We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 784: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel du Vin in Cambridge during an offsite meeting for our team. We had the use of two beautiful rooms, a library which was perfect for breaks and a dining room which we used for the meetings. The team were very helpful with anything we needed and the tea, snacks and lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband took me to this hotel as a surprise birthday treat. The reception was warm and helpful. I didn't realise that my husband invited friends and family for a surprise dinner and we had use of a private room. The food was very good and our guests enjoyed their chosen meal. I would like to give special mention to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dchphil
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear dchphil, Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback following your time at Hotel Du Vin Cambridge, the team and I really appreciate it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your surprise birthday dinner with us, thankfully the staff managed to keep the surprise secret on check in!! Great to hear that you enjoyed the...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here one night, have stayed many times in last few years. However the breakfast this year was v v poor. There are lots of nuts in the preprepared yogurt type pots and the staff don't all know what does and does not contain nuts. I was told one pot didn't contain nuts but when I double checked, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katarina J
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Katarina J, Thank you for leaving us your review, please accept my apologies for the breakfast service that you received. We have recently updated our breakfast offering for guests to ensure that we remain ahead of our competition with all of our food offerings. As we all of our feedback it has been discussed at our operational meetings and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

You would imagine they'd turn on the heating before you arrive,,,especially at this time of year!! Our pokey little room for a mere £341 was like a fridge. We kept our coats on, turned up the thermostat and headed for some mulled wine in a pub nearby to get warm. On our return 2 hours later there was still no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy78910
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Andy78910, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and I am sorry that you felt the room did not meet your expectations. When you reported the heating issue to us, our team immediately adjusted the settings for your room and provided the room with additional heater. The team continued to monitor your room for the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shockingly bad experience here. Picked this restaurant for my birthday and I was treated with no respect whatsoever by the male member of staff seemingly in charge of the dining. When we got there I asked to sit in a booth due to having a spine condition and they turned their nose up at my request and wanted to seat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Natasha S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. As you contacted us directly through our website, we have responded to you via that channel. We look forward to hear from you, Best Regards Paul.

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. Exceptionally friendly staff. Fabulous food. A cut above the normal hotel chains. Room very comfortable and great bed. Heating could have been more efficient (the only complaint if you could call it that). Special mention to the guy who valet parked my car - he didn't adjust the seat or anything (something that really irritates because it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hentonnick
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Hentonnick, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, the team and I really appreciate it. it was a pleasure to hear how much you had enjoyed your time with us and great in particular to hear your comments about our food and staff. See you again soon, Paul.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night midweek for business. Very nice room with a bit of character as the bath was in the bedroom. The breakfast came exactly when requested and the staff were very friendly and polite. I left my charger in the room and they kindly posted it back to me with no extra fee! This is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rach1987290887
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Rach1987290887, Thank you for your review and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Great to hear that you liked the character of our hotel, but in particular it is always nice to hear such amazing comments about the team and their service. I am glad that you got your charger back safely as...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been here twice in the last 12 months. The first visit was midweek with my girlfriend. The food was of a reasonable standard, although the service was extremely slow and we found the staff to be quite rude and abrupt. We returned to the hotel de vin a few weeks ago for my dad's birthday where he had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apache201
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Apache201, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet our own usual high standards. As with any of our functions, we have been in contact with your father since the event to understand how the event went and how as a team we...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here’s a question for you. To produce a decent cup of English tea do you have to ‘cook’ it? I mean you must boil and add water, stick it in a pot with leaves or tea bag, waiting for it to gestate properly before pouring it, adding milk, and it is ready for consumption. No matter how you answer this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunnyForecast
William T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear SunnyForecast, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, we do appreciate it. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, however I do appreciate that the porridge issue was not ideal for either of us. Please be assured that I have instructed against this porridge premium as I agree that it is...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was amazing. The staff were extremely helpful with everything we needed before and on the day. Everyone was very friendly. The hotel was very clean and tidy. We had drinks outside which was just beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clmolijo
William T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear clmolijo, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your amazing review, the team and I really appreciate it. I am glad that the team were able to add to your already fantastic day, please be assured that I have already passed your comments on to the team. Paul.

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,061 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,514 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
382 reviews
0.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#7 of 35 in Cambridge
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: €179 - €352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge
over a year ago
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get a room on the top, we had 'Planeta' - Ask them to make sure your room is warm before you arrive!”
 of 5 bubbles Andy78910, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Keep away from the noisy rear of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles giglens, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm sure this hotel must have better rooms but, take your own loo rolls and bathrobes just in case”
 of 5 bubbles DamianandJodi, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front of hotel room view particularly good”
 of 5 bubbles 411kimr, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have slightly better views but face the road.”
 of 5 bubbles 675michaelt, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay