We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Resort

317 reviews
Save
Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (354)
Pool & Beach (61)
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“all ages”(23 reviews)
“dog sledding”(20 reviews)
“mini golf”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (317)Write a Review
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
148
95
41
26
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
148
95
41
26
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall agesdog sleddingmini golfwhole familykids buffetmain innyear after yearcross country skiingnightly entertainmentthe cottageszip lineoutdoor activitiesping pongmarch breakeach mealgames roomfireside inn
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Fern Resort is a throwback to the days of Muskoka's opulent resorts. It is a little dated but there is lots to do and the food is great. It's not a far drive from the GTA, unless you drive up on a Friday evening...More

Thank Andy M
Response from FernResort, General Manager at Fern ResortResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us recently. I appreciate the reference to an earlier time when family-owned and -operated resorts dotted the waterfronts of Muskoka and the cottage country to the north. It was tradition for families to vacation...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I booked a three night mid-week (Jan 29 to Feb 2, 2018) vacation at the Fern resort and left after 2 nights due to our totally unacceptable experience. We stayed there last year at around the same time and the service was...More

Thank Amar G
Response from FernResort, General Manager at Fern ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I apologize that your stay was an unacceptable experience this year, unlike your previous stay only one year ago. Fern Resort has 105 rooms and cottages that make up our total accommodations. Most units have been renovated in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I booked the Fern Resort for our first anniversary the last weekend of September. When booking, we were told there were no rooms with a jacuzzi but upon our arrival we were told they did have a jacuzzi room available. We opted...More

Thank CAThorne
Response from FernResort, General Manager at Fern ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

A belated “Happy Anniversary” to you and your wife and thank you for choosing to spend your 1st anniversary with us here at Fern Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the beautiful view from the Fernwood Inn Jacuzzi room. These rooms are situated along the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Desperately in need of a some R&R, we booked a mini-vacation from Sunday-Wednesday in the latter half of January 2018. Some of the recent reviews were quite negative so I was unsure how this vacation would turn out. We had a great time, enjoyed the...More

Thank Ray D
Response from FernResort, General Manager at Fern ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your extensive and gracious review. It sounds like you throughly enjoyed your stay. I appreciate all of your kind comments regarding the resort and the staff. Our staff truly have a desire to make a positive impression and impact on our guest's...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 4 days at Fern and were impressed with great staff, the excellent food and the comfy room with a fireplace. There are lots of Resort activities for the active folks or you could curl up by the fireplace with a good book and...More

Thank Myrna S
Response from FernResort, General Manager at Fern ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Myrna and thank you for staying with us this winter. I appreciate all your kind words regarding the great staff, excellent food and comfy rooms. I hope you had a chance to skate on our 1.5km skating trail during your...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345664
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$353 - US$795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$353 - US$795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (354)
Pool & Beach (61)
Dining (23)
Family and Play Areas (50)
Amenities (15)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
snipps
15 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from funskigirl | Reviewed this property |
3 meals/day, activities and evening entertainment is included. BYOB and snacks for in-between meals. It was a win for us, but find the prices steep and the rooms are run-down. Most staff at the resort are young and... More
1
Vote
wendyb0
21 December 2016|
Answer
Response from FernResort | Property representative |
Hi Wendyb0. We can reserve you a room with a tentative reservation over the phone. We do require a deposit that can be made by cheque after you make a tentative reservation. Once you arrive, you can simply pay the balance... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234
Room Tips
"Many stairs in some areas"
Read review
"Don't accept a pull out couch to sleep on."
Read review
"Not sure if there's an elevator, had to schlep luggage up stairs."
Read review
"Waterfront cottages were beautiful."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing