We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

834 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 820: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We've stayed at many HdVs and the Cambridge one was up to the usual standard, room-wise. Staff on reception also excellent and v efficient valet parking. But ... we stayed on the Al Fresco deal, so DB&B. We ordered a sparkling wine as an aperitif; 2 glasses of still white wine arrived which we said weren't ours. 10 mins later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leppard
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

I reserved a hotel room plus a 3 course meal and champagne on the Friday Tonic promotion for my partners 30th birthday and it was a very, very pleasant experience. The room was lovely, with large bath and a very powerful shower. Very impressed. The room was air conditioned and was on the whole a comfortable stay. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmygeorge7
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Decent location and very good service. Rooms were OK. Good beds, bathrooms and products. The room was clean. Walls and doors however not sound proof - quite much noise from other guests. Breakfast was not impressive. The restaurant was not very good either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetdoktorn
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We have stayed at other Hotel du Vins and so were confident the hotel would be luxurious and the service excellent. However, the Hotel is looking a little retired. Our room was extremely disappointing, having paid for a superior room, we are not sure what classes it as such?! Bathroom was small and in need of an update. Advertised as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Sarah C, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. First of all I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the damp carpet you had in the room. I am personally investigating why a room was let out in this condition. I hope the reduction in your room was appropriate for the discomfort caused....

Surbiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Fabulous location within walking distance of museums and main attractions. Smart hotel with approachable staff - attentive not intrusive. Stylish rooms with modern conveniences, in quirky, heritage building. Great wine choice and food in the bistro. Ease of valet parking, but watch the gutter outside the hotel if you arrive in the dark! Lovely to be welcomed with a surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IDMmagpie
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear IDMmagpie, Thank you for choosing the Hotel du vin Cambridge. It is true that we enjoy being located near to the major Cambridge landmarks. Thank you commenting on our quirky building. We enjoy this fine Georgian property every day. I have informed all the hotel managers regarding the kind feedback you provided regarding our staff. This will be passed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The receptionist had a very poor command of English, so we felt that our complaint about our mishandled restaurant booking was not really understood. One of the lights in the bathroom was not working, and the fridge was not working (although this was fairly quickly rectified). As this is a 4-star hotel we expected better. Breakfast no longer included in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fellwalker2011
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

I don't have much choice but to stay in Cambridge and in fairness all the hotels are expensive because in my view there's a shortage versus need. On that basis this is a lovely old hotel, quirky and creaky but beautiful rooms, beds, bathrooms, food (book it gets full for dinner). Bathroom and toiletries were luxurious and it's in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pmc1257
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Pmc1257, Thanks for the review. I'm very happy you enjoyed our unique building. Thank you for saying you will be here again. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, William Tofts Reception manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I booked this hotel in order to be very close to Peterhouse College. I was delighted with the very unusual, comfortable room with excellent bathroom and shower. Not cheap. Rooms have names instead of numbers, which was very quaint. Excellent library. Very comfortable bar with great selection and service, in the basement therefore cool in the summer. Restaurant served excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PickyTraveler710
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear PickyTraveler710, Thank you for reviewing us. I was delighted to hear you experienced good service in our bar. It's the perfect place to unwind after a busy day. Thank you for the comments regarding our bistro. I'm sorry if you feel the tone of the host was not in keeping with the service standards. I have passed this on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We booked Hotel du Vin for our 2-day business meeting, on the strength of the brand, and experience of other hotels in the chain. I think it is safe to say that unless something major changes, none of us will go back to this hotel. Notwithstanding the efforts of well-meaning individual staff, this was a poor experience. Our 'meeting room'...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank T1957
Kent
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed 1 night for a work conference. Reception staff extremely helpful and will do all they can to help and assist, if needed. Rooms nice and beds extremely comfy. The evening meal was good but not great. Breakfast and lunchtime buffet, excellent. Special thanks goes to the reception girl whom checked us all in and gave the info we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisc17
Robert D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Louisc17, Thank you for such a lovely review. I really appreciate you passing on that my reception team were helpful. I will use this as an example of a satisfied guest. I look forward to welcoming back to the hotel sometime. kind regards, William Tofts Reception manager

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,145 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,577 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
388 reviews
0.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: €182 - €339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Cambridge
over a year ago
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room without steps if you would find them difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles LizPin, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are very quiet”
  • Fantastic roll top bath!
  • View from room facing rear of property
 of 5 bubbles harrigriff, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had Afternoon Tea, did not stay overnight - but everything else was great, quirky, old-world, modern twist, characterful!”
 of 5 bubbles impingtonian, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would not like to comment”
 of 5 bubbles Deb385, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wolfe Blass (although it does look over the rear of the property and straight onto a science lab!)”
 of 5 bubbles 327martinc, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5