We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Expedia.com
Mercure
Agoda.com
US$155
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreamsUS$175
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (533)
Room & Suite (194)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 47 in Bristol
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1230Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 277
  • 305
  • 274
  • 209
  • 166
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shelley E wrote a review Yesterday
Torpoint, United Kingdom53 contributions59 helpful votes
The reception team made this stay ! So much so even though we encountered a couple of problems they went over and above what I would expect them to do . Each time they did this with professionalism and friendly politeness . We will definitely come back to stay but I will book direct with the hotel to ensure our room is exactly what we want . The reception team that evening were outstanding .. Morgan and David Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
juniior160967 wrote a review 21 May
Newport, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Came from Newport wales lastnight for overnight stay and Morgan at the check in desk was the most helpful receptionist weve ever met at a hotel it was a pleasure to check in everything was perfect and she couldn’t be more helpful many thanks
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, Owner at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hey there. Thanks for your feedback. The satisfaction of our guests during their stay among us is very rewarding. Thank you for your kind comments about our team who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. The entire team look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip. Kind regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
StevenLee1981 wrote a review 16 May
North Yorkshire, UK26 contributions26 helpful votes
Room was awful. Should not have been sold. Was promised by the supervisor on checking out that the the room rate would be refunded however it was not. On following this up people are in-responsive even the General Manager
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, Owner at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're sorry to hear not everything got full marks and your room was not as you'd expected. We have many categories of rooms and perhaps we can help you find one that's better suited to your taste and budget for your next visit? Please know your feedback is always helpful to us in reviewing and improving our services. Please contact us on either of the below methods regarding the refund issue you mention so that we can look into this. Email: ha0i2-gm@accor.com We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
Scenic266487 wrote a review 14 May
2 contributions
My room was like a cell. Bare. View on to a brick wall. Shower not working. Dirty walls. Depressing! Service non existent - they seemed to be relying on agency staff in the restaurant and I waited 20 minutes in a queue to check in with someone who didn’t even look up once. The restaurant is decent for an ordinary meal. Order at the bar. I’d not come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
pam p wrote a review 10 May
Braintree, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice but needs up dating, food menu needs a few more options in both restaurant & bar, but most of all I had no TV for the whole night as it didn't work, couldn't move me either which I can't believe as wasn't busy, also heard the member of staff moaning about coming to look at it to get it working but of course it wouldn't. They didnt think i heard them. So I just sat in my room doing nothing, not very happy at all.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, Owner at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there Pam, Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion of your recent stay with us. We're so sorry to know that your recent stay at our hotel didn't meet your expectations. Rest assured we've taken note of the points you've raised and we’ll be sure to address them with the departments concerned. Furthermore, we regret to hear about the issue with the TV and will be discussing this with our team to make sure our guests' concerns are addressed quickly. We carry out maintenance whenever necessary to keep our rooms up to date, however, we have noted your feedback and will use it as we plan future refurbishments. We hope we can provide you with an improved stay in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
MichaelWade1984 wrote a review 10 May
London, United Kingdom45 contributions26 helpful votes
There was no cot in our room for our baby despite us requesting one when we booked, ringing to check the day before and checking on arrival that there would be. This wasn’t the best start to our stay but Peter went out of his way to accommodate us and make up for the situation. He was brilliant and resolved the issue while giving us a better room. We couldn’t have been happier. It’s probably better to eat out for dinner, the food wasn’t amazing and the restaurant was empty, but the chessboard was lovely and breakfast the following morning was of a high standard with lots of selection. Overall we were delighted with our treatment and would like Peter to be recognised for his exceptional hospitality. The hotel has a valuable member of staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Lots of good restaurants, cafes and bars within walking distance. We liked Three Brothers and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion about your stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you faced on arrival. We are glad that Peter was able to put things right for you and make your stay memorable, we will be sure to pass your comments on to him. We are sorry your evening dining experience didn't quite hit the mark for you; however, we are delighted to know that our tasty breakfast was top-notch and that we were able to help you start your day off right. We hope to welcome you again in the future. All the best. Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
Steve N wrote a review 9 May
Taunton, United Kingdom6 contributions10 helpful votes
We had previously stayed here and had a delightful stay , but we were bitterly disappointed to see the interior of the Grand Hotel had been updated in a manner that does not befit a listed building . Our room was painted in dark Army green , that made it very dark, no wardrobe just some pipes and a rail , It overlooked the multi storey car park and this was supposed to be a Superior room , for which we paid extra for , The room was unclean as was all other areas, dirt around window and under radiator and dust bunnies under the furniture in reception , We were questioned whether we had paid for breakfast and made to wait whilst they checked , very embarrassing! And then the breakfast was poor , cold! Outside the hotel was littered with cigarette ends and generally dirty , on our last visit there was a concierge who looked after us , carrying luggage and very helpful . All in all The Grand not looking so Grand , will not be back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't bother book somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Steven, Thanks for this review about your recent stay. We work hard to provide all our guests with an enjoyable stay and we're sorry that you felt that our high standards were not upheld this time. We understand that our interior decoration may not be to everyone's personal taste but we do ensure continual maintenance is carried out. Nevertheless, we have taken note of your comments for future improvements. Moreover, we wish you had let us know about the issues with your room as our team is always on hand to find you a comfortable solution. Rest assured that we have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping team. We are also sorry for the incident you mentioned regarding the breakfast and have addressed this with our team. Your satisfaction is a top priority. We hope we can welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
Alexander wrote a review 8 May
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited Mercure Grand Hotel for the first time and it was absolutely amazing. I had booked a Executive suite with a breakfast inclusive at only £140 per night. Everything was so lovely, from the check in to the check out. At the check in was a bit of a queue,but the lobby is big enough with lots of sofas where you can relax. The check in process took a minute and the lady at the reception was so sweet and helpful. I have been given room 111, which was so so beautiful,with massive bed and lots of space. Bed very comfortable,clean and just what I needed to relax. Bathroom was super clean with plenty of towels and bathrobes. Breakfast very tasty and of a great quality I would say. I enjoyed every minute being there and will surely return. The most important thing was that I felt welcomed by all the staff members. It was just amazing!!! I would tottally recommend. Thank you,
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, Owner at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thanks for sharing your review. What more can we say. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and a real reward to know we delivered on your expectations, the team will be over the moon with your kind words. It'd be awesome to welcome you back on your next visit to Bristol. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
Bianca K wrote a review 7 May
10 contributions
We spent a night in Bristol and enjoyed an evening at the Grand Mercure, older hotel but clean and cant complain about the service. What you would expect from a hotel (you don't spend much time in the room anyway) nothing out of the ordinary. Very centrally based with easy access to the mall, town, and walks along the water, pubs and restaurants. They serve a great breakfast too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Thanks for sharing your review. It's a real boost to our team to know that you had a great experience during your stay. We are pleased that we could provide you with just what you were looking for and that you felt you were well looked after. We would be delighted to welcome you back soon. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
Karen Hue wrote a review 6 May
5 contributions
Good points.....Air con in room was amazing,bed comfy, room was made up each day. We booked an extra room and that was very smooth. Location was central but next time we'd choose another central hotel. Bad points.... 1. Breakfast not really the best selection. No crusty rolls or decent breadboard hot food was good. 2. Bar closed at 11pm. OK but at 10.30pm we could not get served because there wax one server and a manager swanning around tlu g everyone they closed at 11. 3. No room service 4. No Instructions or guide in the room. Pretty much the same throughout Bristol.....see my other reviews 5. Too many internal steps, heavy doors 6. Car park door would not work properly so kept calling gym. 7. Room issues the wardrobe section was no good for hanging a dress and the tea and coffee making facilities were in the wardrobe area. Twin beds too close to each other. Thin walls. Screaming kid next door and parents making a noise thankfully all quiet by bed time (not blaming child or parents here but thin walls) Value for money.....No
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Thanks for sharing your review. Thanks for giving us the thumbs up for our high standards and comfy bed. We are sorry breakfast didn't quite hit the mark for you. We would be happy to take suggestions on how breakfast might be improved. We have tried to respect the needs of all our guests with our bar opening times while taking into account our guests who wish for a quiet relaxing atmosphere. Nevertheless, we have noted your comments in this regard and we have addressed this with our team. We would like to apologise for any disturbance. We encourage guests to tell us of any disturbance at the time so that we can discreetly deal with such a situation and our team is always happy to find a quieter room, if available. We have noted your comments and truly appreciate all feedback that helps us raise our game. We would be delighted to welcome you back for a better stay soon. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grand, bristol hotel bristol, thistle hotel bristol
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Grand Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristolOld City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Whistle Punks Urban Axe Throwing (0.09 km), Smoke & Mirrors Comedy & Magic Theatre Pub (0.5 km), and Laser Fusion (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Revolution, Matina, and Taste of Napoli.
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Bristol.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Mary Redcliffe Church (0.8 km), Blaise Hamlet (6.4 km), and Cabot Tower (1.0 km).
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.