We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

There had been a bad storm a few days before, so all the hotel's were full. We got the last room at Howard Johnson's. The room was a throw back to the 70's, but was clean. The AC had no working control and was on high cool which was fine with me. The room overlooked an old, but working indoor... More 

Thank Hughdaddy66
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting such a positive feedback regarding the customer service you received during your stay at our location. During the hot summer months we leave the AC on in mostly all room and the control are located right on the units. When in doubt our front desk remains open 24hours and I am sure our front desk attendant... More 

Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
244 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed twice. OK for a travelers night sleep. Clean and fairly quiet. Continental breakfast. Some nice restaurants nearby. Pleasant manager. A bit of a time machine to be in a Howard Johnson's. Would stay a third time. Pleasant view of the River valley and hills.

Thank OldOldBob
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

In the way that our property is laid out, where your room is located would make a difference in the level of the noise you would hear from the highway. Upgrade Renovations are continually being completed as we are an older site. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

With other hotel chains raising prices by as much as 25% versus last year, this one was exactly what we needed: clean room, large indoor pool, decent continental breakfast, and a very nice staff. Yes, the rooms are a little worn out, there's fake grass carpetting around the pool, the hallways are not the claustrophobic, and the breakfast is located... More 

1 Thank Dan E
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

We were glad to hear that your stay met your expectations and that you were able to use the pool as well as the Continental Breakfast. Yes our pool is surrounded by the indoor/outdoor carpet.. At times the water does get splashed up and around the outside of the pool which would make any other surface very slippery. This green... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We weren't sure when we drove up, old style hotel so we asked to check the room before committing. No questions asked, they gave us a key to check it out. The room (we were to the left of the office when looking at the hotel) was clean, beds were comfy, washroom was very white/bright. Had a slight musty smell.... More 

Thank TravellingAgain1
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

Our location is an older property however maintenance and renovations are constantly being completed. At this time CAA members do receive a 10% discount off the price of their rooms. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We also would like to offer our apologies regarding the impression that you were left... More 

Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The advertised so called attached restaurant has been close for some time. The bed was not very new and on the verge of extreme lumpiness. It has had a few upgrades inside but the dust bunnies in most of the corners up high were not impressive. And don't stay here if you can't do broken concrete stairs up to your... More 

Thank Grant K
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. After checking into your room and finding it not appropriate our front desk could have given you a different room, or a full refund and helped assist you in finding a room at another location. We do take cleanliness of all our rooms very seriously. Yes our... More 

Travellers are raving about these Woodstock hotels

Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Upon arrival there was no one to great us and we waited some 20 minutes before someone showed up. The room is very old and musty smelling. The bed felt like it was going to collapse at any moment and the mattress and pillow smelt of chlorine. Rooms are very small and the walkway to the rooms are tilted and... More 

1 Thank James L
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

We regret that you were completely dissatisfied with your stay. After checking in to your room and finding it not to your liking you could have spoken to our front desk. We could have offered you a different room or had given you a complete refund and helped you find another room in the area Our outside steps and walk... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was surprised when i pulled up i wanted to keep driving but the motel is what i would call it was quite nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and large enough for my son to play trains in. He loved the open door outside concept for fresh air. Nice grounds beautiful view. Right... More 

Thank Cynthia D
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear not only that your were happy with your stay but as well that our site had surprised you. Unfortunately some of our rooms are closer to the highway than others so the noise would vary from room to room, however the positive side of that is that we are easily accessed for travellers. Hopefully... More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was the sketchiest hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms were tiny and dark. The pool had AstroTurf around the breakfast room was down the hall from the bathrooms and pool change rooms in the basement. Worst of all was that our room had no windows to the outside and the AC was broken - it was a sauna... More 

Thank Shields18
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience as a guest of our hotel. We have 53 units of which 41 are ground floor units with windows that open to the outside. At the time of your check-in at 6:30pm, if we had been notified about your concerns we would have gladly switched you to an exterior room. If... More 

West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I stay here every time we are driving through. It's the perfect halfway spot between Boston and our Canadian destinations (PEI and Nova Scotia). The manager is extremely friendly and accommodating and you can't beat the price. Breakfast is quick and free and my daughter loves the pool. There are plenty of channels to watch on TV... More 

Thank Profitreap
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again in the months ahead. More 

Woodstock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed several weeks, and never received service that wasn't efficient and professional. Manager and staff always greeted me with smiles and would go the extra mile to make my stay so completely satisfying. The pool was the perfect temperature. This hotel shines because of the staff!!!! Fantastic job!!! Highly referring all my contacts to stay here.

Thank nancy p
Andy K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB, responded to this review

Thank you Nancy for such a glowing review. It was our pleasure to have you here with us at Howard Johnson. More 

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (3)
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
4.7 km away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
18.5 km away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Houlton
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
65 reviews
4.1 km away
Stiles Motel
Stiles Motel
#4 of 4 in Woodstock
42 reviews
18.5 km away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Howard Johnson, a Woodstock hotel on Trans-Canada Highway.Located in the heart of the St. John River Valley at the intersection of the Trans-Canada Highway and Interstate 95, the Howard Johnson Woodstock Inn is minutes from the downtown area. This Woodstock hotel is also close to the Carleton Civic Center, New Brunswick Community College, Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club and Hartland Covered Bridge, the longest covered bridge in the world. Howard Johnson Woodstock is a pet friendly place. Since the Hotel only offers a limited amount of guest rooms that are designated for pets, you must notify the hotel at time of booking to ensure availability and also upon check-in with the Front Desk Staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB

Address: 159 Route 555 | Exit 188 of Trans Canada High Way 2, Woodstock, New Brunswick E7M 6B5, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Woodstock
Price Range: €63 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Howard Johnson Woodstock
Woodstock Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to make it to the breakfast if you need coffee. It might just be my room that had a bad coffee maker, but the coffee they serve for breakfast is better anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles RoseLaflesh, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be advised you have to walk outside to pool & dining room in main building.”
 of 5 bubbles waytogoMoncton_N_B_, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the rooms with a King Size bed. Worth the extra ten bucks.”
 of 5 bubbles 224WayneW224, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Older style drive up hotel - free breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles chester4091, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for non pet friendly if you want a clean room.”
 of 5 bubbles canucksbelleville, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay