We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stumbled across this hotel and restaurant by chance when driving around the area. The view from the restaurant veranda is beautiful. We arrived just as lunch buffet was closing, but not only did they accommodate us, they also whipped up a vegan pizza for me. Desserts were also yummy. Not sure about the rooms, but this place is definitely worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazzyg
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Well set up for groups of all ages. Lots of hiking of various difficulty nearby. The Lodge is a good home base to hike to nearby trails in Strathcona Provincial Park. Although the paddling season was over, there are several kinds of canoes and kayaks to explore. The restaurant meals were superb! The food was fresh and either local or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marquise_LA
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The rooms are expensive and cold. The towels are small not big enough to be used for a bath towel. The meals are mediocre and hot food is cold. The worst though is the scam they have going. They don't ask for a damage deposit but after you have paid and gone they bill you for supposed damage. This can...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Marie H
acclarke, General Manager at Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre, responded to this review

Dear Marie H - Strathcona Park Lodge's damage deposit policy (copied below) is included with our reservation confirmations, and is consistent with industry standards. "Resort Policies: I agree that my ability for any charges incurred by me, including but not limited to charges for property loss or damage, and charges for cleaning over and above the norm is not waived...

Powell River, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2016

For those of you who have read my other reviews you will see that I rarely give 5 stars to any accommodation. The Strathcona Park lodge is an exception. Not only is it located just outside the stunning Strathcona Park which offers some of the best coastal BC hiking anywhere but it is run by a friendly, inclusive, and generally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Strathcona Park Lodge is a must stop for anyone traveling on Vancouver Island. The food served in the Whale Room (buffet style) is fresh, delicious and locally grown. There are many trails, rock climbing spots and lakes to explore. There are also many on location activities such as a zip-line, high ropes course, canoe and kayak rentals! This place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanie g
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I was excited for this getaway, and the property didn't fail my expectations. First, the property. This is an outdoor enthusiast playground. So many hiking trails, rock climbing, SUP/Kayak, and places to just chill. The views are impressive from any where on the property. After spending three days there, I still feel I didn't do enough. Second, the rooms. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrentP1
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cabins which was very private and with a fantastic view of the lake. We could have a campfire in front of our cabin which not all cottage resorts allow and we really appreciate this feature. So much to do here from hiking to swimming, paddleboarding, mountain biking, kayaking, climbing, ziplining and just relaxing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathyt20132013
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent place to stop and enjoy the lake. Rental was easy and straight forward. My girlfriend and I both enjoyed it. I've heard good things about their rooms. Though we didn't stay because we already had a place rented in Campbell River. We would go again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smokinbarrel420
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The views from our cabin were spectacular. The cabin was spartan but clean. 3 bedroom with a total of beds for 12 or 13 (2 doubles) but 1 bathroom - it would have been tight for more than 6 or 8. We did have a serviceable kitchen. WiFi is in the lounge and was pretty good. If you like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I took my sister and her family to do the High Ropes and Zip line. They have travelled extensively in North America and Europe and were very impressed with their experience. We had a Kiwi guide, Megan, who added fun and excitement to the adventure as well as being the safe, steady guide. My three long limbed teenage nieces whooped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelegenge

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
31.2 km away
Gold River Chalet
Gold River Chalet
#1 of 1 in Gold River
46 reviews
32.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
223 reviews
33.0 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 km away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
78 reviews
33.2 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
938 reviews
34.1 km away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Living on the edge since 1959, Strathcona Park Lodge pioneered self propelled and off the grid wilderness experiences on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. From the lake side cabins, chalets and rooms experience wilderness inspired summer holidays, guided trips and group gatherings. Home base for WYLD youth summer camps, the COLT leadership training program and outdoor education programming, SPL is a leader in experiential education and wilderness vacations. The setting The Boulding family chose well when they picked the site for Strathcona Park Lodge. From almost every room on the property you can get an amazing view of glacier carved valleys, big pristine lakes and rocky/snowcapped peaks. There are several hikes, viewpoints, protected bays and beaches, climbing bluffs, old growth trees, high ropes courses and zip lines -- and that's just on the property. Strathcona Provincial Park, B.C.'s oldest protected area, is just down the road. Within 30 minutes go whitewater paddling, mountain biking, more rock climbing, or lace up for interpretive walks, hikes and mountaineering routes. A little further is world class sea kayaking and whale watching on both sides of Vancouver Island. Summer vacations Perfectly poised between the mountains of Strathcona Provincial Park and a sprawling lake chain the Lodge is an ideal base for exploring the heart of Vancouver Island. Hike, paddle, climb or just sit back and relax on the beach. Stay in lake-side cabins, mountain view chalets or hotel style rooms overlooking it all. Refuel on delicious and healthy food. Disconnect from the wired world and return recharged. Group Gatherings The Lodge loves groups. Big or small, 200 to 10, we have the capacity, facilities and experience to make any gathering unforgettable. Every year we host multiple weddings, family reunions and other large groups on our picturesque and family friendly setting. With a dedicated staff we take care of every detail. Outdoor education/school programs In the spring and fall schools visit Strathcona to learn outside of the classroom. Removed from their everyday, challenged mentally and physically and exposed to new experiences, our specially trained leaders help students gain confidence, leadership, teamwork and camaraderie - skills that can't be learnt from a desk. These are experiences students remember forever. WYLD summer camps A summer camp like no other, Wilderness Youth Leadership Development (WYLD) Expeditions are 8 to 12 day expeditions for adventurous teens, 12 to 17 years old. Based out of the Lodge's lakeside location, the camps explore the hiking trails, lakes, inlets, beaches, islands and mountains of Vancouver Island by foot, sea kayak and canoe. COLT Leadership Semester We believe COLT is the best outdoor leadership program in Canada. Founded in 1977 by Canada's oldest outdoor education centre, COLT is a learn-by-doing program with the best job opportunities, instructors and learning environment. And for the price no other program comes close to offering as much. Participants graduate with hard skills, like sea kayaking, rock climbing, mountaineering, whitewater paddling, but even more soft skills, like leadership, group dynamics, teamwork, confidence and determination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre

Address: 41040 Gold River Highway | P.O. Box 2160, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 5C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Price Range: €56 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Strathcona Park Lodge And Outdoor Education Centre
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre Hotel Campbell River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The chalets are set on a slope facing the lake. The website describes the extent to which each room has a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles Marquise_LA, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 45 and 46 share a balcony between them and have great lake views. Cabins are further from the highway so less road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 353helenk, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My mom said her loke view room was awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles kgbaugh, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“there are no bad rooms that I am aware of”
 of 5 bubbles gibsri, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Wifi in reception area only”
 of 5 bubbles ThomasR585, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5