali C wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Visited last night with two friends and can honestly say it’s the worst meal I have ever had. We all chose the turkey dinner at £16 each and I couldn’t believe it when it arrived..... half a carrot and half a parsnip a teaspoon of cabbage, 3 roast potatoes, 3 slices of turkey and two little pigs in blankets and a splash of gravy. Had to ask for cranberry sauce even though it was advertised as on the meal. I admit I have been spoilt by the recent amazing turkey roast at Duttons which was the best I’ve ever tasted but honestly this was laughable. Later on I ordered a coffee which was plonked infront of me, half a cup, no milk or sugar until I had to ask. I’ve eaten here a few times in the past and it’s been okay but would never waste my hard earned cash here again. Really disappointing and although a beautiful venue it’s looking a bit tired
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Conor D wrote a review Dec 2020
6 contributions4 helpful votes
Went for a couple of drinks and some nibbles last night with friends. We ordered tapas style mix at £13 a head for the 6 of us that were there . Literally whoever was in that kitchen opened packets of tesco party food it was horrendous . Gave us all a good laugh . And to add insult the second bottle of presseco was the cheapest bottle of crap again a tesco special . Very disappointing WONT be returning felt like i'd had my wallet swiped ...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Beth wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location! However that is where it stops! We stayed for two nights to celebrate a birthday only to have it ruined by some rude and arrogant gentleman called Rick (the night manager) there’s a obvious reason he works nights! He is certainly not a people person and severely lacks any sense of customer service! I wrote in to the hotel last week to express my concerns to be told I’d get a response within 24 hours... 6 days later still nothing I can only assume my email was deleted as they didn’t like what I had to say! Take your money else where!!! It’s definitely not appreciated here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Bentley, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 8 Dec 2020
Dear Letsgetaway1510, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns. And thank you for the lovely comments you have made about our hotel! We are in the process of fully investigating your complaint and will come back to you. The hotel has been closed over lockdown with the team furloughed - due to this we have a backlog of correspondence. This is not a normal response time for us and we are grateful for your patience over what has been a very tricky year for hospitality businesses With very best wishes, The team at Oddfellows
Read more
Sarah M wrote a review Oct 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
Really fabulous night away for my husband's birthday. Told them it was for a birthday and was blown away by the special finishing touches in the room. Bathroom spectacular with the roll top bath for a really relaxing time away. We had excellent nibbles and wine in The Secret Garden too. Couldn't recommend enough to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Bentley, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 8 Dec 2020
Dear PurpleMcKinners, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the extra touches and the roll top bath! We hope you will join us again soon, With best wishes The team at Oddfellows
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oddfellows hotel chester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oddfellows Chester
Which popular attractions are close to Oddfellows Chester?
Nearby attractions include Breakout Chester (0.1 km), Chester Cathedral (0.4 km), and Cheshire Military Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oddfellows Chester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Oddfellows Chester?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Oddfellows Chester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Oddfellows Chester?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oddfellows Chester?
Conveniently located restaurants include NiceBites, Chef's Table, and Hanky Panky.
Is Oddfellows Chester located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Chester.
Does Oddfellows Chester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Oddfellows Chester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (0.4 km), Chester City Walls (0.8 km), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (0.3 km).
Is Oddfellows Chester accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.