We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thorpe Cottage Country Guest House

Share
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (9)
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (9)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good14%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible10%
A picturesque listed stone cottage guesthouse located in beautiful Dovedale, in the Peak District National Park. Rated 5 Stars & Gold Award by the etc. You won't find a nicer place to relax and unwind in Dovedale! Our warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere complimented with outstanding hospitality makes us the perfect choice for a quiet break in the English Countryside.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
East Midlands Airport38 km
Manchester Intl Airport48 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
48
10
4
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
48
10
4
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast is served other guests peak district within easy reach couldn't fault breakfast was excellent stay there again homemade bread tea and coffee mike chatsworth cottage furnishings pub
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Blatant disregard of dairy allergy despite being informed prior to and upon arrival. Was served scrambled eggs made with butter and when the owner was questioned about it he made no effort to replace the breakfast or clarify if anything else was made with butter,...More

Thank lukerI2361GD
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Oh you have been a busy little bee haven't you..........placing reviews where ever you could to try to ruin someone's reputation. As stated previously on one of your other reviews which you've copied and pasted here, a complaint is one thing, being vindictive is another....More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights whilst exploring the southern Peak District. Prior to arriving Mike had contacted us with information about our stay and checking for dietary requirements. He also provides us with details of good restaurants/pubs in the area which was really useful....More

Thank AndSand580
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 17 September 2018

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the rules, of no food or alchol, they're pretty much industry standard, and glad you appreciated them, unfortunately the minority spoil things for the majority, but it is what it is. Only having space for...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018

My wife and I were gifted a nights stay in this wonderful guest house in the beautiful village of Thorpe. We were greeted professionally but friendly and shown to our room which was very nicely appointed, Breakfast was taken with all the other guests which...More

1  Thank andrewblaxhall
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 10 August 2018

So pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay with us, thank you so much. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 9 July 2018

This is a nice clean guest house, with comfortable beds. Facilities for tea and coffee were provided, with biscuits and fresh milk. But the twin room is a bit poky, and lit only by Velux windows. It needed the supplied electric fan to keep it...More

Thank RonFinlay
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 10 July 2018

We received on two seperate occassions e-mails from you asking to check in at noon, it clearly states we do not check guests in before 4pm, the Pixies or Fairies do not come along and wave a magic wand and hey presto the cleaning, washing,...More

Reviewed 21 May 2018

We stayed at Thorpe Cottage this last weekend. Our Room was extremely well appointed and comfortable. However if you book The Chatsworth Room be warned you will be woken early as the soil pipe from the other rooms runs behind the wall and you hear...More

Thank SusieHungerford
Response from Heather K, Owner at Thorpe Cottage Country Guest HouseResponded 22 May 2018

Well unfortunately, we do not have 8mb of broadband, which does drops in and out continuously. We do state quite clearly that we don't have WIFI, as I've stated before we've had BT out 3x to no avail, it is not a matter of simply...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Thorpe Cottage Country Guest House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Luxury suite - i had it"
petersI2736CR
27 Oct 2016
Read review
"Just speak to Mike who will sort you out!!!"
265jeanineh
4 Sep 2016
Read review
"ask for one not facing the road if traffic annoys you. Some rooms have a bath"
N6288QWmikeg
16 Aug 2016
Read review
"Haddon room - great for views and privacy but as it's at the top of the house there are stairs."
Caribou_Lady
18 Jul 2016
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandAshbourneThorpe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing