We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton Hotel

Save
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (8)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good31%
  • Average18%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“fresh fruit”(44 reviews)
“loose tea”(10 reviews)
“ground coffee”(16 reviews)
AMENITIES
Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (810)
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
148
222
141
132
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
148
222
141
132
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitloose teaground coffeenight porterwhiteladies roadcity centrevisiting bristolstayed here for one nightrackscliftoncafetiere
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
181 - 185 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Room was too small. Bed was uncomfortable. Bed linen was itchy. Room was dirty an dusty. Room was hot and uncomfortable to sleep in. Toilet space cramped. Shower was broken. Water pressure was too low. Not enough electrical sockets. It is a shame because the...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank danU4291QH
Response from Jack C, Front Office Manager at The Clifton HotelResponded 24 April 2017

Dear danU4291QH, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton. I am verry sorry to hear that you experienced some problems with your stay. We have invested heavily in refurbishing our standard room types over the last year, and have just opened a...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

I stayed here as part of a hen party package, there was a group of us spread across 4 rooms. 3 of our rooms were near each other but unfortunately 1 group was separated and put 2 floors down from us. The hotel has a...More

Thank Zoe P
Response from Jack C, Front Office Manager at The Clifton HotelResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Zoe P, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton. I am pleased that we were able to group 3 of your rooms together, and although we were unable to do this with the fourth room, I trust that it did not...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

I was here for the weekend for a catch up with friends at a party. The room was lovely, clean and welcoming. Doretea who checked us in was super friendly as were Roisin and Marek who were our check our and night porter. Staff were...More

Thank Michymoo70
Response from Jack C, Manager at The Clifton HotelResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Michelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review. It is most appreciated. Dorotea, Roisin and Marek will be delighted to read your comments. They all work extremely hard to provide great customer service so it is so nice...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We really enjoyed staying here for a hen weekend. There were 19 of us, and it worked out perfectly for location, price and comfort. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and made the booking process so seamless (even when our numbers and requirements...More

Thank lauranne81
Response from Jack C, Manager at The Clifton HotelResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Lauranne81, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to the team, they will be delighted. As you say our location, value...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017

Excellent service at the hotel, staff were very kind and accommodating - had a very late check in but it was no trouble. Room was very clean and I would stay again. I found the hotel very quiet and peaceful alsoMore

Thank cedgec0mbe
Response from Jack C, Manager at The Clifton HotelResponded 17 April 2017

Hi cedgec0mbe, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It is most appreciated. I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Clifton and found the hotel clean and the staff excellent. We would...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bristol
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenPartner
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$53 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$53 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lizbeth A
17 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Jack C | Property representative |
Hi Lizbeth, Our newly refurbished rooms have roberts radios but of course you are more than welcome to listen to music on your own speaker. Any other questions, let us know. Kind regards, Jack Chesher
0
Votes
Lizbeth A
17 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jack C | Property representative |
Hi Lizbeth, Yes all of our rooms have hairdryers in. Kind regards, Jack Chesher
1
Vote
Msahay
5 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from jonathan M | Reviewed this property |
I did not find the hotel dirty, my room was small but equipped, the staff was very friendly, this hotel is in a existing elderly building, and the rooms are a bit here and there, but book a b & b or new hotel, I found this... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ground Floor is best. My daughter was on 2nd Floor and said the water pressure was poor"
Read review
"Nosotros pedimos que no estuvieran muy cerca del restaurante/pub por si había ruidos, y nos dieron 2ª y 3ª..."
Read review
"The rooms are generously proportioned - as only the Georgians could! However, it does mean they are also a..."
Read review
"Mine was 70; single; quiet; big enough with good amenities - desk to work at etc"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing