We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Hotels.comUS$145*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
vancouver
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This Hotel has the potential for greatness. Unfortunately it's the little things that prevent it from becoming so. No bath towels at the pool. The bed was too firm. The late check in. The poached eggs were overcooked. Having said that the location was serene, the ever changing view breathtaking and the staff incredible. All those positive considerations makes this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wanderlustvancouver9
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Wanderlustvancouver9, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the users at TripAdvisor. We appreciate every comment from our guests. Thank you again, Rob G.

Vancouver Island, BC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We are very seasoned travellers and very very disappointed that the duvet sheet on our bed had black greased marks on it that we didn't see until we checked out. We told the management that it must have been there before hand but they didnt' believe us! We were charged $150 of our damage deposit. Very disappointed in this place!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DoreenH
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

DorrenH, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the users at Trip Advisor. In your carefully worded review, you didn't mention that the duvet cover in question was white, and that the marks on it appeared to be eye makeup, like mascara or eyeliner, or that the marks in question were up to two inches long....

Bon Accord
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The rooms at this resort are roomy and some of them (including the one we rented had been recently renovated) It was very nice although the kitchen could have been better appointed. There wasn't much for utensils or cups, plates, etc. The view overlooking the bay is pristine. Now for the knocks. Our daughter was married there last weekend. Check-in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adventureunlimited
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

adventureunlimited, Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We appreciate all of the comments that we receive. A 3pm to 4pm is not an unusual arrival time, in North American Hotels. Weddings often make any arrival time difficult, as many guests arrive early and would like to access their rooms as soon as possible. We always...

Victoria
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Had the pleasure of staying at the Oceanfront Suites on Cowichan Bay recently. The hotel is in a prime location right on the beach and overlooking the docks and nearby scenic mountains. The room had a funky round window and is very very spacious, with separate bedroom. It was definitely a little dated though, especially the kitchen. Staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Jones2
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Mr_Jones2, Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As I have mentioned in my responses to many previous reviews, we are presently in the midst of a multi phase renovation. The second phase of which was completed last May. One of our future phases, which will involve the kitchens and appliances,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We booked an Oceanfront Patio King suite for 4 adults and paid a premium price for this accommodation. Although the suite was spacious the amenities were lacking. Only two plates, two coffee mugs, two glasses, two towels when they were specifically told there would be 4 adults. Housekeeping had to be called many times over a two day period. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esme B
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Esme, I'm sorry that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. As I have mentioned in my responses to many previous reviews, we are presently in the midst of a multi phase renovation. The second phase of which was completed last may. One of our future phases, which will involve the kitchens and appliances, will address the...

Reviewed 23 July 2016

My family has stayed at this hotel for multiple occasions and have never had a been experience. Wonderful staff and views from every room window that can't be beat. Views of the ocean from every room window. Watch whales, seals and nature from the comfort of your room. Great long-term rates. Highly recommend. Nice restaurant. Quaint community with good restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Androsmn
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Androsmn, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to share your expeirence with other TripAdvisor members. Thanks again, Rob

Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a spacious and bright well - furnished room.The expansive and deluxe, comfortable bed combined with gorgeous view of beach area and marina are most memorable. Front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Amazing breakfast -featuring croissant, small cup fresh fruit and yogurt with honey and topped with granola beautifully presented on white plate. Definitely exceeds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda C
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Linda, Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay enough to share it on TripAdvisor. I think the room you ment was room 414 (we don't have a room 417). Although we try to accommodate all specific room number requests, we cannot guarantee that your requested room will be available for your specific...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed here for 5 days a in renovated suite on the 5th floor. The suite included bedroom, living room, small kitchen & bathroom with rain shower. The views were spectacular! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We found the kitchen too small to do any serious cooking (no oven, small Fridge) but we understand the rooms below us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CharlietheBlueJay
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Charlie, Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your next visit! Thank you again, Rob

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers friendly service and lovely views from all their rooms. There are some great restaurants nearby (Masthead), challenging but scenic Arbutus Ridge golf course is about 10 minutes away and lots of local wineries in the vicinity. The kitchenettes in the suites could use some updating and definitely could be better stocked. Our kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Suzanne, Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, our room kitchens are in need of some work. We have recently completed Phase Tow of our renovation plans, and one of the next phases will include updating our kitchens. Thank you again, Rob G.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful location, super friendly and accommodating staff and an awesome and welcoming pet policy. Will definitely return one day. We stayed in an "economy" suite which was still huge and easily housed my wife and I and our baby and dog.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank megagram
Robert G, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review

Megagram, Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
20.6 km away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
42.3 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
10.2 km away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
692 reviews
0.6 km away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
7.6 km away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the heart of Cowichan Valley, situated between Victoria and Nanaimo. The seaside village of Cowichan Bay - with its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants situated amongst the wharves, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes - is one of the most picturesque locations on Vancouver Island. Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious Oceanfront suites - each equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette as well as a comfortable living and dining area. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Price Range: €113 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid a room above the pool. Otherwise they all face the bay and offer a lovely view.”
LESandJOSH_12, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a full view of the marina.”
5CCs, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“no need all rooms are excellent”
H6107JRlouiseb, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Suggest high floor away from swimming pool side of hotel”
Northern Poet, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
johnrowse, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$145* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$150
Expedia.comUS$145
Orbitz.comUS$145
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates