We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thorpe Cottage Country Guest House

Save
Share
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (9)
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good14%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Housekeeping
Free Wifi
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
48
10
4
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
48
10
4
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast is servedother guestswithin easy reachcouldn't faultbreakfast was excellenthomemade breadrelaxing breaktea and coffeemikechatsworthcottage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We stayed for a few nights whilst exploring the southern Peak District. Prior to arriving Mike had contacted us with information about our stay and checking for dietary requirements. He also provides us with details of good restaurants/pubs in the area which was really useful....More

Thank AndSand580
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 2 days ago

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the rules, of no food or alchol, they're pretty much industry standard, and glad you appreciated them, unfortunately the minority spoil things for the majority, but it is what it is. Only having space for...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018

My wife and I were gifted a nights stay in this wonderful guest house in the beautiful village of Thorpe. We were greeted professionally but friendly and shown to our room which was very nicely appointed, Breakfast was taken with all the other guests which...More

1  Thank andrewblaxhall
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 10 August 2018

So pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay with us, thank you so much. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 9 July 2018

This is a nice clean guest house, with comfortable beds. Facilities for tea and coffee were provided, with biscuits and fresh milk. But the twin room is a bit poky, and lit only by Velux windows. It needed the supplied electric fan to keep it...More

Thank Ron F
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 10 July 2018

We received on two seperate occassions e-mails from you asking to check in at noon, it clearly states we do not check guests in before 4pm, the Pixies or Fairies do not come along and wave a magic wand and hey presto the cleaning, washing,...More

Reviewed 21 May 2018

We stayed at Thorpe Cottage this last weekend. Our Room was extremely well appointed and comfortable. However if you book The Chatsworth Room be warned you will be woken early as the soil pipe from the other rooms runs behind the wall and you hear...More

Thank SusieHungerford
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 22 May 2018

Well unfortunately, we do not have 8mb of broadband, which does drops in and out continuously. We do state quite clearly that we don't have WIFI, as I've stated before we've had BT out 3x to no avail, it is not a matter of simply...More

Reviewed 28 April 2018

Thorpe Cottage is very clean and comfortable. We liked the fresh milk in the fridge, the bedroom and the breakfast fruit and toast - homemade bread was delightful. We were a bit disappointed that there was not really any choice over the cooked breakfast. One...More

Thank Roggo46
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 29 April 2018

We don't advertise we have wifi as we can't get it for guests, have tried 3 times with BT, so I understand that's a bit of nuisance. Unfortunately we don't have the facilities of a restaurant or hotel, but we do offer for breakfast, fresh...More

View more reviews
About
Description
A picturesque listed stone cottage guesthouse located in beautiful Dovedale, in the Peak District National Park. Rated 5 Stars & Gold Award by the etc. You won't find a nicer place to relax and unwind in Dovedale! ...More Our warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere complimented with outstanding hospitality makes us the perfect choice for a quiet break in the English Countryside. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$104 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Thorpe
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$104 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Thorpe
Photos
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (9)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Izaak Walton Hotel
802 reviews
1.55 km away
Callow Hall Hotel
349 reviews
3.62 km away
The Station Hotel
369 reviews
4.54 km away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
410 reviews
4.95 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all restaurants
The Old Dog
413 reviews
.39 km away
Haddon Restaurant
43 reviews
1.53 km away
Herbert's Fine English Tearooms
254 reviews
2.42 km away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn Restaurant
307 reviews
3.47 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all attractions
Dovedale Stepping Stones
80 reviews
1.14 km away
Dovedale
1,464 reviews
1.14 km away
Edward and Vintage
123 reviews
2.56 km away
Ilam Park
352 reviews
2.78 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Thorpe Cottage Country Guest House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Luxury suite - i had it"
Read review
"Just speak to Mike who will sort you out!!!"
Read review
"ask for one not facing the road if traffic annoys you. Some rooms have a bath"
Read review
"Haddon room - great for views and privacy but as it's at the top of the house there are stairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing