We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lynwood House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lynwood House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lynwood House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Lynwood house is a great place to stay. Nothing special from the outside but inside its great. The owners are quite shy but pleasant and escort you to your rooms. We were in the family suite which is perfect size for four people. Comfy beds, lots of sockets, decent tv. Tea and coffee facilities with cookies and sweets. A nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben P
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you were comfortable in room 7 and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge. Kind regards Julie More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Perhaps a Certificate of Excellence has its drawbacks. In this case we were disappointed. Because we altered our reservation the landlords changed the confirmed room nr. 3 to nr. 4 without notice. Room 4 was cramped and the website photos are too flattering. The owners forgot that guests do bring luggage! My partner and I were continually in each others... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ZAS125
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We always appreciate feedback as it allows us to see where we can improve. We’re sorry we didn’t mention the change of rooms when you altered your booking. It is certainly not our intension for our website... More 

Norwich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break away in Cambridge, staying at Lynwood House. Did a bit of research before booking, which paid off, as the Lynwood ticked all the boxes. We stayed in room 4 which is at the back of the property and is a twin room, it was very tastefully decorated with a lovely shower room ensuite,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 999Norwich
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

We're glad you managed to enjoy your visit to Cambridge even with your sprained ankle. (which we hope is now better). Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for recommending us to others. Best wishes, Julie and Nick Owners More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in Lynwood House for a small break in Cambridge. It was a great discovery because of it's location, cleanliness and welcoming service. We couldn't really have asked for more from a bed and breakfast. It was within easy walking distance from the town which allowed us to see all the sites in Cambridge during the day, then return... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjf8723
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge. Regards, Julie Owner More 

Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were very impressed with Lynwood House. Our room (No 3) was spacious and stylish, with a luxurious ensuite - excellent shower, very nice toiletries, and very fluffy towels. Breakfast was wonderful - a wide range of different things to choose from. We found it very convenient for the centre of Cambridge - about a 10 minute walk, via Jesus... More 

Helpful?
Thank speedrabbit
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Nick and Julie Owners More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at Lynwood House having chosen to visit Cambridge for the 1st time as part of a 2week "holiday at home" (being unable to go away on holiday because of caring for elderly parents). The location is ideal as it`s only a couple of minutes walk to Jesus Green which then takes you on a pleasant 10-15... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabellacottonsocks
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Nick and I are glad to hear you enjoyed your well earned break with us. You made the most of the sights of Cambridge. We will also pass your comments on to our invaluable cleaner Marcellena. Many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back. Nick and Julie More 

Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation, the great breakfasts and the homely service offered by Julie & Nick. Just 300 yards or so from the River Cam and only half a mile or so from the city centre, it's a fabulous position from which to explore Cambridge and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon R
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience, we're glad to hear you enjoyed our hearty breakfast. We hope to see you again if you return to Cambridge. Best wishes, Julie Owner More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lynwood House is perfectly located for seeing Cambridge on foot. Very pretty house and bedrooms and friendly welcome. Stayed with disabled sister-in-law and she was able to get around happily from this base.

Helpful?
Thank HungryHorse007
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for they kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nick and Julie Owners More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here on a weekend away with friends. Could not have been a better location for going around Cambridge on foot. Walked everywhere!Limited parking at the front but we secured a space.Had a fantastic weekend visiting the sights of Cambridge and the shops and market with lots of places to eat out in the evening nearby. My room was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan C
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on Lynwood house. Nick and I are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Julie More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a great B&B large room, great en suite, nice toiletries and welcome tray with drinks biscuits, and a little jar of sweets a lovely touch. The breakfasts are delicious with lots of choice, and Nick and Julie were lovely. The B&B is 10 minutes on foot from the centre of Cambridge, so this is a great base for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nolongerreviewing
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. It was lovely to meet you and very interesting hearing about about your travels. We hope to see you again if you return to Cambridge. Best wishes, Julie More 

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.5 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.6 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
380 reviews
1.0 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,510 reviews
1.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.1 km away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 35 in Cambridge
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lynwood house is a beautifully renovated Victorian House situated just north of the river Cam, a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Our seven spacious rooms have been lovingly refurbished. Luxurious bathrooms with power showers and underfloor heating. Our award winning breakfast is a real treat, with a selection of cereals, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts just to get you ready for our traditional full English with homemade oat crusted potato cake, or choose an omelette with a wide choice of fillings, or haddock and poached eggs or scrambled eggs, our organic breads are baked within 1 mile and delivered straight from the oven to our door. We also have Lynwood house honey from our own bees at the bottom of our garden. We provide modern facilities, free view televisions, media stations, wireless internet access. Hospitality trays with nespresso machine and free parking. No credit card surcharge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lynwood House

Address: 217 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: €109 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your Lynwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lynwood House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lynwood House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room no 7 is on level 2, up two flights; queen plus two single beds - I was alone on Business but this is PERFECT for a young family.”
 of 5 bubbles HannahHughes, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rear rooms are quiet, less traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineR130, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The room I was sleeping in was really quiet”
 of 5 bubbles gloryn420, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The room I had was number 4 on the first floor, it looked out onto the garden and was extremely well appointed. No 7 is huge and can sleep 5”
 of 5 bubbles Jess-Harpenden, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I had room number 3, which had 2 single beds. It was lovely and had a spacious bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Tripledip9, 30 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay