We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moon Water Lodge

TripAdvisorUS$209*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$209*
US$209*
US$209*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Moon Water Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Moon Water Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay there it was one of the most Beautiful places we've ever stayed we have been back 10 times since unbelievable views and the staff there is one of the best we've every experienced while your there You have to eat at the malahat resturant id give it 10 stars 💝😍💝

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skyzlim
Twin Cities Metro
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The Best view of any room I've stayed anywhere. The family-run hotel and restaurant sits high above the forested inlet providing a beautiful morning wakeup. We were welcomed and made to feel at home in a very quiet, peaceful setting. Food and view were also excellent in the adjacent restaurant, with the family making that part of our stay great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike B
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

Honestly, this has made me shed a tear! Thank you so much for your very kind words. See you, again!

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Malahat Lodge, the wonderful owners/staff makes the experience feel like you're coming home it's so welcoming.......except home never had a view like this!! Every room is water/mountain view! Huge rooms with a balcony and a romantic view from the jacuzzi tub. Morning coffee on the balcony with the stellar sights, it's all we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livethedash72
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This place is magical. The view is stunning and the rooms are so private. It's a very romantic place to take someone special. The restaurant next door offered great meals and had great staff. I would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheilaw4246
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us!

Cairns
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Although the view is spectacular, the noise of the highway right next to the room is overbearing..even with all the windows closed. As another review says, you can see the view from the restaurant or even the car park.By far the worst but most expensive place we have stayed whilst on the island. I would not recommend staying here...find somewhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avrilla
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

I am so sorry the noise from the highway kept you awake. There are definitely rooms that are quieter than others, in particular, the lower level rooms as they are guarded from the road noise. We do our best to offer a suggestion of suitable rooms when we chat with our booking guests. Again, I am sorry your stay was...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 May 2016

The view from the room WAS spectacular. Yet that is where the satisfaction finished. Filthy carpets andnot well equipt. We tried to change rooms to another room with clean carpets yet alternate room was also dirty. There was a coffee machine yet not coffee, There were teabags yet no kettle, there was a TV yet only one comfey chair to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony T
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

As always, we appreciate all reviews. We did our best to explain the carpets were being replaced...they were recently steam cleaned and the room was indeed clean. Very sorry that we missed filling the coffee supplies with coffee; I trust the fresh cream in the fridge and the sugar choices and tea selections were acceptable. We did our best to...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. This lodge is what I would classify as a Boutique hotel. There are currently 11 rooms available that range from 400 sf rooms with queen or king beds to loft style suites. All of the rooms face east and overlook Finlayson Arm. The lodge is 5 or 600 feet above sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HXL
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

What an amazing review; thank you so much for taking the time to write it!

canada
Reviewed 1 April 2016

My husband and I have stayed at the Moon Water Lodge twice now. It is such a beautiful location. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. Beds are extremely comfie and the view from the private balcony is breakthtaking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mxmum117
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

I am so happy you had a great experience. Thanks for taking the time to write this great review.

Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a spontaneous trip It was a great stay. Beautiful view, amazing layout, great efficient owners! The soaker tub was also amazing and very relaxing Loved my stay we will definitely be back! Hopefully soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberli M
Lori S, Owner at Moon Water Lodge, responded to this review

Spontaneous trips are so fun! Thanks for including us in your get away and for taking the time to write this review.

Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed 6 March 2016

My father passed away in January and I flew back to P.E.I. for the funeral. My husband decided to book us a room at the Moon Water Lodge so that I would not have the added extra travel back to Nanaimo after such a long flight and emotional journey. He had already checked in and had sushi and a bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahat
7.8 km away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
24.0 km away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,150 reviews
23.2 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway
19.6 km away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
1,393 reviews
3.0 km away
Villa Eyrie Resort
Villa Eyrie Resort
#1 of 2 in Malahat
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEW OWNERS APRIL 2014! We are a west-coast style, boutique hotel, located near the top of the historic, Malahat Drive on Vancouver Island. Overlooking the Saanich Inlet, you will be taken a world away from the routine of day to day life. Beautiful British Columbia encapsulated; mountains, ocean, birds, orcas, trees, all right outside your window. Drink in the sunrise along with your morning coffee; then settle in for the evening and watch, as the moon rises in the night sky and its reflection is mirrored by the calm waters below. Each room boasts a large, two person soaker tub, with nothing between you and the great outdoors except a large, picture window! Turn on the gas fireplace, pour yourself a drink and take some time to relax, rejuvenate and restore! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moon Water Lodge

Address: 265 Trans-Canada Highway, Malahat, British Columbia V0R 2L0, Canada (Formerly Malahat Mountain Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Malahat
Price Range: €171 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moon Water Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahat Mountain Hotel Malahat
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moon Water Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Berwick, Nova Scotia, Canada
Vancouver Island, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moon Water Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit in the colder months, zero highway noise if the patio door was closed. Though Im sure there is AC for the warmer months.”
melissamI1218QF, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 is noisy. Could here the people above walking around and filling the bath tub. I think a top room would be quiet.”
sydney081, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 10. If it was not for the fan on the portable air conditioner we would have heard traffic noise . The view was awesome!”
debra54, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms by the highway so in terms of noise nothing good.”
Avrilla, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“The top floor are loft suites. The south corner rooms look like they can get hot in the summer. The middle rooms are best for me.”
HXL, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$209* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$209
PricelineUS$209
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates