We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Cambridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Slept at YHA Cambridge for 4 nights. Rooms are clean and tidy, friendly staff, nice English breakfast. Good value for money, perfect location. Only one minus -snoring roommates, but it can be easily sorted with earplugs. Definitely will come back in the future.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank giedriuspadas
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I always choose to stay at YHA everytime I visit Cambridge. The rooms are very clean (more than my house!), the staff is always friendly, and the location 5 mins from the train station. I absolutely recommend this place to anyone who needs a place to spend the night! ( I have only stayed in dorms)

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank myrtoc23
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Myrtoc23, Thank you for the perfect score! I'm so happy to hear you found our facilities in great condition and our staff to be friendly. We strive to provide the best experiences for our guests and I'm glad we gave this to you. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Kind Regards Holly Swallowe Deputy...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the YHA Cambridge for 1 night with my parents. The service was good and the room was very clean. We even had an own bathroom. We enjoyed the stay, also the location is good, just a 15 minutes walk into the city center. The breakfast was not the best, but that was only my personal view, my...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrin20162017
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Kathrin, Thank you for the excellent review! Our staff strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests and work hard to keep the hostel in tip top condition! I am pleased you enjoyed our facilities and found them to be of a high standard. I'm glad your parents enjoyed our breakfast, we take all feedback seriously and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This hostel is close to the station (about a 5 minute walk), and about a 15 minute walk from the historical town centre. The staff were amazing, Alana especially, who advised me what was happening, what to see, and how to get there, as well as helping with everything else I needed. A hot breakfast is available for 5.75 each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for the 5 star review! I am pleased to hear about our great staff. We strive to offer the best possible experience to our guests and I will pass on your excellent feedback to Alana. She is a gem of a staff member. Im glad you found our facilities to be comfortable and clean. We hope...

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Convenient location, great value, superb facilities and lovely staff. Having been to a few hostels both in the UK and abroad I could not have asked for more and I would happily recommend this hostel to anyone who asked.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ampennick
YHA_Cambridge, Reception at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for the great review! We hope you had a wonderful time in Cambridge and we'd love to welcome you again in future. Kind regards, Adriana - Reception

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Attractive building with good facilities including free cycle storage. It had a really cosmopolitan feel (as does Cambridge!) and the ground floor café/ breakfast area was an attractive place I could meet my sons who were staying locally. I was unlucky in rooming with a guy whose astonishingly loud all-night snoring I just couldn't cope with. My trusty silicon ear...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy77white
YHA_Cambridge, Reception at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It's great that you liked the building and enjoyed the facilities - we had a full refurbishment just a few years ago and we do our best to provide our guests with world class accommodation and modern facilities. I regret to hear that we did not manage to...

Skomer Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Fantastic hostel except room was REALLY damp and everything smelt damp and felt cold/damp. This was shame as rest of hostel is awesome, good breakfast, nice staff, clean rooms, well organised, etc. but room 204 needs sorting out/ closing. In reflection I should have asked to move but it was late, but now I really wish I had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Skomer
YHA_Cambridge, Reception at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello Chris, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are pleased to hear you liked the hostel, found it to be clean and well organized and had a chance to try our delicious breakfast. Thank you for raising the issue you had with your room with us. I would like to apologize for the experience you had! We...

UK
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The first time I visited YHA Cambridge, it was in a sorry state. In desperate need of some TLC. The showers didnt work, at best they smelled, the old kitchen was falling to bits, the dorm rooms were cold...it was depressing, and at the time, I vowed Id never stay again, and as a life member, I let YHA HQ...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne M
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Thank you for your great review! I really enjoyed reading it I am so pleased that you love our refurbished look. Unfortunately we are not able to have an extension to our premises at this time and our 122 beds do get booked very quickly so we always recommend booking as far in advance as possible to guarantee...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Very good service, friendly & helpful staff, very nice meals. Unfortunately rooms were crowded & v noisy & sick fellow travellers. V small toilet/shower facilities & toilet broke. Ideal location for my requirements.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdtribble
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate all guest feedback. Your stay was in a 6 bed male dormitory. This is our maximum room size. It is unfortunate that you had noisy room mates, we are happy to provide ear plugs to help if you have problems sleeping. With regards to the unwell travellers, unfortunately that cannot be...

Chiddingfold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Great hostel, really helpful staff ...coffee and bar area very warm and welcoming. Closeness to bus stops rail and to centre of town very good. Staff went that extra mile to find out info for us.Second visit and this time had much smaller room but that was because it was all that was available. Like the courtyard outside where you...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeannettegwalker
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Jeannette, Thank you so much for your review! We strive to provide the best possible experience for all our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure I pass on your positive feedback to our staff. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Kind Regards Holly Deputy Hostel Manager...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.2 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,555 reviews
1.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at the newly refurbished Cambridge Youth Hostel and spend time in the heart of this lively, historic university town on a cheap city break. Just around the corner from the railway station and a 15 minute walk from the city centre, accommodation at this backpackers' hostel gives you easy access to the colleges, museums and art galleries that have helped make Cambridge famous. Hire a punt, explore the ancient streets and enjoy the city's cycle-friendly routes. YHA Cambridge makes an excellent base for exploring everything that the city is famous for. We offer dormitory accomodation as well as private rooms. As YHA is a Childrens' Charity, if families book directly with us, they get special, lower, family room rates. The brand new Scholars bar and restaurant has a relaxed, vintage feel with its distressed wooden tables and leather chairs - a perfect place to catch up with friends over drinks and nibbles. Delicious meals and bar snacks are available at this licensed hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Cambridge

Address: 97 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: €27 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Youth Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Cambridge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wont tell because I'll never be able to get a dorm bed otherwise! book well in advance!”
 of 5 bubbles J1200RWannem, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room will do there all great”
 of 5 bubbles 502hannahv, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“only free wifi down stairs and not in rooms !”
 of 5 bubbles michKent, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room if you're travelling as a family.”
 of 5 bubbles Holly043Liverpool, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The lesser people are in the room, the more comfortably you sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 21filipa, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay