We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wellington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Stevros7
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Visited prior to friendly football match, as away supporters we were welcomed and enjoyed a superb lunch. Good Menu choice..great ambience..close to the ground Very decent stylish pub...will visit again when in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevros7
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Good value compared to usual Bristol prices. Didn't sample the food, but a good selection of real ale is a speciality. Room comfortable, clean. Great shower, much more spacious than usual. Will make it my regular for Bristol overnights in future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN J
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We do hope to see you back here very soon

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

An impromptu trip to Bristol ended in an evening meal at this pub. What a find! Most recommended!! An absolute delight! The best steak you will ever experience! Will definitely return to try the other offerings on the menu! Polite and attentive staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AvrilClark
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful 5* review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Great room. First time I've been offered a cafe presse with ground coffee in the room. Large room, very comfortable bed. Huge bathroom with bath and large shower stall. Not for those who can't climb stairs. Narrow winding stairs, no lift that I knew about. Hotel is in a renovated pub -- good restaurant and beer. Service could be better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onboard2016
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us a team and acted upon accordingly. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Been here a few times for drinks and it's a nice pub with nice decor and friendly atmosphere. We recently came for a Sunday roast and to be honest I was a little disappointed. The lamb was overlooked and the quantity was pretty poor. The gravy was like water and even after asking for an additional jug there still wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dc007c0231
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us a team and acted upon accordingly. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Met some friends here last night, more by accident than anything else! The pub was nice, open, bright, well decorated. They had an excellent selection of beers which made my partner very happy, he is a big fan of the bath ales! He was even more excited to discover he could purchase a keg from there, think he will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona w
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5* review. We are really glad you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Reviewed 18 June 2016

A celebratory light lunch. I've been here before and am a long-term lover of Bath Ales, their beers and venues. I enjoyed my pint of Gem and smoked salmon with a nicely dressed caper salad and chips and my wife, her 'door-stopper' sandwich. More than that the service was so good.. Nothing too much for the ladies who looked after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sagmeister11
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit with us. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided. We hope to welcome you back very soon

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016

I enjoyed my one night stay here. It had a very welcoming atmosphere. The room was very well presented and immaculate. The en-suite bathroom was very modern and in excellent condition. I slept very well here - the pillows were the most comfortable I have ever had. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Staff were friendly & helpful. The location was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funtravel70
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We came for a working lunch. The food was absolutely delicious. I had pie with veggies and chips. The seasoning on the veggies and chips added a lovely taste whereas the accompanying gravy was scrumptious. The pie wasn't awful and contained nice chunks of meat. Service was friendly but the place was a bit quiet which is good or bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeremiahEcks
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5* review, we all really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We do hope to welcome you back here soon!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We love it here! It's very local so that helps - the staff are always really friendly and the food is usually really good - however they can have the off day and the sausage roll is way too expensive - it's really nice and they make them on site so I think they need to make them twice the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeeGas

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
4.4 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 37 in Bristol
3,250 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 37 in Bristol
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Bristol Filton Hotel
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: €100 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 915guyc, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stairs are steep and narrow, not good for people with accessibility issues or large or heavy luggage”
 of 5 bubbles Leeeels, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“If you need wi-fi in your room, request lower floor accommodaion.”
 of 5 bubbles Bolulu, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are not suitable for elderly or physically infirm due to very steep, narrow stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisandCheryl16, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 good size and nicely decorated”
 of 5 bubbles Y8814VNdavidc, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay