We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mapleton Road, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA England
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$224
Hotels.comUS$225
TravelocityUS$225
PricelineUS$224
Orbitz.comUS$225
Agoda.comUS$228
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Wildhive Callow Hall has undergone an exciting and extensive refurbishment and renovation of all public areas, the 15 individually styled rooms, and the beautiful 11 Hives and 2 Treehouses which are built in our woodland. Our Garden Room restaurant and bar is somewhere to relax and savour every bite. Whether you're staying the night or just popping in, take a seat and enjoy seasonal dishes made from the freshest local produce, or indulge in a tipple or two from our carefully curated bar. And if you're curious about how our team craft your favourite cocktails, just ask.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
93Reviews2Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 6
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John T wrote a review Today
1 contribution
Our Daughter’s Wedding this weekend, 1st October was like a Fairytale, from the moment we arrived till the time we left it was like a family home, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, all very efficient and polite, anything you needed appeared with out a question and within moments. The setting is just so beautiful, lots of our guest made use of the bikes, a few had massages, the treehouses are just magical and the Golf buggy drivers are very skilful through the woods. Food was fantastic, the house rooms really comfortable with everything you needed. Our 13 Belgian relatives were very impressed with the whole weekend and really want to visit again. A special thank you to Abigail, Jeremy, Robert, Izzy(blonde with ponytail ?) the other South African buggy driver, all the bar and waiting staff, what a marvellous team, can’t wait to return for just a meal on our own soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jbarks wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I knew very little about Callow Hall (or the history of it) before we booked a couple of nights here for our wedding anniversary. Right from when we arrived, we were struck by the beauty of the place - the building, the gardens and beautiful surroundings. It was so nice walking across the country fields, amongst all the animals, to visit Ashbourne. Our room was just a delight. We were so pleased we went for the bigger room than a cosy room, as it was so spacious and light, with a beautiful shower room. You can really see how an interior designer has kitted out the hotel, it's so beautifully done throughout. We loved the relaxing lounges and think the new breakfast/dinner room works so well. The dinner we had was delicious (I had a perfectly cooked Venison dish and my wife had an amazing piece of Halibut). The hotel has quality hire bikes on offer for free, so we went on an amazing traffic free bike ride on one of the days. The country views are magnificent and there are lots of delightful country pubs to visit en route. We absolutely loved our stay and think the new owners have done a wonderful job with Callow Hall! The only two things I would suggest would make it 5 stars out of 5 would be if the hotel offered an assortment of breakfast things as standard (with certain additional dishes available to order) rather than it all being a la carte. It would also be amazing if the staff come into the lounges a little more to ask if you want an evening drink, as we sometimes had to walk to find someone or go down to ask at the bar. These are such minor points though (and not even a criticism). The staff are wonderfully friendly and we loved the relaxed atmosphere. It truly is a wonderful hotel and no doubt it will continue to go from strength to strength. We can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CHRIS P wrote a review Sep 2022
Essex, United Kingdom88 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Excellent hotel near Ashbourne Derbyshire. Only opened last year and was voted Times newspaper hotel of the year 2021 which I think is over egging it ! - perhaps a marketing play as stayed at others of 4/5 star quality that are as good or better. But nevertheless a hotel I would strongly recommend. Three night stay with large family and friend group for a family wedding which was held at another location. Stunning rooms and very good and friendly service by all the team. When we arrived my partner and I had booked a de-stress massage in the Spa - it was excellent - we both thoroughly enjoyed it - top quality. The Spa is a couple of minutes walk down the drive and has only recent;y been up n running. Only comment I would make is that post massage there is really no where in the SpA ( or at least we weren’t shown) to ‘sit and chill/relax’ which you would expect. That all said the two masseurs were lovely and excellent masseurs. On our first night before the wedding we had a wedding party meal for about 22 peeps - we individually pre ordered our food from a set menu before arriving. Food was excellent. I chose spicy butternut squash and sirloin steak. Both were lovely - steak was massive and beautifully cooked. Great service and very accommodating to the wedding party. The day after the wedding the hotel put on a BBQ lunch for the wedding party held up in the woods. Again a great setting and food. Staff were very good supplying blankets and cushions for those who needed them. I had a burger and chicken plus veggie kebab - great food a;though some felt the burgers were under cooked. I liked mine. Views over the stunning country side are great as is sitting outside the restaurant overlooking the hills in the sun for a coffee or glass of wine. Only downside of what they provide for breakfast. In my opinion a hotel of this size should either quote with breakfast price or without. Here you pay room without and then pay for what you order. For me I like to ‘graze’ at breakfast when in a decent hotel - perhaps juice, a little cereal with some fruit and yoghurt then an element of cooked and then a croissant and jam. That would have cost me at least £35 !! See menu attached. So settled for cooked ‘Derbyshire breaky’ which was ok but really would have preferred what most 4/5 star hotels offer of a buffet plus cook to order hot food for a differential of £15/18 to room rate. I know that a lot of our group didn’t have breakfast each day because of that. Note M&S food 3 miles away provide decent croissants if you can be bothered!! Excellent hotel all in all but would be outstanding if breakfast offering sorted.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Good parking at bottom of drive. Had room 7 ‘lovely’ room spacious- good view down drive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gary C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
What a perfect place to spend a late summer weekend in a tree house with great friends. The staff were so helpful, the food amazing but, oh my god, the laundry was divine. We could have spent all day in bed!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nick B wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
We had two nights in the main house, with dinner on the second night. I really cannot fault anything about our stay - the hotel is beautiful in a glorious setting. The food was great (the Dovedale Blue starter was a thing of beauty!) and the service was impeccable. We felt well and truly pampered (even though we didn't use the spa!)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah wrote a review Aug 2022
East Sussex, United Kingdom1 contribution
It's not that I wasn't expecting much, it's just that good-looking hotels advertised online can often disappoint. Well, Callow Hall Hotel did not disappoint, and in fact excelled in literally every area. For a start we had our Labrador with us. Not always an easy option to take the dog as options are frequently limited. However our Burt was given an especially HUGE welcome, and we were shown to a large, very grand ground floor en suite room with easy access to the outside, bearing him in mind. Visiting dog guests are given their own bed, bowls, ribbon tied bags of treats, blankets, towels - you name it! I was half expecting a doggie choc-drop to be left on his pillow. Dogs aside, this really is a gem of a hotel. The welcome is warm, enthusiastic and genuine. No request is too much trouble, and is also actioned pretty much instantaneously. The food is absolutely top notch - and we expect a lot when we dine out. Not easily impressed - we've eaten in some accomplished restaurants - the head chef at Callow Hall really knows what he's doing and the menu reads very well, with in-season and locally produced ingredients. In addition, the restaurant manager and in fact all the staff deserve a special mention. They had the right balance between relaxed, friendly informality and spot-on, tight run efficiency - it made for a really sublime dinner and evening there. Surroundings? - stunning Derbyshire countryside, gorgeous views, woodland walks. I need say no more. Regrets? - that we couldn't stay longer. Amazing job Callow Hall, we'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room 16 if you have a dog
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JoN wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
We visited Callow Hall yesterday for afternoon tea after looking for somewhere special to bring my sister in laws mum and my own mum for big banner birthday celebrations. The venue is absolutely stunning, the aesthetics of the garden room were perfect with gorgeous views. We opted for the afternoon tea. The sandwiches were tasty, and selection of cakes were lovely. Unfortunately the service let the place down. No one came to ask if everything was ok with food or drinks at any point during our visit. There were 4/5 tables in use within the garden room, and what appeared to be a small party in a private room. I counted around 8-9 members of staff within the room at various points milling around the bar area. We waited and waited trying to catch eye contact for someone to come clear our plates and pay. Eventually we went up to the bar to pay and ask for some boxes to take the very tasty leftovers home. I wonder whether it would be appropriate to allocate a particular staff member per area so staff know who they are serving? That being said there was one member of staff- a young man in glasses that was very helpful but I think his shift ended as we didn’t see him after the sandwiches. We were charged for tap water. Overall paying premium prices for sub standard service. We live very locally and hoped this would be a real treat that we would use regularly but unfortunately I would be reluctant to visit again. As a venue it is incredible just needs to match the aesthetics to the service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Pathfinder690194 Thank you for your recent review of your Afternoon Tea at Callow Hall. At the hotel, we strive for perfection but on this occasion, we have fallen short. We never want our guests to have a bad experience and I apologise for the service that you were given during your stay. I would ask that you contact me personally at jeremy.whitworth@wildhive.uk so I can understand more about your experience. Kind Regards Jeremy Whitworth General Manager Callow Hall Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We have visited Callow Hall a number of times over the years but were astounded at its recent transformation. We booked for lunch, with friends, and after some discussion with Debs, our waitress, opted for the sharing platter of locally sourced produce which proved delicious. Debs looked after us, was very attentive and gave us background on both the food and the hall. She also offered a buggy ride to view the grounds and the tree house which will will take up next visit. Altogether a lovely experience which we will certainly repeat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear L8351MPjohnw Thank you for choosing Callow Hall as the place to come for lunch with your friends. I am so pleased to read your review and will be passing your kind words on to Deborah. She is an asset to the hotel and always is willing to go over and beyond for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Jeremy Whitworth General Manager Callow Hall Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Likesholidays11 wrote a review Aug 2022
77 contributions88 helpful votes
This was our second stay in the hives at Callow Hall - the first was during Storm Eunice in February and this time during very hot weather in August. The fact the hive was perfect in both examples of extreme weather is testament to just how good they are. Once again we had a fantastic and completely faultless stay. This time we managed to get booked into the restaurant too for dinner - which was superb - I can’t fault any aspect of the food or service. This is such a fantastic place to go for a few relaxing nights away. Couldn’t recommend it more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear Likesholidays11 Thank you for choosing Callow Hall as the place for you to stay again. We are so pleased that you came to the hotel again and had a fantastic stay. For you to mention that your stay was 'completely faultless' is just want we want to hear. We always strive to go over and beyond for our guests and make sure they have an incredible stay. Your review is a delight to read and will be passing all your comments on to the team. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards Jeremy Whitworth General Manager Callow Hall Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We had the most amazing day getting married at Callow Hall. Abigail, our wedding organiser and all the staff were excellent and could not do enough for us and our guests, they all helped to make the day even more special. We will definitely be going back to stay again and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend time in a wonderful hotel in an amazing setting. John & Hazel Manchester
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The Splendid rooms are amazing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear Mr & Mrs. Manchester It is a delight to read that your wedding day was really special. I am so pleased that all my team especially Abigail looked after you on the day and you all had a fantastic day! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the future. Please spread the word as it is so important for us and only helps us out as a hotel. Kind Regards Jeremy Whitworth General Manager Callow Hall Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$216 - US$300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Callow Hall Hotel (The Hive 2019)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireAshbourneMappleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wildhive Callow Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Wildhive Callow Hall?
Nearby attractions include St Oswald's Church (0.9 km), Ashbourne Tunnel (1.1 km), and Equatorial (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wildhive Callow Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Wildhive Callow Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Wildhive Callow Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wildhive Callow Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bowling Green Inn, Café Impromptu, and Lamplight Restaurant.
Is Wildhive Callow Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Mappleton.
Are pets allowed at Wildhive Callow Hall?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Wildhive Callow Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tissington Hall (5.3 km) and The Old Manor (6.4 km).