We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (61)
Pool & Beach (7)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“hot tub”(14 reviews)
“large deck”(6 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Breakfast included
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Desolation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
49
21
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
49
21
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaughing oyster restauranthot tublarge decklife jacketscomplimentary kayaksown mealssunshine coastcabins chaletsspent three nights heregreat dinnertwo couplesamazing locationcomfortable bedsliving roomvancouver islandjosephinecanoe
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My daughter and I spent three nights in Chalet 10. The chalet was more than roomy enough for two, beds and couches were comfortable, as were the plentiful towels, and the view across Okeover Inlet was wonderful. It as so quiet in the morning, sipping...More

1  Thank Travellingdoc-7
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We booked 4 chalets on this trip. These Chalets were well maintained but need some renovation. The view from Chalet #6 is stunning. All things were good except a unfriendly staff at the office. At the end of the day, we have to pay the...More

1  Thank E N
Response from DesolationResort, General Manager at Desolation ResortResponded 3 September 2016

Thanks for your review. You booked 3 chalets with 22 people, 2 chalets have private hot tubs. Your group of people were shucking tons of Oysters on the chalet decks, at that time our staff reminded you not to do that. That was where the...More

Reviewed 31 August 2016

I attempted to find something positive regarding this resort, but I was stuck with nothing. After spending four days and three nights in cabins 2, 5, and 6, I have concluded this was the worst vacation ever. Although this is a beautiful location, the service,...More

4  Thank Bryan Y
Response from DesolationResort, General Manager at Desolation ResortResponded 13 September 2016

It is unbelievable that your group of people are just posting bad reviews in a row as you threatened us. Our water is from a 300ft well. It is not treated with any chemicals like water in city, hence the PH is very high. It...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Lovely cabins in the trees. We stayed in #11, which we weren't sure of at first being that it was right beside the office, but we really enjoyed our stay. The cabin was spacious and clean and we had a nice wrap-around deck to enjoy....More

Thank Jacks1010
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Our stay for Four days in Cabin 10 was Great. We enjoyed the bbq on the deck, complementary kajaks and nearby Restaurants. A Trip with the water Taxi to Savary Island was a highlight. The long way from Vancouver to the resort (two ferries) was...More

1  Thank Catrin F
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Powell River
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$120 - US$887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$120 - US$887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (61)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Desolation Resort staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Cabin 6 great location close access , Lrg walk in shower . 2 bedroom ( 1 with ensuite) open loft bedroom..."
Read review
"Make sure you review all the chalet details on the website to find the best fit for you."
Read review
"Chalet 10 is at the end of the property, quiet with a great view."
Read review
"Chalet #6 is good and Washrooms are clean"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing