We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Cambridge Hotel

Overview
Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
57
Price range
US$88 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Royal Hotel Cambridge
,
Cambridge Royal Hotel
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 34 nearby hotels
The Lensfield
441 reviews
.13 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
1,062 reviews
.15 km away
Regent Hotel
508 reviews
.46 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
187 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 761 nearby restaurants
The Oak Bistro
1,082 reviews
.41 km away
The Olive Grove
1,102 reviews
.42 km away
Vedanta Restaurant
392 reviews
.42 km away
Loch Fyne
1,443 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 334 nearby attractions
Cambridgeshire Wine School
493 reviews
.01 km away
Fitzwilliam Museum
3,085 reviews
.26 km away
Cambridge University Botanic Garden
1,383 reviews
.33 km away
Pembroke College
126 reviews
.50 km away
Reviews & more
772Reviews
303Photos
10Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 235
  • 212
  • 114
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The location is incredible, you can walk to the bus and train stations and then into town. The staff was very pleasant, it was clean, bathroom nice, old-fashioned but very nice. I would recommend it for anyone.
Read more
This hotel needs a serious make-over. Apart from that, the attitude towards disabled parking was terrible - my parents were told 2 hours in the hotel car park was allowed, but after that they had to pay.
Read more
Response from Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rivkahrex Thank you for the post and I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately as you do not list anything specific it is difficult for me to respond. Regarding car parking it is a £15 daily charge for all residential guests staying at the hotel. A blue badge is for on-street parking and the same rules do not apply to off-street private car parks. On the basis your parents were given a few hours of grace I would expect you to be saying thank you instead. Sincerely
Read more
We have stayed in many hotels, we would like to say this was one of the best, from staff to room, we would give this top marks, our room was clean and tidy, we would recommend to family and friends; easy reach to town center, our room was very warm, but we just optthe window
Read more
Response from Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs Bullen Thank you very much for the 5 star review and a terrific boost for the team. We do hope to welcome you back in 2019. Sincerely
Read more
This was a brilliantly situated hotel just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cambridge with a first come first serve carpark. The staff were excellent throughout and it had a small, welcoming bar and excellent breakfasts and very competitive priced, good quality evening meals
Read more
Response from Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Malcolm K Thank you for the review and delighted to read both out location and offer suited your needs. We do hope to welcome you back again. Sincerely
Read more
First impressions, very good, elegant old building with welcoming foyer.
Room was ok, a bit small and tired but understood that it would cost a fortune to up date. Bed comfortable, clean room. Bathroom shabby and toilet didn’t flush very well.
Breakfast was excellent. The bacon
Read more
Response from Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear EssexYvonne Thank you for the post and delighted the bacon and breakfast went down a treat. We do hope to welcome you back again. Sincerely
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Cambridge Hotel
The Twin 210 at the Royal Cambridge Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Cambridge Hotel
The Single 109 at the Royal Cambridge Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Cambridge Hotel
The Kingsize Suite 203 at the Royal Cambridge Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Cambridge Hotel
The Double 211 at the Royal Cambridge Hotel
Photo provided by managementRoyal Cambridge Hotel
front view
Previous
We are staying with you later this month, do you have disabled parking please ?
Dear Paul We do not have a dedicated bay as such. Bays are on a first come basis and dependent on hotel business. However if you email me with your stay date I will see what we can organise for you. Unfortunately this site does not allow me to leave my email address so if you contact the hotel reception they can let you have it.
0 votes
Can you tell me if you have a car park at the hotel ?
Yes there is an on site car park with 42 spaces. There is a daily charge of £15 for residents of the hotel and this is on a first come basis. On street parking is available after 6.30pm or NCP parking close by.
0 votes
Show all answers
What is the price of the Sunday luncheon without buying Groupon I know I can use a Tastecard, but do not know the usual price without cards, Thak you
Sorry but I've never heard of any of those cards/vouchers.I would never consider visiting that restaurant again.Very poorly cooked food.vastly overpriced.portions too small.service the worst I've ever experienced in this country.I could go on. Regards. Steve
0 votes
How far away is the parking, and how much would it be for Thursday from 10am- until Friday about 3/4pm
The hotel has parking on site for guests of the hotel. For a resident stay its £15 per night. If you are not staying at the hotel it would be £20
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you do almond milk at breakfast? Staying here on Monday.
Almond milk is not part of our normal offer, however we will get some for you.
1 vote
Previous
12
"Get a room at the back to ensure you get a quiet night"
"Request a room on the back as the front road is very busy."
"Rooms on the back are quieter"
"Quieter rooms at back of hotel, but nice balcony at front"
"quieter rooms at the back."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing