We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Cambridge Hotel

Agoda.comUS$118*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$164*
US$118*
Great Deal
US$149*
US$141*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 526: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Cambridge Hotel
 Click to rate
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights...it was nice and quiet so we slept well. Breakfasts here are terrific...buffet-style cooked or continental, and the room was clean and comfortable. This hotel is convenient for the city centre with all the attractions within walking distance. The staff are attentive and helpful...always willing to point me in the right direction.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 946JJ19
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Royal Cambridge Hotel which is a stones throw from all the attractions that the city of Cambridge has to offer ,museums, botanical gardens,parks,the punting, shopping etc,etc. We found it not only a great location but the staff, service and quality of the hotel in our opinion was excellent. Only regret we didn't try out the rooftop bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank malthouse623
england
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Single room was small but adequate if you are out all day. Do not like to see splashes of whatever on the walls, really scuffed paintwork and out dated/ retro furnishings in need of clean/ repair for £84 per night! TV did not work and as it was a Sunday evening I was told that there was no one to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaysforus
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went with a group of friends for a re-union for 2 nights. Because it was a largish group they had to pre-order, from a very limited menu, on the one night they were eating there. We didn't actually stay for this but were told that the meal was not very special. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate L
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate L Thank you for the post and your incite of a menu you did not choose from and food you did not consume, especially as on the night itself we got good feedback. When a city centre hotel is booked you do get the noise of a city centre unfortunately, but I do agree about the sirens. Being...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room looked like it was last furnished in 1975, unbearably hot all night despite using the desk fan provided. On the plus side, room was clean, staff friendly and location great near centre of Cambridge.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndrewJDay
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AndrewJDay Thank you for the post and good to read about the cleanliness and friendliness of the team. Sincerely

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My elderly mother and I booked a two day stay through Buy A Gift / Wowcher. I had booked a standard twin room but when booking in and getting into our room discovered a huge room with two double beds! Whoop! We had been upgraded but no one told us - I only discovered when asking and our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna L
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna L Thank you for the post and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and all the staff were very friendly. The bed was comfortable though the room was a bit small to get around. A bit old fashioned and needs upgrading to current standards even though it might meet all regulation requirements. We dined one night and it was really good food with good service. They even catered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MKCDES
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MKCDES Thank you very much for the post and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in Cambridge, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I feel sorry for the staff here - clearly the hotel has not had any investment for some time (worn carpets, broken bathroom fittings, a very slow lift, scuffed paintwork, poor shower, etc etc) . Although the new owners, St James Group say they are upgrading the hotel, I don't think they have told the staff! A reply from St...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank M1M25M3
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M1M25M3 Thank you for the post and the nice comments about the staff, noted on your other comments which I am sorry to read. Sincerely

uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here for a Sunday lunch on a Groupon voucher .The picture on the voucher showed a roast which we expected but after reading the menu the roast was an extra,£3 pp.I queried this as Groupon stated £2 and the waitress was very rude and states that this had been the case for three years . We chose the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pipuk
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pipuk I am sorry you felt the need to dive onto the keyboard given you had already sent an email to us directly on Sunday evening without giving us any time to respond, which incidentally we did on the Sunday night itself. As we said the menu online is a sample and gives you an indication of what we...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

14 of us stayed at "the royal Cambridge hotel" over the weekend for one night. The staff were very pleasant & willing to help and accommodated all our needs. We parked our cars at the hotel & walked to the beautiful town centre which was only 10 mins away. The food was excellent & the chef went out of his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kladwa
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kladwa Thank you for the excellent comments and all the team were delighted to read this, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double 211 (23)
Viewed
Kingsize Suite 203 (21)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Single 109 (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin 210 (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
403 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,685 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.1 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: €134 - €247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Chichester, United Kingdom
4 days ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
27 days ago
Hertford, United Kingdom
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front are overlooking a busy road so may be noisier than others at the back”
946JJ19, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the Trumpington Rd maybe a little noisy for some”
malthouse623, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room that is not on the road side and you can get a larger room if you ask, otherwise it is a bit cramped.”
Q456UBkatel, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“1st floor in front”
kladwa, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 307 was very comfortable and quiet”
ladygent, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$118* /night
View Deal
HOTEL.INFOUS$149
Hotels.comUS$141
ElvolineUS$164
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates