We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Vetta

Save
Share
Via Alpe Veglia, 28868 San Domenico Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (116)
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 29/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 29/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
4* Hotel La Vetta, situated in San Domenico di Varzo, in the Piedmont region, is the perfect retreat if you want to escape from the city: here, to regenerate, you only need to fill your eyes and your heart with nature, the mountains and pure air. The hotel will include 77 elegantly furnished rooms, a restaurant, a stube and a lounge bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Ski In / Ski Out
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Entertainment staff
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
83Reviews5Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 11
  • 6
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Neconoir wrote a review Feb 2020
Nomad82 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
Upon arriving, we had been hopefully about this hotel. It looks well designed, new, and location is just at the base of the ski lift. But the first two days we had a lot of issues crop up, and thinking back at what’s the core of the problem, I believe it’s a lack of communications amongst the staff and the other the guests. We spoke both Italian and English so language was not the issue in communicating. Hotel rooms are new (as is the whole hotel) and well sized. Bathrooms only have showers, but they are spacious enough and kept clean. There’s also a lot of shared space on the ground floor and amongst the room levels for sofas and groups to gather. Issue came the first night when we arrived at 7:20pm and entered the restaurant hoping to get some food after a long day’s travel with children. The first sentence spoken to us was: “We are not open. You need a reservation.” 😦 We were then told that we had to book tables from the reception and that they were fully booked tonight despite us mentioning that we were staying at the hotel. If you read the other “Average” or “Poor” reviews for this hotel, you’ll see there’s a pattern of a “tension” with the restaurant at the hotel. We can’t quite understand though why over and over we were asked to accommodate the staff’s challenges at the restaurant though we were the paying guests at the hotel! For example, we were told the second night since we hadn’t booked half-board, we would have to dine a-la-carte. Fine by us. When we arrived at 7:20pm and asked to be seated as there was already another family seated in the restaurant, we were told “restaurant is not open” and “the other family snuck in.” Really?? So we were not allowed to come into the restaurant and be seated until 8 mins later. Once we sat down, we realized that the staff was delaying in taking our order so they could serve the families who booked half-board dinner. Only they didn’t explain this up front. At what restaurant do they ask those who pay a-la-carte to wait to eat until after those who book a set menu have eaten? So we proceeded to wait. For 35 mins after they took our order, not a single waiter stopped at our table to ask if we would like more water, bread, or to update us on our order. For 45 mins we waited with our children while all around us other families were eating. Finally we walked out and told the maitre’d that this was unacceptable. He acted in a way to make us feel we were behaving unreasonably...as we were suppose to wait until an hour after the set menus had finished to eat. Had they just told us the situation (though bewildering) or offered us the option of paying for the set menu instead of a-la-Carte in advance, we would have happily done so. But to leave diners sitting for 45 mins without food...unacceptable at any restaurant. Much less a 4* hotel. Overall, the restaurant (at both dinner and breakfast) exhibited tension from the staff. Not sure why exactly but the guests can feel this. There were other problems, such as not being able to control the heating temperature in two of our rooms for 3 nights and being cold at 21C, despite the front reception staff assuring us they fixed the problem. Or letting reception know that one of the rooms’ door doesn’t lock, getting it locked manually, only to come back the next day and finding housekeeping had left the door unlocked. Calling reception at 2pm to ask for two extra duvets for the cold and waiting 3 hours before we called again and got them delivered. You can also see the dust under the chairs and beds in the room. Housekeeping also once came directly into the room without asking for permission and another time came to clean despite the do not disturb sign on the door. There is also a lot of hallway noise. These are overall small issues, IF the staff is on top of things to fix them and make the guests feel welcomed. But over and over again, I found the staff to be not proactive and laid-back about the issues we raised. We had to come up with solutions for them! That said, there are some lovely elements, like the kind Roberto at the bar, the room for the kids to draw and stocked with toys. Though there’s not much else to do for kids at night other than watching the large screen tv in the screening room. There’s also no outdoor area for children to play. The location is quiet overall and a windy 8km drive from the flat highway. The food is also generally high quality and presentation, particularly at breakfast. We only had one slightly off set meal of the 3 dinner we had at the hotel restaurant. The children’s set menu is the same, however, and did not change. So it was fried potatoes and meat for them without any option of leafy greens. So overall, be aware. If you come to ski and book half-board and can accommodate the needs of this hotel, you should be fine. Fingers crossed they improve on the staff and restaurant and this could be a true 4* destination ski hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing MIRA, Marketing at Hotel La Vetta
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, we can only to say sorry for your bad experience in our restaurant, that, as rightly pointed out by you, it was a problem of communication with the Guests. Sorry again. We will take all your criticisms to try to improve. Thank you to have appreciated the good spaces and the potential of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again and change your general opinion. Best wishes. Giuseppe Pantè MIRA Hotels Management
Read more
R N wrote a review Dec 2019
Tel Aviv, Israel3 contributions4 helpful votes
The venue is nice, new. Small details not attended like water faucet not well fixed to the base. Worst of all is that there is no hot water. Cannot take a shower!!!! Really upsetting. Staff try to help, they cannot look for another room where we can shower?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MHManagement, Direttore at Hotel La Vetta
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear Guests, thank you for choosing to stay in our 4 * hotel in San Domenico. We apologize for the inconvenience of cold water. We had a technical problem but we are solving it. We look forward to welcoming you for a ski holiday! Best wishes. Nicholas Ferrari MIRA Hotels Management
Read more
Aurora S wrote a review Oct 2019
Baku, Azerbaijan123 contributions102 helpful votes
Where to start here... We organised a week stay at Hotel La Vetta in July, to have a cooler retreat than having a Summer Holiday with the masses.. we were not disappointed.. From Check in all the way through. we had organised with the Hotel a Half Board stay... and if you do make sure you bring your appetite and love of Italian food.. it was pure gluttony but just when you say no more pasta the menu presents itself with yet another outstanding menu option... to the staff Massimilliano ( sorry if got wrong ) Laura and Reda. The hotel is in its first year and was beautiful. they are extended it to include spa facilities and we look forward to returning when done.. Great location to drive over to Switzerland for day trips along with down the hill to other regional areas.. Mas, provided great information for visiting the areas... Whats funny or not is when dealing with the central bookings I asked about the dinner deal and was told a no, along with what I call curt responses ( yes I know cultural!!) I nearly not booked but sooo glad we did and ALL the staff were fantastic and look forward to a return trip next year... Thank you all :-)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: rooms were nicely decorated and the shower was great :-) along with matress and pillows no...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MHManagement, Direttore at Hotel La Vetta
Responded 10 Oct 2019
Dear Guests, thank you for choosing to stay in our 4 * hotel in San Domenico. We are happy to read your comment about our location, the good culinary offer and our kindly staff. We look forward to welcoming you for a ski holiday! Best wishes. Nicholas Ferrari MIRA Hotels Management
Read more
Helen v wrote a review Mar 2019
Kent29 contributions40 helpful votes
My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights on a last minute ski trip last week. The hotel itself is coolness personified, lots of wood, ambient lighting and sophisticated touches. There are lots of cosy areas to snuggle down in after a day on the slopes and there always seemed to be a log fire lit to add to the atmosphere. Rooms were beautifully designed, beds comfortable, lovely shower area but for me lacking a bath (love to bath after a ski day.) Access to the slopes is a very short walk and we found the pistes quiet and beautifully groomed. All of the above is lovely but the best bit about this hotel is by far the staff. Each and every one of them went out of their way to accommodate us from the manager, Nickolas (thoroughly professional) to the fabulous front of house staff (Laura deserves a mention,) and our top man on the bar, Vincenzo. We were made to feel totally at home from the moment of arrival and after 4 nights left relaxed and ready to join the real world once again. The resort itself is quiet to the point of a ghost town but we were there during the last full week of the season so this might not be the case during high season. If you're looking for a party town this is not the place for you. Hope to return next year for some more skiing, pasta and maybe a bottle or two of Primativo!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: We were in the 'cheap seats' and our room was perfect.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MHManagement, Direttore at Hotel La Vetta
Responded 29 Mar 2019
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel La Vetta, the ideal place for spending unforgettable mountain holidays. Thank you for your words aboout MIRA Hotels people: all the staff work so hard to make our Guests feeling like home. Looking forward to welcoming you again, Best regards. Nicholas Ferrari MIRA Hotels Management.
Read more
Ruth O wrote a review Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
Great ski hotel! The staff were amazing, super helpful and friendly. Great quality food for all inclusive - really nice evening menu to choose from. Bar area well thought out and well stocked! Could do with a spa area - esp for those skiing in the winter. Housekeeping wasn't great either - the room was not cleaned well each day and something went missing from our room on the first night - which was all rectified after we brought it to front desk attention but this should be addressed as it would be a real shame if this let down the rest of the hotel - which was lovely!! Overall, we would stay again as the hotel is beautiful, v close to amazing skiing and some lovely staff. Just a few "new hotel niggles" to be ironed out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MHManagement, Direttore at Hotel La Vetta
Responded 26 Feb 2019
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your word about your experience at Hotel La Vetta, the ideal place for skiing, climbing, trekking, spending unforgettable mountain holidays. As you were told, from the next winner we will be able to also offer relaxing stays in a beautiful spa area with indoor pools. Regarding your words about cleaning, i feel deeply sorry: i've already shared your comment witl houskeeping staff, to be sure that some inconveniences may not be reapeted in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again, Best regards. Dieter Frickel MIRA Hotels Management.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$198 - US$1,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyPiedmontProvince of Verbano-Cusio-OssolaSan Domenico
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel La Vetta
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel La Vetta?
Nearby attractions include Wild Snowboard & Ski Academy (0.09 km), San Domenico Ski (0.2 km), and Museo della Resistenza (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel La Vetta?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel La Vetta?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel La Vetta?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel La Vetta?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel La Vetta?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trattoria Derna, Antica Osteria, and Il Negozio-ArcioliVini.
Does Hotel La Vetta have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel La Vetta offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel La Vetta located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of San Domenico.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel La Vetta?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel La Vetta?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Campanile di Montecrestese (14.0 km), Centrali idroelettriche Portaluppi di Verampio e di Crego (10.7 km), and I Nuclei di Castagnolo e Alcone (13.0 km).
Does Hotel La Vetta have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.