We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glen Lyon Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Glen Lyon Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glen Lyon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival I took notice at the cute harbour setting behind the hotel. The lady at the front desk was so nice and cheery , it made the long drive worth it ! Our hotel room has a lovely view of the harbour and even saw some seals looking out. The room itself is cozy and fair size for what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chantelle j
William S, Manager at Glen Lyon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We try our best to make everyone happy at the Glen Lyon Inn. Hopefully you will come back to Port Hardy and stay with us again

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We arrived there after a long road trip on a hot and rainy day. the outside looked very worn and dated. The woman at the front desk was less than welcoming and barely cracked a smile. They had a stuffed bald eagle in a glass enclosure of which I found quite sad really. they do have an elevator to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle f
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Ideal for a one night stay - our room overlooked the harbour & was very quiet. The friendly helpful staff were the highlight of this visit - they went out of their way to offer local information - thank you ladies!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill-Robert
William S, Manager at Glen Lyon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. We stress that our staff be friendly and helpful We appreciate all the remarks as it makes us better understand what customers want Ann

las vegas
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We had reservatons on the BC ferry to Prince Rupert overnight, so we reserved and paid for our room for three nights. Upon returnig back to the hotel from our trip, we were notified our Paid for room was sold to another couple. Unbeiveable! The cleck that night was very rude and siad They have a lower cost room we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank npi
William S, Manager at Glen Lyon Inn, responded to this review

I am not sure who you booked with, but we do not take payment in advance. If you could personably email me : info@glenlyoninn.com Attention: Ann Gray I will look into this further. There is no reason you couldn't have the same room or equivilant on your return trip and I am very sorry that this would happen to anyone....

Paris
Reviewed 24 August 2016

we only stayed 1 night (11th to 12th August) but the manager, Anne, is really adorable ! very helpful ! the room was perfect for 4 and the view.... what a view on the harbor ! very nice place ! the restaurant was perfect. small, but very comfortable and the waitresses very kind and funny ! please stop at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAKJ
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night before catching the ferry. After staying at Pioneer Inn we were nervous about what this place would be like. luckily the room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed. The furniture was decent and there was a microwave and fridge. We arrived late but it looked like a nice view over the water. Overall we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margie P
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

If you're not fussy, you'll be alright. The lack of AC, means the rooms get very hot. Large TV, might need plugging in upon arrival, you'll have to work that out on you're own. The wifi is free but virtually useless. Free parking is good. Great views of the Harbour, Comfy Clean beds, Nice complimentary toiletries, not too many sockets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshuabeauchamp
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I had my wife,daughter and grand daughter with we had a two room sweet. Great view of harbor and nice clean updated room. We ate dinner at the diner in the hotel. Food was good pricing was mid-range with several choices for main dinners we didn't eat the breakfast as we left too early. We will stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elkbaybob
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Drove 5 hours there from Duncan Bc ...we booked one hotle our entire honeymoon as we did a road trip of Vancouver Island and we camped the rest of it. So we booked a room with a hot tub and balcony for a romantic night..now we booked this over a month before are arrival ...we went to pay and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cody T
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The server was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The food was average but reasonably priced. The view was very good. Appeared to be a local favourite and a good spot for a basic lunch in Port Hardy. Great to see breakfast items until 2pm.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayasaurus

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.3 km away
Quarterdeck Inn
Quarterdeck Inn
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
120 reviews
1.4 km away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
42 reviews
209.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
211.5 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Courtenay
749 reviews
7.6 km away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 16 in Port Hardy
70 reviews
1.4 km away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
44 Room Motel Type with Doors to the outside - 3 floors, with 2nd and 3rd floors all having balconies overlooking Hardy Bay All rooms have a great Ocean view. We have Restaurant and Lounge on the Premises: open Daily Walking distance is 1 mile to the center of town along the Inner Harbour and 15 minutes driving to the Airport and 7 to 10 minutes driving to the ferry terminal ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glen Lyon Inn

Address: 6435 Hardy Bay Road | P.O. Box 103, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Price Range: €78 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Lyon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Lyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lyon Hotel Port Hardy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glen Lyon Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glen Lyon Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles CarenL634, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Quite a trek from main town”
 of 5 bubbles 460tilly, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think all the rooms have good views. I was on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles kwillyau, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are superb, and I believe all have harbour view.”
 of 5 bubbles 713vivienh, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“view on the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles LAKJ, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay