We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

758 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 754: English reviews
Start your review of Old House Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have always considered a hotel a place to sleep while exploring and visiting people and places. The Old House change things for me. I would come back just to relax in their hotel. I loved the room with fireplace, the saltwater pool and of course the cookies and coffee in the lobby. I felt like just spending the day...

Thank 584jacquelinem
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 584Jacquellnem Wow, thank-you so much for your great comments and 5 star rating! It is great to hear that our hotel changed your mind about spending time at a hotel while travelling! We do pride ourselves on the relaxing atmosphere here at the Old House Hotel & Spa! Definitely do try out the Ohspa during your next visit! You...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was spacious and warm with a lovely view over the pool and beyond. Loved the fireplace! The bed was super comfortable. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Thought the 4pm check in was a bit tough!

Thank Jane B
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jane B Thank you for your comments and rating! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room and our staff made it that much better! We do have a guaranteed check-in time of 4pm, this is to give our housekeeping staff ample time to ensure our suites are in top...

North Vancouver
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were upgraded to a Penthouse Suite which was a lovely surprise. Beautiful rooms, clean, with full kitchen, bar, dining room, fireplace and a loft bedroom. It would be perfect for entertaining. The lobby and reception area were charming and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

1Thank Shelley H
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shelley H I am so glad you enjoyed the Penthouse Suite! It certainly is one that can be used for entertaining and has a very welcoming atmosphere! I am delighted to hear that our staff welcomed you in their friendly manner and helped make your stay enjoyable! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards David

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom suite..it had a fully equipped kitchen, including table and chairs, a fireplace in the living room..along with a tv in the living room and in the bedroom and an awesome bathroom with a soaker tub and separate shower! Was very clean and tastefully decorated. Also had a large balcony...

1Thank tracy448
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tracy448 We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff are second to none and we are glad you experienced the same! Your description of our suites is fantastic! Thank-you! Please do come back and stay with us again soon! Kind regards David

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in a studio room for two nights on business. I thought the hotel was very nice overall - the kitchenette in the room was well-equipped, the bathroom was nicely appointed and the cookies and coffee in the lobby were a nice touch. My only (small) complaint is about the beds and pillows - they were incredibly fluffy and...

Thank JenCoutts
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JenCoutts Thank-you for your kind words! I am so glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us and our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards David

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

awesome hotel amazing price for theub suite we had....amenities great.....SpaDestination.....close to many restaurants and ferry....staff good and knowledgeable about the area....unfortunately this town shuts down at 9pm.....🤔

1Thank AJ S
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AJ S I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I have to agree with you, our spa and our staff are second to none! Courtenay does tend to shut down early during the winter months! You will have to visit us again in the summer! Kind regards David

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for 1 night and we were quite happy with the accommodations. Large open plan with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. Comfy beds. The only thing I didn't like was a hold put on my credit card for $200 for incidentals. Why, when we were staying one night and there were no food or services...

Thank Skye757
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic ski weekend staying at the Old House in Coutenay. Fabulous rooms and very friendly & excellent staff. Hotel has heated pool, hot tub, ski storage, gas fireplace, great beds & beautiful rooms. I'm going back again this month!!

Thank Margaret L
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Margaret L Skiing in the Valley is Fantastic and as you said even better when you are staying with us! Thank-you so much for your kind words and 5 out of 5 ranking, our staff is very happy! We look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards David

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2017

A really nice hotel with a comfortable bed, large, quiet room, heated bathroom floor, kitchenette and free wi-fi. We did a dinner event and the food was excellent and the staff unintrusive. I was not distracted as I was presenting which was great. I would stay and do an event here again.

Thank cfarq
Reviewed 23 January 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night, a quick night's rest before driving to Tofino the next day. We had stayed here almost 10 years ago and enjoyed the stay very much so it was a no-brainer to stay here again. If it weren't for 1 issue, I'd be able to give this an "excellent" review, because the...

3Thank CalgaryBoots

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (119)
Room/Suite (40)
Bathroom (4)
Hotel & Grounds (22)
View from Room (5)
Dining (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (25)
View from Room (4)
Bathroom (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (12)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,238 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,110 reviews
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Price Range: €90 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Old House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a suite in the new building, especially if staying for a few days.”
 of 5 bubbles WithFamilyWillTravel, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“see if you can get a room facing the river- a little quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Sylviannethesaint, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“facing the river was cool”
 of 5 bubbles shaneh612, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the canal”
 of 5 bubbles JackieChan044, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for end of the hall on an upper level - less foot traffic in the hallways.”
 of 5 bubbles M6522BDemmam, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5