We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clifton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

619 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 594: English reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Location convenient for my specific needs and room rate in this location on a group deal was acceptable I suppose, but overall cramped, a little shabby, in need of refurbishment and perhaps some fundamental remodelling of the internal room layout to make some decent-sized rooms. My room did seem clean though and the apple was delicious! The smell of grilling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark S
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, I am pleased that you found the location to be convenient and that you found the room to be clean. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary fruit in the room. We are currently in the middle of rolling refurbishments which is taking time due to high occupancy. This includes redecoration and new furniture....

Reviewed 5 November 2015

The staff is lovely and I gather they have a lot to deal with. The food is delicious. The place however needs a refurb and they need to replace their bedding. Mine is stained with blood or something alike and the walls are splattered with some dark stains. The carpet looks like it hasn't been hoovered let alone cleaned. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilie B
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emilie B, I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be lovely, we always try to be as friendly and efficient as possible. I am sorry to hear that you found the rooms to be dirty, I will discuss this with our house manager as we usually have an incredibly high standard for cleanliness. Best wishes,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015

The hotel was in an excellent location and was very reasonably priced. However I found it to be a bit on the worn and shabby side, it was difficult to find and had limited parking, which was at a charge. When we got into our room the shower was filthy and had not been cleaned. When we complained the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJMc007
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LJMc007, I am pleased that you found our hotel to be in an excellent location. Parking in Clifton is very difficult, we hire our garage in order to provide guests with some parking facility and I am sorry that you found it to be limited. It is great to hear that our reception team was able to provide you...

UK
Reviewed 4 November 2015

This is a hotel that needs to sort out the basics before it tries to present itself as a boutique. Towels folded as swans, a bowl of fruit (2 apples and an orange) and a cafetiere do not make up for fundamental deficiencies. I should first state that my room was spotlessly clean - I've stayed in many much worse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunpaddlin
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dunpadlin, I am very pleased to hear that you found the room to be spotlessly clean, our housekeeping team work very hard to ensure the rooms are cleaned to a high standard. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the complementary items in your room, however we do not advertise ourselves as a boutique hotel. Our...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Firstly finding this hotel and parking is a challenge. They have a small carpark which holds about 6 cars. THEY CHARGE YOU FOR THIS! Upon check in we were greeted by a girl at a makeshift desk who started the check in process, for some reason she then stopped and made me wait while she dealt with a couple behind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry M
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry M, I am really sorry that you found it difficult to park. Bristol and especially Clifton, is notoriously bad for parking. We rent our garage from a local company in order to provide our guests with some parking facilities, even though it is limited. We are in the process of re-designing a reception desk to improve the appearance...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Once I found the hotel, as the sign is not obvious, the next problem was finding somewhere to park the car. Checking in was easy but then it went down hill. The reception was very sparse and was merely a table in a room with a computer on it. Not a fantastic presentation. I booked through another site so didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTeddybear03
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear YorkshreTeddyBear03, I am pleased to hear that you found our check-in process easy, our front of house team will always try to make your stay is as comfortable as possible. We have recently removed our old sign and are in the process of getting it replaced, this should make finding the hotel much easier. We are currently designing a...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Excellent location for what we wanted to do in Bristol, especially Clifton, but if I'd not been part of a group, I would have checked out immediately after viewing my burnt-fat-smelling hot room with its badly-fitting door. My room was tired,with sixties decor, but with elaborately-folded towels on the bed, tiny drawers that were just about unopenable,a cracked wash-basin and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bigdoc2015
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bigdoc2015 I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary tea, coffee and fresh fruit that we provide in all of our rooms. I am happy to hear that you found us ideally situated for your visit in Bristol. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you found the...

Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Booked hotel for weekend break. Initially arrived on Friday night. Got to room. Very poor decor. Torn carpets, leaking toilet, loose toilet seat, broken wardrobe door and peeling wall paper. All for the princely sum of £105 per night. Went to bed around 11:30 pm and had loud music blaring out. Accepted there may be a little residual noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael H, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay will us and that you were affected by noise and smells from the Racks Bar & Kitchen. I am pleased to hear however that you found the receptionist to be friendly and helpful and that you were offered a partial refund due to the...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Room (executive) stunk of cooking (we weren't informed of the restaurant directly below and of the extractor fan blowing directly onto the room windows). When we complained and asked for another room we were told the hotel was full. Staff were quite unhelpful and miserable. Television didn't work in the room and was informed by the hotel reception there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN P
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian P, I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to apologise that we were unable to move your room for you as the hotel was full. I was very surprised to hear that you found our front of house team unhelpful and miserable as we usually receive only...

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen party in August, the location is good; an easy to walk into clifton and to shopping, the art gallery & museum, it is not far in a taxi to the docks. I was able to get parking in the hotels garage car park for 2 days and paid the extra fee for this which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vbamo
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vbamo, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Clifton Hotel. We are ideally located for quick access to Clifton Village and Bristol City Centre. I am pleased that you were able to make use of our car park during your stay and that you found it to be good value for...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
623 reviews
0.5 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
485 reviews
0.5 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
406 reviews
1.1 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#25 of 37 in Bristol
871 reviews
0.1 km away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#35 of 53 in Bristol
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: €51 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles keithd649, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My friend asked and got a quieter room on the first floor the other side of the building to the resuarant/bar, and pub opposite.”
 of 5 bubbles miggins2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check radiator thermostat & eat out!”
 of 5 bubbles Deb121orah, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms can get a little warm in winter, you will probably have to crack the window open as there is no AC.”
 of 5 bubbles Repto, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one that's been refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles SueJ833, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5