We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Wilderness Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Wilderness Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Wilderness Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Moraga, California
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My son and I travelled here in late July and stayed for two nights. Our first floor room had a view of the ocean. The beds (twins) were comfortable and the room was nicely done. Everything was clean, and the breakfasts were excellent. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly. The location, with a path down to the beach, was wonderful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of your review. It is very satisfying to hear that you enjoyed your room, the beach and breakfasts. Our location on the main road used to be a benefit for the previous innkeeper (in a pre-internet age). Fortunately, traffic usually quiets down nicely at night. We have been curious why the previous owner selected the...

port moody
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just spent 3 wonderful nights at this hideaway.At first I was taken back by my lack of cell phone service at the room but they had wifi so I wasn't completely out of touch After a walk down to the private beach and listening to silence I was thrilled I had no cell service When was the last time I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swimbeachlover
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. I am so pleased that you had a pleasant getaway. Also that you enjoyed your breakfasts. We are on the edge of the wilderness here. We have debated long and hard about whether to advise our guests in advance that they will likely not have cell coverage at the inn. We are...

Prince George, Canada
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here in early May. We booked the place based primarily on the opportunity to stay just one night. Given what we learned on our first trip, the next time we'll be staying longer! Suffice to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful location, great amenities (including a place where we were able to cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. I am so gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the inn, the beach and the Sooke area. Safe travels, Lori

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B in August. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and the trail to the beach was just beautiful. We really didn't expect the beach to open up and be as big as it was. We took a day trip to Botanical Beach and enjoyed the scenery immensely. The breakfast's were well thought out and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessjazz
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. Even though we have little to do with how wonderful the beach is, except for maintaining the trail on our property to get there, we love knowing that our guests enjoyed it. It may be one of the first wilderness beaches on the trip out from Victoria. We were very pleased to...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Nice place; bed and room and bath very nice. Loved the touch of high powered binoculars in the bedroom to be able to look out into the straits and shore of Washington. Breakfasts tasty and a bit offbeat. Nice hike down to the beach. Area is a bit remote, so come here for relaxing. A few nice restaurants in town;...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert N
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Bob, for the gift of this review. We love hearing that you had a 'peaceful and relaxing' stay: enjoyed the view of the strait; the trail to the shore; your breakfasts; found some nice restaurants (it does take a bit of looking); and good hikes. We continue to look for ways to convey to guests that we are...

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent a week at this wonderful Inn! The highlight was the delicious breakfasts each morning. I travelled with my mother law and her gluten free diet was accommodated with expertise and a major yum factor. Location was peaceful, and serene with great views. I loved the hot tubs with a view of both wilderness and ocean. Beds were made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurabanks1
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review and of knowing that you had 'delightful and delicious stay.' Over time our breakfasts have changed to meet guests diets and expectations. Having feedback is greatly appreciated. Safe travels, Lori

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have been back twice now, the second time as part of an impromptu family trip using 3 different rooms. We arrived early and were allowed to check in without any problems. The rooms were clean and bright, we were a bit "rowdy" at night (the family who laughs together ... ) but we were directed to a games room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LynPaus
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Lynn, for the gift of your review. I hope your "rowdy" family comes back to enjoy the area and our inn again. Thank you for sharing time with us and your experience with other guests. Safe travels, Lori & Andy

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I have returned to Ocean Wilderness Inn three or four times . We have always been made to feel welcome and special by the wonderful owner/ hosts. The fact that the rooms did not have phones or televisions, for us, was a wonderful benefit as it is for those of all ages that love natural surroundings and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick d
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review, for sharing time with us and your experience with other travelers. Safe travels, Lori & Andy

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I lived this hotel with my fiance in the winter. It is quite and has nice surroundings. There is a way easily accessing the sea shore. The only inconvenience is that the hotel is a bit far from the cities. The owner is a couple and they are very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yichuan D
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review Winter is a lovely time to visit. I am glad you enjoyed the surroundings and the shore. We are a bit out of town, as you say. We think that our location, about 14km beyond Sooke, may be part of the reason guests are able to unplug and relax. Just for perspective,...

calgary
Reviewed 11 July 2013

we were quite disappointed with our stay, but we could see how it might be suitable for a different type of traveler. (i.e. relaxed older crowd who go to sleep early!). i wouldn't recommend it to young travelers or young couples. i found the breakfast disappointing and the room bare bones. we felt it cost way too much for what...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mylovelytravels
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. I regret that you were disappointed with your stay. We agree that we are not for everyone. Our younger guests sometimes tell us “our parents would love this place”. However, and just as often, our older guests buy a gift certificate for their “kids” to come and stay with us. Regardless of...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
10.5 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW PREMIER Collection
11.0 km away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
34.4 km away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
44.8 km away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
86 reviews
1.5 km away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront B and B. Perched above the Salish Sea (Strait of Juan de Fuca) overlooking the Olympic Mountains, between Sooke and Jordan River, this serene, comfortable, seven suite ocean-front bed and breakfast retreat is perfect for your holiday get-away. Located about 60 minutes from Victoria on the Southern coast of Vancouver Island. All rooms have refrigerators, as well as coffee and tea. Our English cottage garden is surrounded by majestic old-growth forest and a lovely brook that runs along our beautiful trail to the beach. Book your room overlooking the ocean or the rain forest. Our Inn is within the Pacific Marine Circle Route next to Muir Creek beach. Lots of fun things to do here, geocaching, hiking, birding, fishing, biking, surfing, seaweed gathering, kayaking, paddle boarding, kite surfing, whale watching, beach combing. Looking for lower key? Then soak in the hot tub, read, gaze at the waves. Or for something completely different do nothing just sit and gaze at the spectacular views! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Wilderness Inn

Address: 9171 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Price Range: €74 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Wilderness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Wilderness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Wilderness Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Wilderness Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in the Sea Glass King Suite and it has the best view.”
EmDee2013, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view.”
M5846CZbrianf, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend staying in an upstairs room until sound proofing has been completed. ”
lesliepX141KD, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor double room with magnificent views over the Strait of Juan de Fuca.”
51brigitter, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2 queens with forestview”
markusg955, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5