We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Lloydminster
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Gotta tell you, things didn't really start off to well. The room that we had "requested" was not available, but we know that a request does not confirm your wishes. Kathy, the front desk employee, changed us around and put us in the identical suite 1 floor lower on the 3rd floor. The suite itself was in relative good condition...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fromthehills
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

fromthehills, I'm glad that your overall experience at the Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay was a positive one, and I'm sorry that we were unable to accommodate your specific room request. Unfortunately there are times when circumstances make it impossible for us to accommodate requests. We are in the midst of a long term renovation plan that will address the...

Reviewed 1 June 2016

During our time in Cowichan Bay we stayed at the wonderful Oceanfront Suites. The staff was extremely friendly, hospitable, and knowledgeable of things to do and friendly places to eat. Cow Cafe was a popular suggestion for a good place to eat so we wandered in one evening for dinner. It was very busy and they were not able to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kaylee L
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Rob

North Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while in town for a friends wedding. Cowichan Bay is a small, beautiful community. We got a corner room with an amazing view of the bay. Full kitchen, living room and bedroom with screened sliding doors. In the am we walked down to True Grain Bread for coffee, local tea, and cinnamon buns. Their is a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RSB_8
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

RSB_8, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your sty with us, I hope we get a chance to see you again!

Reviewed 17 May 2016

Very good staff especially Liinsey. Helpful with map to Kinsol trestle also vineyards around the area. Masthead restaurant excellent . also bakery for fresh bread room 402 good. we had a very good cheese plate which had been ordered for us waiting in our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Booloo
Robert G, Front Office Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

I'm please that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a good time exploring the Cowichan Valley. I'll be sure to mention to Lindsay how pleased you were with her help. Both Lindsay and I look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay!

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Room was modern, beds were comfy and the location was excellent. It was nice and clean and provide easy access for our son to hang out on the beach. Our dog also loved it. The room, although non-smoking, really reeked like cigarette smoke for some reason. That was our only complaint

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldpitts1
Robert G, Front Office Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments. We value your opinion and take every comment and criticism seriously. We're pleased that your 4-legged family member enjoyed the stay as much as you did! Although our facility is non-smoking, often a smoker's clothes carry the smell of cigarette smoke into our rooms and after a longer stay,...

Gibsons
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Facing the quaint dock of Cowichan Bay, this hotel offers stunning views of boating activity, sunrises and sunsets over the Gulf Islands from the oceanfront rooms. However, hotel facilities mar the experience since they lack comfort (hard pillows, basic bathroom amenities including old towels, no hair dryer etc.), old-fashioned glass-screen TV's, and there is no breakfast or drinks bar. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djangoGibsons
Robert G, Front Office Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

djangoGibsons, I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the sunrises over the bay, not many people venture out that early in the morning, this time of year! You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of replacing our old TV's! When our final shipment arrives we will be able to complete the installation, and be...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Pros: The location is spectacular, one of the only hotels in the area. The suites are larger with all the amenities (kitchen, two tv's, dining and sitting room). The staff was helpful. The bed was very comfortable. Cons: While on holiday this may not be an issue but I was travelling for business and the wifi was incredibly temperamental and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islandtraveller217
Robert G, Front Office Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

islandtraveller217, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate all of the comments that we receive, both positive and negative. Unfortunately, you are right about the wifi issue. Our building is constructed out of reinforced concrete and this can cause irregular and unpredictable signal strength in some areas. We are constantly analyzing the issue and looking...

Surrey
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Quite enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It is an older building but has been maintained. Bed was comfortable, room was quite and the kitchen was fully equipped. I enjoyed waking up to the morning life on the water and marina. They included a 10.99 continental breakfast of yogurt, granola, fruit and a croissant, but it didn't include coffee or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
Robert G, Front Office Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Kevin A. Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you, Rob

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 April 2016

There is something special about Cowichan Bay area in general, and this is also apparent at the Oceanfront Suites as well. This is the 2nd time I've been out there, and the service has been excellent. Special mention to the lady at the front desk that is very warm and caring to us and the other guests, I need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farhad_Ebrahimi
Robert G, Front Office Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Farhad_Ebrahimi, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for your next stay. Sincerely, Rob

Sacramento, CA
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The hotel is very large and seems like it would have been simply wonderful years ago. The concept of this hotel on the ocean is a 4-5 star, but it is old and in need of some TLC so it is more like a 3 star hotel now. Overall, it is very functional and the rooms are spacious, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoriKSacto
Robert G, Front Office Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

LoriKSacto, Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we are in the renovation process as you read this, and are near completion of the first phase. You are correct that there is some TLC needed, but we are well on the way to regaining the...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
20.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
42.3 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW PREMIER Collection
42.7 km away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
7.0 km away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
0.6 km away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the heart of Cowichan Valley, situated between Victoria and Nanaimo. The seaside village of Cowichan Bay - with its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants situated amongst the wharves, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes - is one of the most picturesque locations on Vancouver Island. Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious Oceanfront suites - each equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette as well as a comfortable living and dining area. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Price Range: €96 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no need all rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles H6107JRlouiseb, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Suggest high floor away from swimming pool side of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Northern Poet, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles johnrowse, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else - not worth the exorbinant prices”
 of 5 bubbles DanaH715, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if there is a bad room, and the port hole kitchen windows are awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles rvod, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5