We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

SunSquare Montecasino

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
SunSquare Montecasino
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SunSquare Montecasino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 664: English reviews
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I was superbly hosted recently by Tsogo Sun at their fabulous Sun Square. After the slickly run function the hotel easily met all expectations with style and aplomb. Great place to stay, whether you're there for Montecasino or not.

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Kaliq E, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next stay in the not too distant future. Regards Kaliq and the Sunsquare Team More 

Heidelberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016

All my expectations was met and exceeded, all the personnel were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast served was of a huge variety and very tasty and with excellent service.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 455charlesk
Traci v, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It is important for us to make each and every Guest happy; we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to SunSquare Montecasino. Kind Regards Traci and the SunSquare Team More 

Sarah Raphael Midrand
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Soiled toilet, raise concern to reception twice before attending my show as well as thereafter, they just not bothered! Room 502 should also not be used for guest, entire evening ruined by some mechanical sound, worst stay!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank M368SYsarar
Traci v, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It is important for us to make each and every Guest happy; I am terribly sorry for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. I have sent you an email and I am looking forward to hearing from you. We look forward to... More 

Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Hotel was well positioned and the staff where lovely we did not have to drive from the hotel to the theatre and the breakfast was lovely. The hotel room was clean and well presented, although I am not keen on the toilet being within a glass cubicle within the room.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Traci v, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It is important for us to make each and every Guest happy; we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to SunSquare Montecasino. Kind Regards. Traci and the SunSquare Team More 

Port Louis, Mauritius
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Good experience overall besides the WiFi connectivity. Had to get in touch with the operator, a 3rd party to fix the issue and the other experienced same issue again. The hotel should have taken care of this themselves instead of the guest doing it.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Abadally
Traci v, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It is important for us to make each and every Guest happy; we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us however I am terribly sorry that you experienced problems with the WIFI. We look forward to welcoming you back to SunSquare Montecasino.... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This hotel has proved to be a very good choice in accommodation in the Johannesburg area. The rooms are tastefully decorated, modern and spacious. The breakfast is good but a wider selection of vegetarian options would be appreciated. The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable about ways to satisfy the guests. Safe and secure parking with security guards on duty... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amorie V
Traci v, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It is important for us to make each and every Guest happy; we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to SunSquare Montecasino. Kind Regards Traci and the SunSquare Team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I booked into Room 530 yesterday for one night. I was disappointed and frustrated, as I expected much more. Firstly the sink had a crack. I was prepared to ignore that, because I didn't consider it a big deal. Then, when I plugged my phone charger, I found the Plastic Plug Cover was broken. Again, I was prepared to ignore... More 

Helpful?
Thank Younus A
Traci v, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It is important for us to make each and every Guest happy; we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us however I am terribly sorry that you experienced problems with the telephone and the service you received, this is not our standard... More 

Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2016

It was a decent stay over all. The lack of parking at SunSquare was the only real downside, but Monte has the parkade underneath the other hotels where we were able to park. The room was very classy and I was so happy to have a decent smoking room, as opposed to it feeling like an after thought.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank anandiec
Traci v, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. It is important for us to make each and every Guest happy; we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to SunSquare Montecasino. Kind Regards Traci and the SunSquare Team More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We have had two recent stays at the hotel and have both positives and negatives to take from the experience. On the positive side checking in was very efficient and friendly, and the rooms spacious and comfortable. All staff encountered during our stays were friendly and efficient. Another plus is the proximity to Montecasino, which has fabulous entertainment and copious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roberto19590718
Kaliq E, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thjank you for posting your review and for the feedback. Your constructive comments have been noted and corrective action has taken place. look forward to your next visit. Regards Kaliq & the Sunsquare Team More 

Province of Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Nice location inside a Montecasino complex, nice and safe, good value quality for money, only problem room can be small for 2 people. Easy to reach. The pick up cost from O'tambo airport is little pricy

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 518sergion
Kaliq E, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and for the feedback. Comments are noted regarding the room and transport and we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Regards Kaliq & the Sunsquare Team More 

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.3 km away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
848 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
0.8 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
16.3 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
624 reviews
10.0 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Price Range: €165 - €225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Springfield, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 921patg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High Up Floors don't have food smells from restaurant and square facing has nice view of Montecasino Piazza”
 of 5 bubbles SinclairNVanessaL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“higher floor are nicer”
 of 5 bubbles Pieter62_15, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is situated at the end of the plaza, making it close to all the offerings of the casino, while not being noisy of too busy.”
 of 5 bubbles elismari_hamman, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good for a business trip stay!”
 of 5 bubbles Larry7591, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay