We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Berkeley Square Hotel

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Located in Clifton in the heart of Bristol, The Berkeley Square Hotel offers a warm welcome and is the perfect place to be able to explore the city. Just a few minutes away from the iconic Clifton Suspension Bridge, Bristol Museum and Art Gallery, the University of Bristol and all of Bristol’s unique central attractions, book your room now to enjoy the fabulous Berkeley Square. All of our rooms come with complimentary tea, coffee, fresh fruit and delicious biscuits to really treat yourself during your stay. The Berkeley is also home to the award winning restaurant, The Square, and houses a delightful speakeasy style cocktail bar with a hidden terrace garden. The Berkeley Suites are located just around the corner from the hotel and are a perfect luxury escape from the bustling city centre. With a 24 hour reception team always on hand to help and complimentary wi-fi throughout your stay, make The Berkeley Square Hotel part of your visit to the West Country’s most exciting city!
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
760Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
193Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
698Reviews
264Photos
1Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 185
  • 192
  • 154
  • 102
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
I travel every week for work and this was the worst hotel I’ve stayed at. It was noisy with rowdy Christmas parties right night to my room, another staff room on the other side so that every time someone went it to it my door rattled. I had to wear a jumper when I slept as so col
Read more
Response from PoppyM180, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Annie, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Over December we are very busy with Christmas parties and there is more noise than usual. Because of this we call all of our guests before hand to let them know about the events and allocate the rooms appropriately. Unfortunately we did not have your details as you were part of a group booking so I do apologise that we were not able to get in contact with you prior to your stay. I did try to get in contact with you during your stay with us to arrange a room move or other solution but did not hear from you. The reception desk is staffed 24 hours a day so we always have someone available to help our guests with any issues. I am surprised to hear that you were cold as we have thermostats in every room so that each guest can control the temperature in their rooms. I will keeping a close eye on the heating in this room as I don't want any of our guests to be cold or have an uncomfortable night. Our team are always on hand to help with the heating or provide additional heaters or bedding. I do apologise that our team were unable to fix your TV for you, I have now ordered a new TV so that we will not continue to have this issue. I'd love to talk to you directly about your stay to get some more direct feedback to improve. Once again, I am sorry that you were let down by your stay with us. I hope to hear from you. Kind regards, Poppy Hotel Manager
Read more
This hotel is in an ideal location situated close to Clifton and near shops and restaurants. The Staff were warm and friendly. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable.Great choice for breakfast and service was friendly and quick.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PoppyM180, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Traveler31509109679, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I do agree that we are in a great location, walking distance from so many of Bristol's best sites, bars and restaurants. We pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service so I am so happy to hear that the team made you feel welcomed. I do hope that it is not too long until you're back in Bristol and can stay with us again! Kind regards, Poppy Hotel Manager
Read more
We had a basement room which was small but ok. Nice touch with the ‘Sip Me’ sherry, fresh coffee and fruit. However.... parties in the basement function room with booming music until 1am on the Friday and Saturday evenings was less than ideal. Great location but doesn’t make up f
Read more
Response from PoppyM180, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Paul, Thank you for your review. I would love to speak to about your stay and get some more feedback about how we can improve. If you could give me a call on 0117 924000 it would be appreciated. I am so pleased that you liked the complimentary hospitality tray, we really do try to make it different! Our location, just adjacacent to Park Street is ideal for exploring Bristol and I do hope that you were able to visit some of the many sites, bars and restaurants in walking distance. I am so sorry that you didn't have a good night's sleep. We are a lively venue and often have events going on. We always courtesy call or email our guests before arrival to let them know information about check in and inform everyone of any events going on. We are aware that our lower deck rooms can suffer some noise so we do market them at a lower price point. Having said this, we want all of our guests to have a relaxing stay and I will be following up with the events team to check that our strict music policy was followed. I do hope that you will return to us the next time that your in Bristol. Once again I apologise that you were disturbed by noise and I would love to have you experience the hotel in a quiet room so please do let me know if you are coming back to Bristol and I will ensure you are allocated an appropriate room. Kind regards, Poppy Hotel Manager
Read more
Stayed here with colleagues, some colleagues were in a suite which was amazing apparently and newly done up, however my room and colleagues room were very basic for the price - frayed edges to the bath mat, all a bit tired looking with chipped paint, and my colleague had a deligh
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PoppyM180, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am so glad to hear that your collegues enjoyed staying in our delux suites. As you mentioned they are our newest product and are freshly renovated with bespoke furniture and beautiful bathrooms. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. We are always trying to improve and we have lots of plans for refurbishment in the next couple of months including refurbishing more bathrooms and repainting. As an independent business we really try to focus on the little touches such as the Bristol Cream Sherry in every room. I will pass on your kind words about breakfast to the team at The Square Kitchen. Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. I do hope that you will return to us and see the improvements we are making, or opt for a suite for a truly special stay. Kind regards, Poppy Hotel Manager
Read more
Booked a clubking room,however, receptionist ‘so-called upgraded' us to a side rundown building room on third floor, no lifts! When asked for a clubking room, receptionist commented to her colleague 'I am going to give them a room that other guests have turned down'
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PoppyM180, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Shah, I am very sorry to hear that you felt that the upgrade that we offered to you was not good enough. I would like to disagree with you regarding the state of Berkeley Suites building. Our luxury suites are situated in a beautiful grade 2 listed Georgian building. We have opened our suites in 2015 after a grand renovation. The building is cleaned and maintained everyday of the week. Unfortunately, due to the building being a grade 2 listed building we can not install the lift in the house. But I believe, this only adds to its charm. However, I am pleased to see that after you expressed your concerns to reception, they managed to provide you with a room in the hotel instead. Overall, I am very saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and if you would like to discuss this further please give me a call on 01179254000. Best regards, Jeka Kolesova Assistant Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
plenty of space in the room
Bathroom
Entrance to the room
Stained beds, two different rooms
Our suite in the satellite building
Previous
Is there car parking available on site or nearby?
Not that we noticed, we didn't take our car. The road outside was very heavily parked on.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Rude unprofessional remarks made by the front face receptionist and overall unpleasant experience!"
"tea strainer or tea pot would complete the excellent service"
"Go for Suite 4 if you can, overlooking the small square"
"If hot weather ask for a room away from the front of the hotel"
"On nice summer days and nights, probably all rooms will be too hot to enjoy."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
berkeley square bristolhotel berkeley square
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristol
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing